Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Networking > mac mini/airport express

mac mini/airport express
Thread Tools
yoyoman
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cali
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 7, 2011, 07:26 PM
 
I have a mac mini with no wifi card so I am using the airport express as the card trying to connect to the netgear router. I keep getting a 169 address. Do you think it could be a setting with in the net gear. I have tried just about every thing from cloning the MAC address to turing off the firewall and I keep getting a 169 address. The mac book pro seems to be fine as well as the ipad.
     
ibook_steve
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 7, 2011, 09:08 PM
 
Can you explain your setup a bit more?

I'm assuming you have the mini attached via ethernet to the Express. Then you have extended a wireless network, using WDS or something similar, to get the Express connected to a Netgear router. The MBP and iPad are connecting to the Netgear router directly through Wifi.

Is this correct?

I think the Express only works like this (as a bridge) if you're using WDS.

Steve
Celebrating 10 years and 4000 posts on MacNN!
     
yoyoman  (op)
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cali
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 7, 2011, 09:56 PM
 
Can you explain your setup a bit more?

I'm assuming you have the mini attached via ethernet to the Express. Yes. (I did the same set up to a g5 and worked fine but this set up was connecting to a airport extreme at my friends house)

The MBP and iPad are connecting to the Netgear router directly through Wifi. yes


I think the Express only works like this (as a bridge) if you're using WDS.
I don't believe that is the case.
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 8, 2011, 07:14 AM
 
You can use the Express to do what you're talking about with an Extreme as the main router, but I don't think it'll work the way you want with a Netgear router.

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
ibook_steve
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 8, 2011, 07:59 PM
 
Originally Posted by ghporter View Post
You can use the Express to do what you're talking about with an Extreme as the main router, but I don't think it'll work the way you want with a Netgear router.
That was my thought. I think WDS is Apple only.

To make the wired devices in my house wireless, I use Buffalo N bridges from Newegg. They're not cheap ($60 to $80) unfortunately, but I get really good transfer rates with them (until you use the microwave, that is).

Steve
Celebrating 10 years and 4000 posts on MacNN!
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 8, 2011, 08:51 PM
 
Apple-to-Apple only, at least...

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:25 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,