Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Gaming > Age of Empires 3 - looking great!!! [large jpeg]

Age of Empires 3 - looking great!!! [large jpeg]
Thread Tools
Powerbook
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: München, Deutschland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 26, 2006, 04:01 PM
 
Whoa - right after I started playing AoE I+II again...:

IMG Preview: Age of Empires III

Age of Empires III

Age of Empires III was one of the most anticipated RTS titles of 2005 on the PC front. Now, thanks to MacSoft, the next iteration in Ensemble's European superpower series is slated for release on the Mac. Introducing a host of new features while keeping what worked in the previous titles, AoE3 looks to continue the resource-gathering, troop-creating, and battle-fighting mechanics that players expect from their RTSes.

Fans of the previous titles should be pleased to hear that AoE3 picks up right where AoE2 left off. Continuing to base its background on historical events, AoE3 allows players to choose one of several European powers as they explore the New World. The same eight playable civilizations are still available, including the Ottoman, Spanish, Russian, British, Portuguese, Dutch, German, and French. The focus largely remains the same as well, with the usual mechanics of gathering resources, creating a civilization, and removing any obstacles in your path, including other civilizations.

As for new features, by far the one with the most impact is the Home City. The sponsor for a beginning civilization back in Europe, the Home City will support its budding empire with a variety of resources shipped by sea, including troops, technologies, and civilians, all of which can be player-selected. In addition, each Home City will gain experience points as players perform actions such as warring with other civilizations and building structures. As the Home City gains levels, players gain access to more resources and visual tweaks to both structures and units.

To make things more interesting, the rewards gathered from leveling a Home City are presented as a series of cards, with the eventual limit of 20 cards being available for use at one time. By building different decks, players will be able to change and adapt their strategies depending on their opponent's actions. In addition, the cards are split up into 3 tiers separated by level, which is a mechanic designed to keep play fair versus players of disparate levels. For example, a high-level player possessing Tier 3 cards would only get to use Tier 1 cards against a lower level player who only has access to Tier 1s.

Also new to the mix are the Native Americans. Though not a playable civilization, players can still attempt to parley with them, setting up trade agreements and alliances. Friendly Native Americans will even join players in battles, but don't count against a player's population. Those looking to raid Native American villages should look elsewhere, however, as they are exempt from being attacked unless they are allied with an opponent, and even then only the military units are fair game.

Ensemble has also seen fit to tweak the Skirmish mode. As with previous titles, Skirmish mode allows players to compete against AIs on randomly generated maps. Looking to up the ante a little, however, each civilization comes with a distinctive AI, complete with its own personality and tactics. The AIs are represented by famous figures, including Napoleon and Queen Isabella, and will have at their command over 4000 fully-voiced taunts, which they will use freely to torment human players as they attempt to dominate the New World.

Last but not least, AoE3 finally makes the jump to 3D graphics. The PC version has already been lauded for its presentation, which includes advanced lightning effects, realistic shadows, and detailed water environments. AoE3 also makes use of a physics engine, which allows for impressive detail as structures take damage, and ragdoll effects as individual units tumble to the ground.

AoE3 is currently on its way to the Mac via MacSoft, with a targeted shipping date of September. Look to IMG for upcoming information on this title, including status updates and a preview.


This is looking great:


Regards
PB.
Aut Caesar aut nihil.
     
blackbird_1.0
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Aiken, South Carolina, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 26, 2006, 04:28 PM
 
Nice.
Apple II GS | Powerbook 165 | iMac Rev. A 96mb RAM| iBook G3 500mhz, 128mb RAM | Power Macintosh G5 1.6ghz, 2.25gb RAM | Black MacBook 2ghz, 2gb RAM | iPhone Rev. A 8gb HD
     
Peter
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England | San Francisco
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 26, 2006, 04:46 PM
 
Whoa.
we don't have time to stop for gas
     
torifile
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 27, 2006, 11:21 PM
 
I've been playing it all weekend on my iMac. In XP.
     
ha_dkny
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 31, 2006, 12:08 AM
 
i like this game
     
goMac
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 31, 2006, 12:27 AM
 
Here's to hoping for Mac to PC play.
8 Core 2.8 ghz Mac Pro/GF8800/2 23" Cinema Displays, 3.06 ghz Macbook Pro
Once you wanted revolution, now you're the institution, how's it feel to be the man?
     
Oversoul
Senior User
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 31, 2006, 05:58 AM
 
Nice. I love this game on the PC side. And with a targeted shipping date of September it's just perfect for my new Mac Pro with X1900, which should arrive around then.
     
mindwaves
Professional Poster
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Irvine, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 4, 2006, 04:08 PM
 
Looking forward to it!
{{{ mindwaves }}}
     
imitchellg5
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington + Colorado
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 4, 2006, 09:09 PM
 
Those are some great graphics. I hope it runs on my iMac too.
     
mindwaves
Professional Poster
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Irvine, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 28, 2006, 01:56 AM
 
Any word? September is almost over.
{{{ mindwaves }}}
     
Rumor
Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: on the verge of insanity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 28, 2006, 06:55 PM
 
What are the system requirements? I can't find them on the Macsoft website.
I like my water with hops, malt, hops, yeast, and hops.
     
DevNine
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Mar 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 2, 2006, 05:31 AM
 
September is over and no update
http://winlab.csbnet.se Visit the Mac Demo Scene.
     
Oversoul
Senior User
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 2, 2006, 06:59 PM
 
I've been on the lookout for the game too. PowerMax lists AoEIII as mid-October ETA.

Powermax: Age of Empires III for Mac -- Now Taking Pre-Orders
     
- - e r i k - -
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 3, 2006, 03:01 AM
 
Damn it. Come out already!

[ fb ] [ flickr ] [] [scl] [ last ] [ plaxo ]
     
Zakkk
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 3, 2006, 09:22 PM
 
I could not agree with you any more.
     
Soccerji
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 6, 2006, 10:33 PM
 
is there a demo out at least ?
     
MattJeff
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Right here
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 8, 2006, 01:26 PM
 
is anyone playing it on an intel?
     
mindwaves
Professional Poster
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Irvine, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 9, 2006, 05:51 PM
 
MacSoft


I guess it is out yet. Let me know which stores have it in stock!
( Last edited by mindwaves; Oct 9, 2006 at 06:00 PM. )
{{{ mindwaves }}}
     
Rumor
Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: on the verge of insanity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 9, 2006, 06:03 PM
 
System Requirements: Macintosh computer with a G4/G5 or Intel processor running at 1.4GHz or faster, Mac OS X v10.3.9 or higher, 512MB RAM, 64 MB Video Card (with support for hardware T & L). 56K dial-up Internet access or LAN for online play,
I guess it's no fun for me until I upgrade my processor from a 500mhz.
I like my water with hops, malt, hops, yeast, and hops.
     
moocow81
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 9, 2006, 09:22 PM
 
I have spent about 3 hours searching on the net for this game and only see estimates of when its out AND people saying it wotn work on macs. is 64 Vram enough? and IS IT OUT YET OR NOT!!! help! i think my comp can handle it. it handles all other of my 14 strat games....and WoW.....answer if you can a answer any of these Q's ty
     
goMac
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2006, 12:45 AM
 
Originally Posted by moocow81
I have spent about 3 hours searching on the net for this game and only see estimates of when its out AND people saying it wotn work on macs. is 64 Vram enough? and IS IT OUT YET OR NOT!!! help! i think my comp can handle it. it handles all other of my 14 strat games....and WoW.....answer if you can a answer any of these Q's ty
I would suggest running it on a G5 or higher for best play. My 3.6 ghz PC with a Radeon X700 256 meg VRAM handled it ok. It's going to tax the CPU a lot more than two did, with the real time physics and larger scale battles and all.

If you've got a high end G4 Powermac or a G5 I'd say you're good. Of course I have no idea what the real requirements actually will be.
8 Core 2.8 ghz Mac Pro/GF8800/2 23" Cinema Displays, 3.06 ghz Macbook Pro
Once you wanted revolution, now you're the institution, how's it feel to be the man?
     
DevNine
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Mar 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2006, 06:50 AM
 
Originally Posted by moocow81
I have spent about 3 hours searching on the net for this game and only see estimates of when its out AND people saying it wotn work on macs. is 64 Vram enough? and IS IT OUT YET OR NOT!!! help! i think my comp can handle it. it handles all other of my 14 strat games....and WoW.....answer if you can a answer any of these Q's ty
End of October is the new eta.
http://winlab.csbnet.se Visit the Mac Demo Scene.
     
Rumor
Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: on the verge of insanity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2006, 12:26 PM
 
Originally Posted by goMac
Of course I have no idea what the real requirements actually will be.
Here they are again.

System Requirements: Macintosh computer with a G4/G5 or Intel processor running at 1.4GHz or faster, Mac OS X v10.3.9 or higher, 512MB RAM, 64 MB Video Card (with support for hardware T & L). 56K dial-up Internet access or LAN for online play,
I like my water with hops, malt, hops, yeast, and hops.
     
moocow81
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2006, 03:00 PM
 
Thanks, im on a imac G5 powerpc cpu (machine model mpowermac) (reading off system info) yap yap yap 64 vram yap yap...and this game should be awesome ty for help
     
moocow81
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2006, 03:15 PM
 
iv only seen this game on my friends 5 year old PC and i am dieing to have it....no really....i am...i felt sick last night because i was to excited.... i have to wait a month-ish...
     
Oversoul
Senior User
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2006, 03:19 PM
 
Originally Posted by moocow81
i am dieing to have it....no really....i am...i felt sick last night because i was to excited....
Calm down... it's only a game.
     
moocow81
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2006, 06:40 PM
 
ttru be dat
     
Yaguchi
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2006, 07:58 PM
 
It works on a Macbook 512mb 1.83ghz using windows. The settings are all on low, but it works.
     
goMac
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 10, 2006, 08:29 PM
 
Originally Posted by Rumor
Here they are again.
Hey, I wasn't that far off at all.
8 Core 2.8 ghz Mac Pro/GF8800/2 23" Cinema Displays, 3.06 ghz Macbook Pro
Once you wanted revolution, now you're the institution, how's it feel to be the man?
     
Peter
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England | San Francisco
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 11, 2006, 06:57 PM
 
guys lets try to control our, er, emotions
lets just lay low and whine quietly until its released, kay?
we don't have time to stop for gas
     
mindwaves
Professional Poster
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Irvine, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 11, 2006, 10:14 PM
 
Can't wait for it to be released. I need something to do during class!!
{{{ mindwaves }}}
     
Rumor
Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: on the verge of insanity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 12, 2006, 11:53 AM
 
Originally Posted by mindwaves
Can't wait for it to be released. I need something to do during class!!
That, is truly hilarious!
I like my water with hops, malt, hops, yeast, and hops.
     
moocow81
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 12, 2006, 04:05 PM
 
This site says shipin in november......

http://www.macgamestore.com/detail.php?ProductID=614

*gasp*
     
DevNine
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Mar 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 16, 2006, 11:51 AM
 
AOE3 will not ship in October but hopefully some time before Christmas.No specific date.This comes straight from the horses mouth.
( Last edited by DevNine; Oct 18, 2006 at 10:03 PM. )
http://winlab.csbnet.se Visit the Mac Demo Scene.
     
moocow81
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 17, 2006, 02:46 PM
 
AOE3 not 2....AND why does a site say shiping in oct when it cant happen......it seems dumb
     
moocow81
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 1, 2006, 12:08 PM
 
November time! yay! soon....
     
mindwaves
Professional Poster
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Irvine, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 2, 2006, 12:15 AM
 
I'm still waiting here. Going to order it from amazon.com when it comes out as I have a gift certificate.
{{{ mindwaves }}}
     
Tuoder
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Here
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 2, 2006, 01:35 AM
 
It looks cool, and also out of the league of my MacBook That is to be expected, I suppose.
     
moocow81
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 15, 2006, 07:21 PM
 
Maybe Macsoft should figure out when they should update their website......but for now i guess we must go through this stuipid wait.
     
MattJeff
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Right here
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 15, 2006, 09:46 PM
 
Macintosh computer with a G4/G5 or Intel processor running at 1.4GHz or faster, Mac OS X v10.3.9 or higher, 512MB RAM, 64 MB Video Card (with support for hardware T & L). 56K dial-up Internet access or LAN for online play
     
MattJeff
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Right here
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 15, 2006, 09:47 PM
 
Release Date: 11/28/2006
     
MattJeff
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Right here
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 15, 2006, 09:49 PM
 
doesnt that mean that it will run on a MB? it should run very well on a MBP
     
moocow81
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 16, 2006, 07:19 PM
 
Where did u get the date from?-oh and Macsoft has a newsletter from 3 days ago saying it is coming out yesterday! i sent them an e-mail asking when its comin out for real-but you may have solved my problem thanks Matjeff!
     
MattJeff
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Right here
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 16, 2006, 11:07 PM
 
Just google this sucker, (froogle) and you will find a bunch of stuff. i think thats where i found it...
     
MattJeff
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Right here
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 16, 2006, 11:09 PM
 
and your welcome MooCow81
     
Tuoder
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Here
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 17, 2006, 05:34 AM
 
Originally Posted by MattJeff View Post
doesnt that mean that it will run on a MB? it should run very well on a MBP
The intel GMA950 does not have hardware T&L. It emulates these functions. That is a part of the reason why it sucks so badly for gaming. I think that it will actually RUN the game, but at very low FPS with all settings on low. Anyway, with everything on low, you have lost part of the reason why this games is so cool in the first place.
     
moocow81
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 18, 2006, 12:20 AM
 
Recently i have e-mailed a macsoft techie and he has told me that it is already out and shipping on macgamestore.com it says on macgamestore that it is pre-ordering but maybe they just havent updated it. I have e-mailed hm back asking to confirm this until then, cross your fingers!
     
moocow81
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 20, 2006, 07:43 PM
 
Hopefully there will be a reply by tomarrow!
     
DevNine
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Mar 2002
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 23, 2006, 02:30 AM
 
MINNEAPOLIS, MN, November 13, 2006 – Destineer’s MacSoft unit today announces that the Macintosh version of Microsoft Game Studios and Ensemble Studios’ #1 best-selling PC title, Age of Empires� III has gone gold.

The sequel to MacSoft’s second best-selling title ever, and the latest release in the 18-million unit “Age of Empires” series, Age of Empires III for Macintosh is scheduled to be available on November 15 as a Universal Binary that can be operated natively either on Apple’s Intel-based or PowerPC Macintosh computers.


MacSoft Website
http://winlab.csbnet.se Visit the Mac Demo Scene.
     
mindwaves
Professional Poster
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Irvine, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 23, 2006, 05:05 PM
 
How did we all miss that? Thanks DevNine. Any stores have it in stock now so maybe I can pick it up on Black Friday?
{{{ mindwaves }}}
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:56 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,