Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Applications > Windows Remote Access/Control

Windows Remote Access/Control
Thread Tools
KeilwerthSX90R
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Washington, D.C.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 5, 2005, 09:47 AM
 
I have a Windows machine at work running XP Pro and while the CPU itself isn't that bad the screen is aweful, plus it would be nice to have access to my own programs, etc. that are on my laptop. What would be required to connect a AlBook to the Work CPU on a network and have full functional use of the Work XP Pro CPU on my laptop scheme in the Mac OSX environment?
     
ManOfSteal
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Outfield - #24
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 5, 2005, 10:00 AM
 
Remote Desktop Connection v1.0.3

Free utility by Microsoft.
     
KeilwerthSX90R  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Washington, D.C.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 5, 2005, 11:12 AM
 
Thanks.

From there I just need to network the two computers? Do you think I will encounter problems trying to access the computer that is on a network?
     
Visnaut
Senior User
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 5, 2005, 11:27 AM
 
Originally posted by KeilwerthSX90R:
Do you think I will encounter problems trying to access the computer that is on a network?
Not really, no. As long as you know its IP address, you should be fine.
     
EmmEff
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 5, 2005, 04:58 PM
 
Originally posted by KeilwerthSX90R:
Do you think I will encounter problems trying to access the computer that is on a network?
I don't understand, it's made to work over a network. I've used it over a VPN connection, on a corporate LAN, and on my home network. From Windows to Windows or Mac to Windows without any issue.
     
KeilwerthSX90R  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Washington, D.C.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 5, 2005, 09:28 PM
 
Excellent, thanks everyone.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:48 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,