Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Developer Center > question about opening associated files...

question about opening associated files...
MaxPower2k3
Mac Elite
Jul 12, 2003, 09:29 PM

I'm making an app that has a file type associated with it. I got that part working fine, the program can make the file (it's a package) and, when the file is double clicked, the app is opened/brought into focus. my question is, how do i read the file that was opened? Is there a function in the app that i can implement that will be called? Is there a notification that gets posted? I'm pretty new to this, so bear with me if this is a brutally easy question

Thanks,
Max

Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Jul 12, 2003, 10:03 PM

You really need to tell what language and frameworks you're using or nobody will know what you need to do.

If you're doing a Cocoa document-based application, this should work automatically for you by creating an instance of the appropriate document class. If not, but it's still a Cocoa application (my guess at what you're doing), you need to implement application:openFile: in your application's delegate.
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."

MaxPower2k3  (op)
Mac Elite
Jul 12, 2003, 10:08 PM

Originally posted by Chuckit:
You really need to tell what language and frameworks you're using or nobody will know what you need to do.