Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Applications > Who here is pleased with InDesign 2.0's performance?

Who here is pleased with InDesign 2.0's performance?
im_noahselby
Senior User
Nov 18, 2002, 05:54 AM

I'm fairly new to the program and have not used it in classic, but I am very curious as to whether others in this forum are pleased with it's performance?

I've used PageMaker 6.5 on a Pentium 3 based machine and never experienced any slowdown or choppiness. But on my imac 800, I find scrolling in this program alone, very slow and choppy...

Here are some areas I'd appreciate your input in:

1) How does it perform on a G3 based system in 10.2, say an ibook 800?
2) Does the ammount of ram you have affect window scrolling? I have 256 ram, but if InDesign 2.0 is the only program open, shouldn't that be enough?
3) Why is scrolling so slow and choppy on a G4 800 Mhz. Would I benefit from a 1 Ghz G4 Powerbook?
4) Do any of you find the program faster on a PC?

Thanks for your comments,

Noah

Mac Guru
Mac Elite
Nov 18, 2002, 07:53 AM

1) I find it to be just fine on a G3 based system. I work with InDesign 2.0 on a daily basis on an iBook 500. I have never noticed any slow scrolling (might just be used to OS X ) in InDesign.

2) Not that I know of. Although as the saying goes, 'more RAM shouldn't hurt any'.

3) See 1

4) Nope, actually I find it to be worse on a PC, I had to spend about 4 months on ID 2 in Windows 2000 and it was HELL.

Mac Guru

im_noahselby  (op)
Senior User
Nov 18, 2002, 03:21 PM

hmm, i wonder if it is an osx thing It's still very usable, just sometimes a little bit annoying Any more thoughts, anyone?

Thanks,

Noah