Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Newbie Please Be Gentle

Newbie Please Be Gentle
Thread Tools
Vette Queen
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Orange County Calif
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 27, 2006, 07:35 PM
 
I am new to the iMAC. I have an iMAC G5 with OS X 10.3.5
I need to upgrade the OS to OS X 10.4.3

The iMAC is not hooked up to the internet. Can I download the needed update on my PC, put it on a CD and transfer it to the iMAC???

Sorry for the dumb question but I'm befuddled
     
tooki
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 27, 2006, 07:38 PM
 
No. Upgrading from 10.3.x to 10.4.x is a paid upgrade. Only the point updates (e.g. 10.4.3->10.4.7) are free and downloadable (and yes, you could download those, burn them, and install off CD).

tooki
     
Vette Queen  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Orange County Calif
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 27, 2006, 07:41 PM
 
thanks.. where do I get the upgrade that I need ?

and I havent got a clue as to what a "point update" is... do I need one now or should I wait till I get the other OS ?


(the questions arent gonna get any better)
     
Chito
Senior User
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Uniontown, OH
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 27, 2006, 07:43 PM
 
To update from 10.3.x to 10.4.x you'llneed to buy the software. Once you've got 10.4 installed you'll need to download the combo updater from Apple. You should be able to download the image on your pc and burn it to a cd and the expand the image on your mac. Why not just hook the Mac up to the internet? Regardless there is no free update from 10.3 to 10.4. It would be like a free update from Win 2000 to Win XP....see? Major updates aren't free.
Never argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.
     
Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 27, 2006, 07:47 PM
 
Originally Posted by Vette Queen View Post
thanks.. where do I get the upgrade that I need ?

and I havent got a clue as to what a "point update" is... do I need one now or should I wait till I get the other OS ?


(the questions arent gonna get any better)
Every version of OS X is 10.something. Going from 10.1 to 10.2 or 10.3 to 10.4 is a major update, and you have to buy those at the store. Going from 10.3.1 to 10.3.2 is just a minor update (also called a "point update," as in "three-point-two"), and those you can download through Software Update.
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
Vette Queen  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Orange County Calif
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 27, 2006, 07:47 PM
 
ah..ok.. I'm sorta getting it now. I dont think I can hook it up to the internet cuz I have cable and all I see in the back of this thing is a phone line hook up. (I'm getting a headache)

ok..dont tell me any more until I go get the new stuff I need. Do I have to delete the old OS and install the new one or is it a simple (please say yes) stick the disk and and hope it knows what to do situation ?
     
kmkkid
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brantford, ON. Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 27, 2006, 07:57 PM
 
Originally Posted by Vette Queen View Post
ah..ok.. I'm sorta getting it now. I dont think I can hook it up to the internet cuz I have cable and all I see in the back of this thing is a phone line hook up. (I'm getting a headache)

ok..dont tell me any more until I go get the new stuff I need. Do I have to delete the old OS and install the new one or is it a simple (please say yes) stick the disk and and hope it knows what to do situation ?
I'm pretty sure iMac G5's had ethernet & dial-up ports...
     
TETENAL
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: FFM
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 27, 2006, 08:15 PM
 
Every Mac has Ethernet where you can connect your cable modem to.

To upgrade from 10.3 to 10.4 you need to purchase Mac OS X 10.4, insert the DVD and follow the on-screen instructions. It is not necessary to erase the previous system to upgrade. It is simple.
     
Vette Queen  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Orange County Calif
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 27, 2006, 09:05 PM
 
Ok thanks guys ! I appreciate all the help. I"ll trek to the mall tomorrow and do the dumb blonde thing and see what I can get
     
peeb
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 27, 2006, 10:58 PM
 
Where do you live? It might be easier for you to take it to an Apple store, or contact a Mac Users Group near your area. Someone will most likely be happy to help you out with this.
     
peeb
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 27, 2006, 11:00 PM
 
Another quick question, why do you think you need to upgrade? Given what you are saying about your level of computer expertise, it may well be fine to leave the machine as it is unless something is not working for you.
     
cybergoober
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newport News, VA USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2006, 07:43 AM
 
To expand on peeb's last question, why specifically 10.4.3? Why not 10.4.8?

As TETENAL pointed out, every modern Mac should have an ethernet port. It will look like a phone line (modem) port, only bigger. It should have a symbol similar to this <···> printed near it.
( Last edited by cybergoober; Nov 29, 2006 at 01:26 PM. Reason: smaller - bigger)
     
romeosc
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Memphis, Tn. USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2006, 07:47 AM
 
Originally Posted by peeb View Post
Another quick question, why do you think you need to upgrade? Given what you are saying about your level of computer expertise, it may well be fine to leave the machine as it is unless something is not working for you.


I agree, wait until Leopard (10.5) is out in a few months. If you decide to get Tiger (10.4) instead it will be cheaper!

The added features for Tiger are not "to die" for until you get used to the iMac!
     
Vette Queen  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Orange County Calif
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 28, 2006, 11:58 AM
 
Ok I went to the Apple store last nite and got the 10.4. They said even I could install it.

I had to buy the 10.4 becuz some software I bought specifically calls for this OS.

Hope you guys dont sleep.... I'm gonna install it today
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 29, 2006, 09:43 AM
 
Oh we sleep, but we're on all sides of the globe, so you still have support most of the hours of the day...
     
analogika
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 888500128
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 29, 2006, 11:26 AM
 
24 hours later...

All going well over there?
     
TheIceMan
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Trapped in the depths of my mind
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 29, 2006, 12:17 PM
 
Originally Posted by P View Post
Oh we sleep, but we're on all sides of the globe, so you still have support most of the hours of the day...
This is so true!
     
Vette Queen  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Orange County Calif
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 29, 2006, 12:57 PM
 
Ok... I got the mac hooked up to the internet... it was way too easy

Put the disk in and just let it do its thing... it was WAAAAAAAAY too easy !

So far things seem to have gone well

Thanks for all your help ! I'm sure as I learn more I"ll be back for more dumb questions
     
- - e r i k - -
Posting Junkie
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 29, 2006, 02:45 PM
 
Man, maybe there is something to this ease-of-use thing after all

[ fb ] [ flickr ] [] [scl] [ last ] [ plaxo ]
     
analogika
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: 888500128
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Nov 29, 2006, 03:08 PM
 
Originally Posted by Vette Queen View Post
Ok... I got the mac hooked up to the internet... it was way too easy

Put the disk in and just let it do its thing... it was WAAAAAAAAY too easy !

So far things seem to have gone well

Thanks for all your help ! I'm sure as I learn more I"ll be back for more dumb questions
Welcome to Macintosh.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:07 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,