Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Upgrade my iMac to TV box, ideas?

Upgrade my iMac to TV box, ideas?
Thread Tools
cenutrio
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: missing
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2010, 12:41 PM
 
Hi Guys,

I have a small apartment in Spain with no TV, but a 24¨iMac (2008, running 10.6). Instead of buying a new TV, I rather use the iMac, the screen should be plenty, and I do not waste space.

I know there are solutions from El Gato, and from SlingMedia. Still, I'm quite bad at TV technology, thus I rather ask for your advice.

Are these solutions worthy? any recommendations? Also, I have iPad and laptops, do these tools help sharing the TV signal? Spanish TV is not that great, I rather watch UK's BBC, or US PBS, Discovery, etc, kind of channels, can these tools help me to achieve this? BTW, I do not have any TV cable subscription, or anything, although I know the building (which is quite new and well built) got all the connections.

I appreciate all your suggestions very much. Sorry If I sound a bit TV tech challenged, I really am
Regards,

cenutrio
-original iMac, TiPB 400, Cube, Macbook (black), iMac 24¨, plus the original iPod and a black nano 4GB-
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2010, 12:55 PM
 
AFAIK, all the stuff that Sling does requires an actual TV. What their technology does is stream an image from that TV, and gives you the ability to control that TV remotely (change the channel, etc.)

I don't have an El Gato unit, but I've only heard good things about them, though I don't think this will help with non-local signals.
     
imitchellg5
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington + Colorado
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2010, 01:00 PM
 
Yes, Sling requires a TV. EyeTV requires a cable subscription and works quite well, but obviously you'll only be able to get channels that you subscribe to.
     
residentEvil
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Detroit
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2010, 02:00 PM
 
WRONG...

Slingbox does NOT require a TV; it requires a video source be it a dvd, vcr, cable box (with service), or satelite receiver (with service). you never need a TV hooked up.

video source -> slingbox -> internet connection -> remote computer/cell phone
     
imitchellg5
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington + Colorado
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2010, 02:15 PM
 
Don't you have to have a TV to do initial setup?
     
Salty
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2010, 06:41 PM
 
I gave up on TV a while ago... just got a membership to a really good torrent site that has like every TV show ever... way cheaper than buying cable and a DVR, and I get to watch the few shows I like on my terms not the network's.
     
Teronzhul
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: FL Cape
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2010, 06:44 PM
 
Originally Posted by imitchellg5 View Post
Don't you have to have a TV to do initial setup?
I don't know about prior generation slingboxes, but I just bought a slingbox solo, and it did not require a display device for initial setup.
     
ort888
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Your Anus
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2010, 07:00 PM
 
Apple really needs to make an iMac with an HDMI in port.

I bet there are a lot of people who would love to use one as their only TV.

My sig is 1 pixel too big.
     
residentEvil
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Detroit
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2010, 07:22 PM
 
Originally Posted by imitchellg5 View Post
Don't you have to have a TV to do initial setup?
setup is done via the slingbox's application you install on your computer the first time and/or sling's website. the app will find the device on it's local network (same for the web with a little setup online) pretty slick. plug it into your network and register the MAC (that is NIC address) and create an account on the sling's website. from there, you select the video source, tell it the remote commands if it doesn't find it automatically...and off your go. the box talks back to sling's website and you can do it all online.
     
residentEvil
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Detroit
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2010, 07:23 PM
 
but either way; the sling isn't a solution for the OP question. as it isn't a TV service. it simply is a device to put your current TV service (or dvd/vcr) video feed online so you can view it/control it remotely.
     
residentEvil
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Detroit
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 11, 2010, 07:26 PM
 
Originally Posted by ort888 View Post
Apple really needs to make an iMac with an HDMI in port.

I bet there are a lot of people who would love to use one as their only TV.
while not on my iMac; i have a USB to HDMI adapter for just such things. use it on my laptop.
     
moonmonkey
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Australia, the greatest country in the world, (Australians keep telling me).
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 16, 2010, 07:31 AM
 
I would set up an VPN in the uk and watch all my tv via BBC iPlayer.
     
Phileas
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 17, 2010, 12:25 AM
 
Originally Posted by moonmonkey View Post
I would set up an VPN in the uk and watch all my tv via BBC iPlayer.
This. Do the same for the US and you don't need cable.
     
moonmonkey
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Australia, the greatest country in the world, (Australians keep telling me).
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 17, 2010, 04:35 AM
 
Originally Posted by Phileas View Post
This. Do the same for the US and you don't need cable.
Its not offen when the cheapest option is the best option, but this is one of those times.
https://www.expatsurfer.co.uk/ is very popular in Hong Kong for UK content.
     
Phileas
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 17, 2010, 10:24 AM
 
Cheapest? They are asking £70.00 a year, about $115.00. That's ridiculous, given that companies like Strong VPN offer an identical service for $50.00 a year.
     
moonmonkey
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Australia, the greatest country in the world, (Australians keep telling me).
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 17, 2010, 05:24 PM
 
I was saying a VPN is the cheapest solution, not that particular VPN.
     
Railroader
Banned
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Indy.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 20, 2010, 01:20 PM
 
Originally Posted by imitchellg5 View Post
EyeTV requires a cable subscription and works quite well, but obviously you'll only be able to get channels that you subscribe to.
No, it doesn't.

I use an EyeTV to watch Over-The-Air broadcasting here in Indianapolis. We get all the major networks in HD. [ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox, CW, and PBS.]
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:17 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,