Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Classic Macs and Mac OS > Desperate for simple help...

Desperate for simple help...
PixelPete17
Jul 9, 2003, 05:49 PM

Hey all,

I'm a professional designer using a Powerbook DVI 667, and after one year of perfect flawless use, it has serioiusly started acting up since Sunday. No hardware problems found (ran diagnostic CD), and I know what I'm doing to a large degree, so all behavior seems to be a matter of software conflicts.

The problems I'm seeing are:

Computer hangs when I copy files from Firewire Ext. 120GB to internal 30 GB (intermittently)

Computer hangs after restart, after restarting from a crash (what I mean is that computer freezes, I force re-start, and computer hangs when it comes into the desktop - frozen mouse, no menu items, no HD icons - this is intermittent also, but very consistent - once out of every three or four reboots)

Computer crashes in Photoshop or InDesign 2 at random times, never longer than fifteen minutes into use.

Computer will randomly crash with "finder has unexpectedly quit" once in a while as well.

NONE of these behaviors were ever an issue before Sunday. (sigh)