Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > How much RAM do you have in your PowerBook?

How much RAM do you have in your PowerBook? (Page 2)
Thread Tools
leamanc
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 11, 2005, 08:40 PM
 
Aluminum 17" 1.5 GHz - 2 GB RAM
Pismo 500 MHz - 1 GB RAM
     
dlefebvre
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Where my body is
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 11, 2005, 09:50 PM
 
!5" 1.5GHz Powerbook : 2GB RAM
     
SierraDragon
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Truckee, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 11, 2005, 10:28 PM
 
My new 15" PB is not here yet, but the 1 GB RAM from OWC (great vendor) is. I will have 1.5 GB total until I sell the 0.5 GB the PB comes with, and then I will add another 1 GB stick. Among other things, I run Photoshop for a living, so even with max RAM and an external (OWC Mercury FW400/800/USB2) 250 GB drive for scratch disk any current PB is a bit lame.
     
gururafiki
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Good question...
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 11, 2005, 10:42 PM
 
2gigs & lovin it! I am surprised how much of a difference between 1gig and 2gigs makes! Doesnt seem like it would matter much, because the system never needs more than 512mb's to run, but with 2gigs it really is a bit faster.
     
Cless
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 11, 2005, 11:05 PM
 
1.25GB in my 1.25GHz PowerBook. Works quite nicely. Might go up to 2GB someday, but it's more likely that I'll get a G5 (or G6) in a couple years and then sell this to get a smaller PowerBook.
     
caol
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 11, 2005, 11:13 PM
 
12" 1.33GHz P'Book w/768MB RAM. It's done everything I've ever asked of it!
     
JHromadka
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Houston, Texas
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 12, 2005, 12:09 AM
 
1 GB
     
Chris Bucher
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: INDY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 12, 2005, 12:58 AM
 
2 gb in my pb 1.25, cause that's all it'll take. but really because nIkon Capture really sucks the life out of my powerbook with D2X files. Can't wait for PBG5.
     
Targon
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: a void where there should be ecstasy
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 12, 2005, 01:20 AM
 
Aluminium 1.5 ghz 15" 1.5gig
     
jstein
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Detroit, MI
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 12, 2005, 01:24 AM
 
As for me I have 1gb of RAM in my 15-inch 1.25 ghz. It is cool for now but when I eventually upgrade to 17-inch model my dream machine I must have 2gb of RAM.
     
jlhopwo
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Fracisco, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 12, 2005, 01:30 AM
 
Originally posted by fridexter:
256mb here

1G in my new 15" 1.67 Ultimate!
     
kaufman
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 12, 2005, 02:12 AM
 
Only 768 MB on my new 12" AlPb, but I did spring for the 100 GB HD upgrade.

Michael
     
CobraNT
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: London, Ontario
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 12, 2005, 09:59 AM
 
Just ordered a new 17" 1.67 PB. This will be my first 'new' PB, and I went all out. I ordered it with 2GB. I think I will notice the difference between my 800Mhz PB.....
     
legacyb4
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Vancouver
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 12, 2005, 11:44 AM
 
ditto

PB12/1Ghz; I need more than 256MB, but don't use it enough to replace the 512MB that was added when I purchased it...

Originally posted by f1000:
768 MB
     
Paco500
Professional Poster
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Berkshire, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 12, 2005, 12:36 PM
 
1.5 GB in 15" 1.33 GHz. Lived with 256 for about 20 min before ordering the upgrade.
     
Garage81
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 12, 2005, 12:45 PM
 
my 1gig upgrade comes in in a few hours

cant wait, ill be at 1.5gigs.

Mac Mini : 1.66 Core Duo : 2 GB ♥
     
tempus
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 12, 2005, 01:33 PM
 
512 in my 12" 1.5Ghz... Has worked beautifully, I figure I might goto 768 or 1.25 gigs in a few months if I deem it necessary.
hello, resolven
     
JeffHarris
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: New York City
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 12, 2005, 06:27 PM
 
There's 1GB of RAM in my 1ghz TiBook.
There's 640MB of RAM in my girlfriend's 800mhz iBook G4 (if that counts).
     
jasonsRX7
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 12, 2005, 07:13 PM
 
768mb
     
ism
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Sep 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 12, 2005, 07:26 PM
 
768Mb in revB 12". Could do with more, but the price (in the uk anyway) doesn't justify it. Why on earth a powerbook has only 256 built in I don't know. I know you could argue the 12" pb isn't really a pro machine, but Apple sell it as such and 256Mb just doesn't cut it.
     
wulf
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 12, 2005, 07:46 PM
 
Originally posted by paul w:
ditto 768 mb here. My tibook can only go up to 1 gb, so I'm going to save that last little speed boost for later. I still have a year left on the Apple Care.
Same with my Ti, except the reason I haven't upgraded to the full GB is that I'm just loath to ditch a perfectly good 256MB stick. I'm cheap like that.
     
poemtree
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 12, 2005, 09:16 PM
 
Ti667, 1GB, 60GB Hitachi 72K
     
iSean
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 13, 2005, 03:16 PM
 
15 in Al PB (FW800) 1.25 GHz w/ 1.5 GB RAM here...
     
kastegir
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Salt Lake City, UT USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 13, 2005, 03:36 PM
 
1.25GB in my rev. C 12" Powerbook.
     
aehaas
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Osprey, Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 13, 2005, 10:14 PM
 
2 G in my 1.5 AL

aehaas
     
netzien
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Incline Village, NV
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 14, 2005, 01:37 AM
 
1gb in my 1Ghz Ti, 768mb in my wifes 1Ghz Ti

The Al powerbooks are too flimsy, big and ugly to bother with; we are waiting for something better before we bother to pay for such an expensive upgrade
     
GhettoD
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 14, 2005, 03:28 PM
 
For all of you with Safari problems, why have you not switched to Firefox? I have been using Mozilla and later Firefox on my Windows desktop for years, and its one of the first things I installed on my Powerbook. You can get nightly optimized Firefox builds that run incredibly fast and are by far the best browser I've seen for OS X

Check them out here

http://homepage.mac.com/krmathis/
1.33 gHz PB with 768mb Ram
2.4gHz P4 Windows Desktop
     
GhettoD
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 14, 2005, 03:30 PM
 
Sorry, too many tabs open and I replied in the wrong forum ;-)

But my statement still stands, download firefox!
1.33 gHz PB with 768mb Ram
2.4gHz P4 Windows Desktop
     
j0nkatz
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 14, 2005, 03:54 PM
 
Yeah I have two stick of RAM in mine!
     
ticedric
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 16, 2005, 12:27 AM
 
1.5 GB...but I don't think I will upgrade to 2. I use virtual PC and Adobe apps...if not it would be a wast of money.
17 2.16 MBP with 2 GB RAM
G4 400 tower
Emac 1.0 Combo
     
Tetsuo
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 16, 2005, 05:06 PM
 
2x 512mb
     
MilkmanDan
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: My Powerbook, in Japan!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 16, 2005, 10:42 PM
 
768 on my Rev c 12in. Makes life happy.
     
Ormnik
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2005, 12:25 AM
 
2Gb Baby! PB 17" 1.5GHz.
Harmon Kardon Soundsticks / Elgato USB EyeTV
Powerbook 17" 1.5GHz / 2Gb / 80 Gb / Superdrive / Mac OS 10.4.7 / 64Mb Video / Wireless Keyboard & Mouse / Harmon Kardon Soundsticks / 60Gb 5G video iPod / 8Gb 2G Nano --
1.83GHz Core Duo Mac Mini / 512Mb / 80Gb / Superdrive / Mac OS 10.4.7 / Wireless Keyboard & Mouse / 800W Pioneer 5.1 Sound System / InFocus IN72 DLP Projector / 500Gb External Drive
     
Cei
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2005, 05:22 AM
 
512mb in a 15" revC

I want more but it costs so much :o
     
Randman
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2005, 05:28 AM
 
You have a PB, a PM and an iMac and you can't afford more than 512 of ram?

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
jdiddy
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2005, 05:28 AM
 
I have a Rev C. 12inch 1.33 with 768MBs of ram. I was really tempted to upgrade to 1.25MBs today with the Kingston 1gig for $119 after rebate but I could'nt find a buyer for my 512 that quickly. I did score a iCurve for $30 so I still managed to get a new toy for my PB.
     
d.fine
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2004
Location: on 650 cc's
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2005, 01:05 PM
 
1GB in 1.25GHz Rev1 Alu PB, for use with Illustrator, Photoshop, InDesign, bla bla bla...

stuffing feathers up your b*tt doesn't make you a chicken.
     
spiff72
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2005, 01:37 PM
 
512MB in a new 17" 1.67, but will be 1.5GB when I get home from work and install the stick I ordered yesterday. WooHoo!!

I will be editing the sig below soon...
"Mac Daddy" - 15" MBP, 2.2 GHz Core i7, 8GB, 750GB HDD
"Mommy Mac" - 13" Macbook, 2.4GHz C2D, 2GB, 160GB
"Baby Mac" - 15" PB, 1.5GHz, 1.5GB, 80GB
64GB iPod Touch (4th gen)
     
Cei
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2005, 02:28 PM
 
Originally Posted by Randman
You have a PB, a PM and an iMac and you can't afford more than 512 of ram?
Those explain why!
     
spiff72
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2005, 02:56 PM
 
Originally Posted by Cei
Those explain why!
Not to mention an iPod and a Shuffle
"Mac Daddy" - 15" MBP, 2.2 GHz Core i7, 8GB, 750GB HDD
"Mommy Mac" - 13" Macbook, 2.4GHz C2D, 2GB, 160GB
"Baby Mac" - 15" PB, 1.5GHz, 1.5GB, 80GB
64GB iPod Touch (4th gen)
     
Goldfinger
Professional Poster
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Belgium
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2005, 03:19 PM
 
1GB in my Titanium.

iMac 20" C2D 2.16 | Acer Aspire One | Flickr
     
Cei
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2005, 03:45 PM
 
Originally Posted by spiff72
Not to mention an iPod and a Shuffle
shuffles are great for slipping in a pocket...iPods are sometimes too big (plus they act as USB flash drives...)
     
pyn
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Oct 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2005, 04:34 PM
 
768MB in my 12" Rev.B

Horrible for doing any [large] work in Photoshop or Painter... Oh and gaming sucks on it


But I love my Mac!
     
cef
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York, NY
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 17, 2005, 10:20 PM
 
1GB in a Rev A 17" PB
     
ddma
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 17, 2005, 10:47 PM
 
1.5GB 1.67GHz but only 1GB now because the lower ram slot dies and I am too lazy to send it back to fix.
The stupidest user.
.ddma.SAY - http://www.didierma.com
     
sadpandas
Forum Regular
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 18, 2005, 03:21 PM
 
2 gigs to go with my new 15" 1.67 pbook... all the bells and whistles. i do mostly audio recording as well as photoshop and illustrator with the little lady.
*Dual 2.8 quad core Mac Pro, 512 8800 GT, 1tb boot, 500gb audio, 340gb video, 6gb ram
*15"pb*1.67*128vm*100hd*2g ram*
*PMac*Dual 2.0GHz* 4g ram*
*3.0 p4 630* gigabyte848p775* radeon X800 Pro 256* 2g ram*
     
benwhanlee
Forum Regular
Join Date: Aug 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 18, 2005, 04:15 PM
 
i have 1.25 gigs in my 1.25 15" aluminum and 512 mb in my 667 titanium.

i keep my old stock modules for when i send my machine back into apple for repair. some have complained about apple simply stating that the 3rd party ram was the cause of the problem, when it clearly wasn't. i'm pretty paranoid about stuff though...
15" Al PB 1.67, 15" Ti PB 667, Power Mac 400
     
Marcus Karlsson
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ume
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 18, 2005, 04:34 PM
 
I have 8 megs of ram in my PowerBook 170.
iBook 12", 1.2 GHz G4, 768 MB RAM, 30 GB HD, Combo, Airport Extreme, Mac OS X 10.3.9
     
MRTrauffer
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 19, 2005, 07:45 AM
 
1 GB here
I gotta have more cowbell.
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,