Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Applications > Photos app keeps originals in "Masters" folder even after I delete it from Library

Photos app keeps originals in "Masters" folder even after I delete it from Library
Thread Tools
And.reg
The Mighty
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: With the seagulls and the lobster rolls
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 13, 2019, 08:57 PM
 
I open the Photos app on my Mac (10.14.3).

Step 1. Go to the Photos app on Mac.
Step 2. Select a photo or video, click to highlight it. In this case, I have a 1 GB video.
Step 3. Do Control- (or 2nd-) Click - Delete 1 Video. Confirm deletion.
Step 4. Quit Photos.

^ The 1 GB video is not actually removed from the hard drive, because I can still find it taking up space in
~/Pictures/Photos Library (Show Package Contents)/Masters/[subfolders to date and time of original import]

What's going on? How do I tell Photos to DELETE the photo, not just UNLIST it from the Photos Library when I select "Delete 1 Video"? (Same goes for all of the other unlisted photos/videos from over the years that I don't want...)



ALSO:

When I remove a photo from my Mac, but then resync the Photos Library to my iPhone, the original photo stays in Photos on the iPhone anyway. It's not supposed to be there (OR ANYWHERE ELSE) anymore!
( Last edited by And.reg; Mar 15, 2019 at 07:26 PM. )
     
And.reg  (op)
The Mighty
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: With the seagulls and the lobster rolls
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 22, 2019, 11:37 AM
 
[...one month later...]

Originally Posted by And.reg View Post
is not actually removed from the hard drive, because I can still find it taking up space in
~/Pictures/Photos Library (Show Package Contents)/Masters/[subfolders to date and time of original import]
Well...?
     
And.reg  (op)
The Mighty
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: With the seagulls and the lobster rolls
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 30, 2019, 11:02 AM
 
[...bump still don't have an explanation?...]
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 30, 2019, 11:36 AM
 
I have iCloud Photos turned on, so this may be different, but deleting a photo or video doesn't delete it, but puts it in the "Recently deleted" trash album, from where it will eventually be automatically deleted.
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 30, 2019, 11:36 AM
 
If I delete a photo from photostream on my mac, it doesn't get deleted on my phone. I have just gotten used to it.
     
And.reg  (op)
The Mighty
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: With the seagulls and the lobster rolls
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 30, 2019, 02:17 PM
 
Well that's another issue, so, I manually removed duplicates on my iPhone, until I turned off... maybe it was Photostream. Anyway, I don't use iCloud Drive, because it takes up space in iCloud, but even then, the Package Contents folder within the Photos Library will still show the original "deleted" files, even with those off.

Seems like a bug.
     
Chongo
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Status: Online
Reply With Quote
Jun 4, 2019, 12:23 PM
 
Originally Posted by andi*pandi View Post
If I delete a photo from photostream on my mac, it doesn't get deleted on my phone. I have just gotten used to it.
Originally Posted by And.reg View Post
Well that's another issue, so, I manually removed duplicates on my iPhone, until I turned off... maybe it was Photostream. Anyway, I don't use iCloud Drive, because it takes up space in iCloud, but even then, the Package Contents folder within the Photos Library will still show the original "deleted" files, even with those off.

Seems like a bug.
I have the 2TB iCloud service. iCloud Photos is enabled on my Mac iPad, and iPhones. If I delete a photo from my phone, it says it will be “deleted from iCloud Photos on all your devices”. When I connect to my Mac, I see the same screen in Photos as in iTunes, you can access you music/photos in the cloud. All photos on my XS Max shows over 9000 photos. I would like to not have 9k photos showing in all photos. I need to sit down and delete duplicates and organize them all. What’s worse is we have several boxes of photos that need to be scanned.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:01 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,