Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > Will the genius Bar Install 3rd party RAM?

Will the genius Bar Install 3rd party RAM?
Thread Tools
Bob Marley
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 18, 2007, 07:40 PM
 
Just checking.

If so, how much will it cost?
     
imitchellg5
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington + Colorado
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 18, 2007, 09:19 PM
 
Apple's policy is that they won't, but most of the time someone will there for free.
     
MrMacbookMan
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 19, 2007, 12:28 AM
 
They may do it they may not, but either way you should consider just doing it yourself. I did it myself on my macbook and it was pretty easy and their are guides all over the internet. All you need is a really small screw driver. They claim #00, but I got that and it was still too big. But if you can get your hands on a small enough screwdriver, than I would suggest doing it yourself.
I was able to pay for my new macbook
just by trying out products from home.
The pay is great and it's free to join.
Sign up here.
     
theokandroid
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 19, 2007, 01:41 AM
 
Pretty much all you need is the tiny screwdriver it's easy. , but there policy is they wont.
     
Ray
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: bay area
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 19, 2007, 02:54 AM
 
ya just do it yourslef its super easy your manual tells you how.
     
Northeastern292
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brushton, New York (middle of nowhere)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 19, 2007, 03:22 PM
 
I even do hard drive changes, and about a month or two ago I put a new motherboard in for a PowerBook G4 (Mercury). I may have forgot to put a screw or two in, but it has not jeopardized the usability of the PowerBook.

Only problem is now the internal battery is shot. DVD-ROM is also on the fritz, along with the case. The LCD is almost perfect and just needs a cleaning.
The Mac Collection:

Power Mac G4 Sawtooth at 450MHz, Power Mac G4 Gigabit Ethernet at 400MHz, three Power Mac FW800's at 1.0GHz, MacBook Pro at 2.0GHz, my late father's G3 iMac at 350MHz, an iMac at 500MHz, a PowerBook G4 (12-inch VGA) and a PowerBook 170
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:39 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,