Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Alternative Operating Systems > windows 10 screen resolution issues

windows 10 screen resolution issues
Thread Tools
RobOnTheCape
Senior User
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Martha's Vineyard
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 3, 2016, 10:55 AM
 
I have a 64 bit Toshiba Satellite running Windows 10, and I stripped it down and did a clean install some time ago. However, last week my screen resolution went to 1024 x 768, and with this wide screen everything is stretched. The issue is that when I go to advanced display settings the only resolutions available are 1024 x 768 or 800 x 600. The weird thing is that there was an automatic update two days ago, and it was fixed, and many resolutions were available. However, I woke up today, started the laptop, and again the screen is stretched, and only the two resolutions available. This is a new issue, as I did the clean install perhaps 4 months ago. Thanks in advance.
     
Thorzdad
Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Nobletucky
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 3, 2016, 10:33 PM
 
Bad GPU?
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 3, 2016, 10:43 PM
 
Try an external monitor, to see if it's the GPU or the built-in screen going bad.

May sound silly, but have you tried rebooting? You can also try a Linux live CD, to see if it's a Windows issue.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 4, 2016, 07:52 AM
 
This sounds like a driver issue. You had one driver installed, Windows Update found a driver that it thought was better, and that messed things up. It happens.

Check what GPU you have (AMD, nVidia or Intel) and go to the manufacturer's website and download the appropriate driver directly from them. This usually fixes it. If it doesn't, try going to safe mode, uninstalling absolutely every display driver, rebooting to regular mode again and then installing the latest driver fresh.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 4, 2016, 08:40 PM
 
What P said sounds par for WIndows Update. Manually finding the "best" driver will probably also give you more control options. It may default to 1024x768 at first, but the most correct, most current driver for the actual GPU in your machine should also give you any resolution that your hardware supports.

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
kiana mckylie
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jan 2017
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 24, 2017, 12:03 PM
 
Originally Posted by ghporter View Post
What P said sounds par for WIndows Update. Manually finding the "best" driver will probably also give you more control options. It may default to 1024x768 at first, but the most correct, most current driver for the actual GPU in your machine should also give you any resolution that your hardware supports.
totally agree it should always give you the resolution that your hardware supports!!
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:46 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,