Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Gaming > Minecraft

Minecraft (Page 98)
Thread Tools
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 7, 2017, 04:54 PM
 
I will have to go check it out.
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 7, 2017, 11:50 PM
 
Server lagging like hell tonight. Getting timed out constantly.
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 8, 2017, 12:03 AM
 
I'm now getting booted in under 60 seconds every time i log on.
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 8, 2017, 10:40 AM
 
I checked it out yesterday. Didn't have any lag issues.
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 8, 2017, 11:08 AM
 
doing ok this am.
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 8, 2017, 11:26 AM
 
I'll reset my router when I get home.
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 8, 2017, 02:30 PM
 
Just tested, Theres allot of desync between the client and server. Watch the sun jump back and forth.
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 9, 2017, 01:19 AM
 
Originally Posted by The Final Dakar View Post
If anyone is curious, Phase 1 of my big project is complete. It's located east of spawn and the nearby town. It's impossible to miss.
So, the big giant thing in the sky? I will explore more laters.

My weekly achievement is putting off my super cool build to build a proper barn because I was sick of cows everywhere. Also, getting organized. Cave is looking less caveman and more lair-ish.
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 9, 2017, 12:42 PM
 
Cyclopse, if there is a backup from last night/this morning, I think I was the only one on and I think we need a rollback. I went to explore Dakar's new thing, and it disappeared. I don't mind losing my stuff.
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 9, 2017, 03:58 PM
 
It's not in the sky so I'm not sure what your referring to. A slime island?

I'm logging on to see either way.
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 9, 2017, 04:22 PM
 
My project is fine, however the server is laggy again.
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 9, 2017, 06:39 PM
 
There was a giant light blue/aqua clear circle in the sky, looked like a ring of clear blocks. Thought maybe you'd surrounded a slime island, then dug it up to leave a ring. I nerdpoled up to it, walked around. the blocks were RF placers? I accidentally placed a stone block and then whole thing disappeared and I fell down to earth.

Odd.

I'll go look for your real project then. Any pitfalls?
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 9, 2017, 07:12 PM
 
Originally Posted by andi*pandi View Post
There was a giant light blue/aqua clear circle in the sky, looked like a ring of clear blocks. Thought maybe you'd surrounded a slime island, then dug it up to leave a ring. I nerdpoled up to it, walked around. the blocks were RF placers? I accidentally placed a stone block and then whole thing disappeared and I fell down to earth.

Odd.

I'll go look for your real project then. Any pitfalls?
when we're on together you'll have to show me
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 10, 2017, 01:40 AM
 
Logged on tonight and got an hour of normal play before the lagging started again.
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 10, 2017, 03:18 PM
 
Oh, I SEE now. Yesterday that area was a blank void.

cage matches to ensue?
     
cycl0pse
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Status: Online
Reply With Quote
Dec 11, 2017, 04:06 PM
 
I was finally able to get on a bit this weekend. Been busy lately.

Couple things I'm noticing:
1- I've only encountered the describe "rubber banding" once. The server stats said everything was fine, if large memory usage is 'normal'. It felt like Disk IO lag, really, but that's just a guess on my part.
2- NICE STRUCTURE! I vote we all change our avatars to various super hero skins (Hulk, whatever) and go slug i out holding absurd world items (block of dirt, a minecart, etc) just for kicks!
3- This may be the most relevant: I've noticed my local client is eating more and more RAM as the world gets more and more populated with high tech toys. I'm starting to wonder if some of the mods in the pack are just laggy when enough are thrown together. I tend to lead a rather 'industrial revolution' lifestyle and I don't get a bunch of lag, but when I visit Blaze o Dakar it's like a different server. I'm not sure what can be doing it, but if anyone (Blaze to the courtesy phone please, Blaze, line one) wants to be given mod privileges to help troubleshoot I'm willing to pass them out...

Seriously, every time I'm playing the only lag I get is the H.S. rail lines, and that's normal for blasting through multiple chunks. Unless I go where higher tech stuff is running en-mass.

Oh, and we are definitely nearing our limit on server memory. Need to look into expanding that if it's not going to cost a fortune.

-cy
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 11, 2017, 09:09 PM
 
Originally Posted by cycl0pse View Post
2- NICE STRUCTURE! I vote we all change our avatars to various super hero skins (Hulk, whatever) and go slug i out holding absurd world items (block of dirt, a minecart, etc) just for kicks!
Now you understand why I freaked out when the first one got corrupted doing transport. I had to recreate something similar. and that was after a week or two of terraforming the land to fit it in.

Also:
Originally Posted by The Final Dakar View Post
Crazy idea I had. Create a colosseum to showcase gruesome mob deaths. It's not worth the effort thi
That's what the idea is. I'm installing a power center underneath the kill area to fuel various machines, like powered spawners and traps. I'm mildly considering making it a villager torture chamber.


Originally Posted by cycl0pse View Post
3- This may be the most relevant: I've noticed my local client is eating more and more RAM as the world gets more and more populated with high tech toys. I'm starting to wonder if some of the mods in the pack are just laggy when enough are thrown together. I tend to lead a rather 'industrial revolution' lifestyle and I don't get a bunch of lag, but when I visit Blaze o Dakar it's like a different server. I'm not sure what can be doing it, but if anyone (Blaze to the courtesy phone please, Blaze, line one) wants to be given mod privileges to help troubleshoot I'm willing to pass them out...
I did this and it improved things
https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=...1ujt73W3qDZ9dz

Seriously, every time I'm playing the only lag I get is the H.S. rail lines, and that's normal for blasting through multiple chunks. Unless I go where higher tech stuff is running en-mass.

Originally Posted by cycl0pse View Post
Oh, and we are definitely nearing our limit on server memory. Need to look into expanding that if it's not going to cost a fortune.
Since I'm still using the server I can certainly throw in on covering increased costs
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 12, 2017, 11:27 AM
 
I did run the tps command a few times and its spiking intermitently. I'm gonna try unchunkloading most of my stuff.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 12, 2017, 11:35 AM
 
Switch has sold 10 million units in 10.5 months. This is admittedly somewhat behind both PS4 and Wii, but the holiday quarter is far from over.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 12, 2017, 11:50 PM
 
Trying to design the textures for the outside of the colosseum is murder.

I'm also trickle charging a 1.x Billion RF draconic energy core in the basement to power future shenanigans.
     
cycl0pse
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Status: Online
Reply With Quote
Dec 13, 2017, 10:42 AM
 
trickle charging? want me to stop by and see if any oil is close by? If so I can do an underground generator setup with oil reserves that could get you a quick 3000-4000 rf/T when running. The generator setup I have over by my volcano isn't going to get used anytime soon, and it's not ideally setup now that I understand the limitations of the system.

-cy
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 13, 2017, 12:28 PM
 
Nah, it's already almost 20% and if I need to make a last push I'll activate my emergency reactor.

FYI my trickle charge is 2k rf/t
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 13, 2017, 10:01 PM
 
My new hotness is getting the bed glitch. Not sure what I'm doing that tempts to happen so often now.
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 14, 2017, 10:55 AM
 
It happened to me tuesday, first time in a long time.
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 14, 2017, 11:39 AM
 
I've been using the chisel a lot lately. That's the change I can point to
     
cycl0pse
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Status: Online
Reply With Quote
Today, 04:03 PM
 
so today I log on and the server is, well, misbehaving. so I check things out.

it's idling at 60-80% CPU. Idling.

We refer to this as "not good". Something is misbehaving. I'm restarting it and going to begin troubleshooting.

Update:
OK, learned a few things. First, we had a bit of a mob problem going on. Went around to everyone's bases and killed all the skeletons, blaze's, zombies, and spiders. I didn't touch any livestock mods or slimes. This had a big improvement.

Next, I went and reduced the chunk view from 9 to 7. Not idea, I know, but give it a couple days. THAT dropped the CPU idle down to zero when no one is online.

Finally, I hate to say this, but the server CPU is affected by world graphic effects of both Immersive Engineering and Mekanism. Meaning? If I look at the pretty windmill farm spin, the server CPU load goes up. Turn around so it's not visible, it goes down. I know, I know, makes NO sense, but it's happening.

See if it's running any better. I'll try to be on later today after the server has had some idle time to see how it goes.

-cy
( Last edited by cycl0pse; Today at 04:54 PM. )
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:22 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,