Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > imac refresh

imac refresh
Thread Tools
gangster
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: AR, US
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2011, 10:00 PM
 
when should we see an imac refresh do you think?

thanks in advance
     
shabbasuraj
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 18, 2011, 12:13 AM
 
within 4 weeks
blabba5555555555555555555555555555555555555
     
gangster  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: AR, US
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 18, 2011, 12:19 AM
 
thanks
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 18, 2011, 04:14 AM
 
Just after the MBP refresh, which I suspect happens in the span March-May.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
shabbasuraj
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 18, 2011, 06:27 AM
 
It will land on a Tuesday........................................... ................
blabba5555555555555555555555555555555555555
     
solofx7
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 2, 2011, 09:08 PM
 
any idea of what we are looking at update wise?
graphics, memory, proc, hdd?
I skipped the last updates as I have a core i7 2.8 8gb 1067 ram, 4850
i would like to see a super duper graphics card for possible high end gaming in boot camp...
thoughts?
thanks in advance...
iMac 27inch 3.4 i7 16gb ram, MacBook Air 11 inch i5 128gb, iMac 27inch 2.8 i7 8gb ram, MacBook Pro 17 inch 2.66 i7, 4gb ram 500gb HDD Seagate XT,
iPhone 4 - Time Capsule 2tb, Apple TV - iPad 2 64gb
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 3, 2011, 02:53 AM
 
High-end gaming card in an iMac?

Have you ever seen a Snow Leopard change its spots?
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 3, 2011, 04:40 AM
 
How high end do you want? Apple is limited to laptop GPUs because of the design of the system, and laptop GPUs aren't comparable to high-end desktop cards. The newest Radeon 6970M is comparable to an underclocked 6850. The 6950M is further underclocked, and the 68x0M series is the same card as is already in the top iMac. nVidia hasn't even released their top mobile cards of the refresh yet.

This said, the 4850 in my iMac is no slouch. If I drop to 1280*720 (pixel perfect), anything plays at very high framerates, and older games or games where the framerate is not so critical play fine at the native resolution. The biggest weakness is the memory bandwidth, and the "5750" card in the newest iMac fixes exactly that.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
solofx7
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 3, 2011, 09:06 AM
 
Originally Posted by Spheric Harlot View Post
High-end gaming card in an iMac?

Have you ever seen a Snow Leopard change its spots?
By high end gaming I mean playing a game nearly maxed out.
I have Borderlands in boot camp running at max everything and it looks and runs amazing.
Mostly I just wanted to know what y'all thought was the next hardware specs would look like.
I have resigned myself to getting a new machine every year and a half or so and selling the old one if the hardware jumps enough. So I am nearly at that point with the iMac and my MacBook Pro.
Though I am weary of intels latest chip issues.
iMac 27inch 3.4 i7 16gb ram, MacBook Air 11 inch i5 128gb, iMac 27inch 2.8 i7 8gb ram, MacBook Pro 17 inch 2.66 i7, 4gb ram 500gb HDD Seagate XT,
iPhone 4 - Time Capsule 2tb, Apple TV - iPad 2 64gb
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 3, 2011, 10:36 AM
 
Originally Posted by solofx7 View Post
Mostly I just wanted to know what y'all thought was the next hardware specs would look like.
Top model: Core i5-2500 with BTO to Core i7-2600, Radeon 6850M (basically the same as today), probably 8 gig RAM standard and a better SSD option.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
solofx7
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 3, 2011, 03:16 PM
 
Originally Posted by P View Post
How high end do you want? Apple is limited to laptop GPUs because of the design of the system, and laptop GPUs aren't comparable to high-end desktop cards. The newest Radeon 6970M is comparable to an underclocked 6850. The 6950M is further underclocked, and the 68x0M series is the same card as is already in the top iMac. nVidia hasn't even released their top mobile cards of the refresh yet.

This said, the 4850 in my iMac is no slouch. If I drop to 1280*720 (pixel perfect), anything plays at very high framerates, and older games or games where the framerate is not so critical play fine at the native resolution. The biggest weakness is the memory bandwidth, and the "5750" card in the newest iMac fixes exactly that.
I know, I am stretching it
I really love the simplicity and power of my iMac. I just want the powerful desktop cards in there.
iMac 27inch 3.4 i7 16gb ram, MacBook Air 11 inch i5 128gb, iMac 27inch 2.8 i7 8gb ram, MacBook Pro 17 inch 2.66 i7, 4gb ram 500gb HDD Seagate XT,
iPhone 4 - Time Capsule 2tb, Apple TV - iPad 2 64gb
     
shabbasuraj
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2011, 01:40 AM
 
New iMacs coming in 2 weeks .. tuesday
blabba5555555555555555555555555555555555555
     
solofx7
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2011, 09:11 AM
 
Originally Posted by shabbasuraj View Post
New iMacs coming in 2 weeks .. tuesday
i would love that. where did you hear that?
iMac 27inch 3.4 i7 16gb ram, MacBook Air 11 inch i5 128gb, iMac 27inch 2.8 i7 8gb ram, MacBook Pro 17 inch 2.66 i7, 4gb ram 500gb HDD Seagate XT,
iPhone 4 - Time Capsule 2tb, Apple TV - iPad 2 64gb
     
Veltliner
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: here
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2011, 04:32 PM
 
And again, we won't see a matte display. Until this happens, I won't buy an iMac.
     
AKcrab
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Wasilla, Alaska
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2011, 05:11 PM
 
I expect you'll NEVER buy an iMac then, V.
     
kmkkid
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brantford, ON. Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 12, 2011, 09:48 AM
 
Originally Posted by Veltliner View Post
And again, we won't see a matte display. Until this happens, I won't buy an iMac.
I can sell you my 2006 iMac w/ matte display.

That's probably the only way you'll get one now.

     
Veltliner
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: here
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 14, 2011, 01:57 AM
 
Originally Posted by kmkkid View Post
I can sell you my 2006 iMac w/ matte display.

That's probably the only way you'll get one now.

I have the last 24" white iMac. Just put a 1 Tb drive in. Guess will last me a bit longer.
     
Veltliner
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: here
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 14, 2011, 01:58 AM
 
Originally Posted by AKcrab View Post
I expect you'll NEVER buy an iMac then, V.
You never know what a new iMac line-up will look like.

I would love to have a totally black, matte all around "stealth iMac".

Could happen.

If not, my next Mac will be a Mac Pro, paired with a NEC display.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 14, 2011, 05:07 AM
 
Could happen, but I doubt it. A black iMac would look generic, and the one thing the iMac never looks is generic.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
shabbasuraj
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 24, 2011, 06:02 PM
 
Considering what the notebooks just got,

The upcoming refresh should be pretty substantial for the iMacs.

I am thinking..

thunderbolt, might loose 1 usb port, AMD graphics, and i5's at the low end.
blabba5555555555555555555555555555555555555
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 24, 2011, 06:18 PM
 
Originally Posted by shabbasuraj View Post
New iMacs coming in 2 weeks .. tuesday
So how's that working out for ya?
     
shabbasuraj
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 24, 2011, 06:23 PM
 
Originally Posted by Spheric Harlot View Post
So how's that working out for ya?
not so good.. next tuesday? or mar.2 ?
blabba5555555555555555555555555555555555555
     
solofx7
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 24, 2011, 10:56 PM
 
Originally Posted by shabbasuraj View Post
Considering what the notebooks just got,

The upcoming refresh should be pretty substantial for the iMacs.

I am thinking..

thunderbolt, might loose 1 usb port, AMD graphics, and i5's at the low end.
I hope so, I am still looking for a monster graphics card upgrade!. Yes, I know it is wishful thinking
iMac 27inch 3.4 i7 16gb ram, MacBook Air 11 inch i5 128gb, iMac 27inch 2.8 i7 8gb ram, MacBook Pro 17 inch 2.66 i7, 4gb ram 500gb HDD Seagate XT,
iPhone 4 - Time Capsule 2tb, Apple TV - iPad 2 64gb
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 25, 2011, 06:12 AM
 
Originally Posted by solofx7 View Post
I hope so, I am still looking for a monster graphics card upgrade!. Yes, I know it is wishful thinking
Yes, because there is no monster graphics card upgrade to be had - unless they put in two and use Crossfire/SLI. Apple could move up to the 69x0M series - 20% more shaders - or they could move to the worst nVidia has to offer, which might be a little bit more, but not massive. By laptop graphic standards, what's in the iMac is close enough to the top that you can't make that big an improvement. Only way to make a big boost is to implement desktop graphics in there somehow, and it would have to be something like a 6870 at least. Those things are big, power hungry and hot - basically, not going to happen.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
solofx7
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 25, 2011, 09:41 AM
 
Originally Posted by P View Post
Yes, because there is no monster graphics card upgrade to be had - unless they put in two and use Crossfire/SLI. Apple could move up to the 69x0M series - 20% more shaders - or they could move to the worst nVidia has to offer, which might be a little bit more, but not massive. By laptop graphic standards, what's in the iMac is close enough to the top that you can't make that big an improvement. Only way to make a big boost is to implement desktop graphics in there somehow, and it would have to be something like a 6870 at least. Those things are big, power hungry and hot - basically, not going to happen.
Thanks for the info, where does the AMD Radeon HD 6750M with 1GB GDDR5 in regards to what is currently available in iMacs?
iMac 27inch 3.4 i7 16gb ram, MacBook Air 11 inch i5 128gb, iMac 27inch 2.8 i7 8gb ram, MacBook Pro 17 inch 2.66 i7, 4gb ram 500gb HDD Seagate XT,
iPhone 4 - Time Capsule 2tb, Apple TV - iPad 2 64gb
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 25, 2011, 10:33 AM
 
Originally Posted by solofx7 View Post
Thanks for the info, where does the AMD Radeon HD 6750M with 1GB GDDR5 in regards to what is currently available in iMacs?
Between the 5670 in the midrange and the 5750 in the top model. It has 20% more shaders than the 5670 and twice the memory bandwidth, but I can't say closer than that without knowing the exact clockspeeds. It's far below the 5750 (really a 5850M) in the top model.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
scaught
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: detroit,mi,usa
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 18, 2011, 10:02 AM
 
Originally Posted by P View Post
Top model: Core i5-2500 with BTO to Core i7-2600, Radeon 6850M (basically the same as today), probably 8 gig RAM standard and a better SSD option.
I'm seriously considering upgrading my imac when the refresh hits mostly to play Portal 2 . Will a rig like that run it decently? I know shit all about graphics cards.
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 18, 2011, 10:58 AM
 
Will we even see a new iMac before we see a new MB ?

Product iMac
Recommendation: Don't Buy - Updates soon
Last Release July 27, 2010
Days Since Update 234 (Avg = 226)

Product MacBook
Recommendation: Don't Buy - Updates soon
Last Release May 18, 2010
Days Since Update 304 (Avg = 195)

http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/#iMac

-t
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 18, 2011, 03:07 PM
 
Originally Posted by scaught View Post
I'm seriously considering upgrading my imac when the refresh hits mostly to play Portal 2 . Will a rig like that run it decently? I know shit all about graphics cards.
The system reqs for Portal 2 are very modest, so yes, it will run very well.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 18, 2011, 03:15 PM
 
Originally Posted by turtle777 View Post
Will we even see a new iMac before we see a new MB ?
I know first hand that the Japan quake and tsunami play hell with launch schedules in all businesses right now, and I suspect that Apple is affected as well.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
Veltliner
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: here
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 2, 2011, 11:01 PM
 
Originally Posted by P View Post
Could happen, but I doubt it. A black iMac would look generic, and the one thing the iMac never looks is generic.
Actually, to pick up on a post from February, an all black, matter iMac could look incredibly good. Imagine a matte black stand.

And when it's off you can't even see where the screen begins and where it ends.

Anyway, I'm hoping for a matte display, and it won't happen

Again.
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 8, 2011, 05:10 PM
 
I'm hoping they release in time for my birthday in May. I'm shopping and it seems hard to buy a refurb that is from july 2009. I'd also like to see a 24" option with a newer processor.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:27 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,