Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Classic Macs and Mac OS > Can somebody give me a bit of advice?

Can somebody give me a bit of advice?
Turbocharger
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Apr 20, 2001, 12:56 PM

Hello Mac comrads, I just bought my first Mac, a PowerMac Performa 6320, so I'm very new to Macs (though I'm an expert in windows). My problem is that my CD-ROM drive quit working. I put a new CD-ROM drive in and it doesn't work either. I don't have an icon for the CD-ROM drive either. It does show up on the SCSI devices list. Is there supposed to be a control panel for it? Why doesn't it work? Am I missing a file? Thanks in advance.

Octo
Apr 20, 2001, 04:10 PM

This could be your problem.

With MacOS, you will not see an icon for the CDrom, until you have media inserted into it, this is unlike windows where you can see the cdrom in explorer as long as it is recogonized by the system.

Turbocharger  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Apr 20, 2001, 04:19 PM

Thanks Octo, but I've tried that. When I put a CD in the drive, it makes some (normal) noise but that's about it. I want to format the drive and start with a clean slate, but everything's on CD so I can't do that.

WillyB
Apr 21, 2001, 06:13 PM

What brand of CD Drive is it? You may need to use a 3rd party driver extension for it.

------------------
WillyB. -MacAddict Extraordinaire
-- "Does Microsoft mean 'small & limp?'

Turbocharger  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Apr 21, 2001, 06:50 PM

It's a Sony, WillyB. I'd appreciate if you could point me in the right direction to finding that extension. In fact I'd be Happy

Ben Boldt
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Apr 21, 2001, 10:50 PM