Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > iPhone, iPad & iPod > Aaaaaarrrrrrgggghhhhh!

Aaaaaarrrrrrgggghhhhh!
Thread Tools
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 11, 2015, 10:26 PM
 
There's no other term for it.

That thing where Safari moves the page under your finger right when you tap.

It's driving me batshit.
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 12, 2015, 07:41 PM
 
I have it happen with Chrome too. Like just now, trying to click on THIS thread...

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
cvela
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 12, 2015, 10:55 PM
 
I am not sure what you mean by move the page but based on the other answer it sounds like some of the gestures provided by MacOS . See under the system settings and turn some off to get the culprit.
     
msuper69
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Columbus, OH
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 13, 2015, 08:51 AM
 
Or how Safari continually asks for login credentials for a website you've already logged into in another tab. Seems it wouldn't be that difficult to check if you've already logged in.
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 13, 2015, 09:01 AM
 
Originally Posted by cvela View Post
I am not sure what you mean by move the page but based on the other answer it sounds like some of the gestures provided by MacOS . See under the system settings and turn some off to get the culprit.
This is the iOS Forum.

When you go back and forth between links, like on this forum, Mobile Safari will load the page, and then delay just a second or so before suddenly scrolling the page to where you were before, or making room for a banner or something.

That delay is just long enough to make you tap the screen, only to find that the page has shifted beneath your finger as you tapped, and you've tapped the wrong link.

Annoying.
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 13, 2015, 07:55 PM
 
I can't believe how crappy mobile Safari still is.

Constant reloads. Erratic behavior going back. Crashes. Slow.

WTF ?

-t
     
ctt1wbw
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Suffolk, VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 14, 2015, 08:49 AM
 
Don't browsers reload the page when you go back to it?
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 14, 2015, 09:25 AM
 
Not necessarily. If it's in the cache, the browser will render it from that. Of course mobile Safari doesn't have a cache, which is the problem.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 14, 2015, 05:39 PM
 
Exactly. I got f$&&ing 64GB in RAM. Can I just use 5% of it for a cache, dadgumit.

-t
     
subego  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 15, 2015, 07:25 AM
 
That's not RAM. The 6 has a whopping 1GB and doesn't do virtual memory.

RAM takes juice. The 64GB is flash memory.
     
subego  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 15, 2015, 08:00 AM
 
As an aside, this was why some said 64-bit iOS isn't helping. Twice the bits, twice the RAM.

As I said, RAM takes juice.

What's the number one complaint about the iPhone? Dinky battery.
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 15, 2015, 09:10 AM
 
Originally Posted by subego View Post
As an aside, this was why some said 64-bit iOS isn't helping. Twice the bits, twice the RAM.
As far as I know, that's not how it works.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 15, 2015, 10:01 AM
 
Well, the pointers are twice as long, so that takes more RAM (and cache space), but you can't say that it's a straight doubling of all data.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
subego  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 15, 2015, 11:02 AM
 
I went overboard with the oversimplification.
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 19, 2015, 11:50 AM
 
Originally Posted by subego View Post
That's not RAM. The 6 has a whopping 1GB and doesn't do virtual memory.

RAM takes juice. The 64GB is flash memory.
I really don't care about the technical details.

Apple just needs to make it work, for Pete's sakes.
There is more than enough RAM space available.

-t
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 20, 2015, 03:04 AM
 
Hell yeah you'll care about the technical details if Apple needs to add a spinning beachball to iOS because you insist on paging out to low-power Flash two orders of magnitude slower than RAM.

Reloading is probably faster - or rather, has the same effect, and is far simpler to handle.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 20, 2015, 08:27 AM
 
When reloading, it shows that spinning wheel in the status bar. How is showing that same thing when reading from cache any different?
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 20, 2015, 11:11 AM
 
Originally Posted by Spheric Harlot View Post
Hell yeah you'll care about the technical details if Apple needs to add a spinning beachball to iOS because you insist on paging out to low-power Flash two orders of magnitude slower than RAM.

Reloading is probably faster - or rather, has the same effect, and is far simpler to handle.
You have got to be kidding me.

You really think paging to Flash will take as long as reloading the page from teh intarwebs?

See, the problem with reloads is especially dire if you are on a slow / congested network.
Your pipe to Flash will not be congested.

-t
     
subego  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 20, 2015, 05:23 PM
 
A slow network which I'll note you're being charged for by the bit.
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 21, 2015, 10:40 AM
 
It seems to me that the biggest reason Safari (and Chrome) give us this aggravating behavior is that certain web pages are coded to load ads in specific places, but they don't necessarily ensure that the space for those ads is set up (blank, ready for the ad) when the rest of the page renders. That's what I see when the page "jumps" while I'm about to click on a link. And it happens in OS X as well, but we don't see it as often because we either have ad blockers running, or we have faster network connections, or both.

Until I installed Chrome on my new 13" MBP (YAY ME!!!), Safari jumped every time I changed pages on 'NN. Chrome automatically installed AdBlocker (because I run that on my iMac), and I haven't seen a page jump in Chrome (OS X) yet.

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
subego  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 21, 2015, 12:07 PM
 
Originally Posted by ghporter View Post
It seems to me that the biggest reason Safari (and Chrome) give us this aggravating behavior is that certain web pages are coded to load ads in specific places, but they don't necessarily ensure that the space for those ads is set up (blank, ready for the ad) when the rest of the page renders.
Oh, you mean like these forums right here?
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 21, 2015, 05:16 PM
 
Yes indeed. That top banner ad kills page load time, but only for that ad. Everything else loads quite fast, but the ad at the top is what messes everything else up. I posted a thread in Feedback about a specific ad that I noticed was doing this, but later it turned out to be everything that uses that ad space. I suspect that we have a different service filling that ad space, and they are "suboptimal" in terms of filling it in a timely manner. Did I say that nicely?

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
subego  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 25, 2015, 11:19 PM
 
Here's the thing...

This site hasn't changed in ages. I've been using the site almost exclusively in mobile Safari since the iPhone 4.

This didn't used to happen.

I know this because I keep hitting the frigging "Expanded User Profile" thread in the lounge. I had forgotten it existed until very recently.
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 28, 2015, 08:58 AM
 
As I said, I think the company that fills that ad space has changed. Not the site, just the source for those ads. And they're doing it wrong, or we wouldn't have these page-shift-at-the-worst-moment issues.

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 28, 2015, 09:12 AM
 
Are they also doing the redirects and overlays? Nice.
     
subego  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 28, 2015, 11:24 AM
 
Originally Posted by ghporter View Post
As I said, I think the company that fills that ad space has changed. Not the site, just the source for those ads. And they're doing it wrong, or we wouldn't have these page-shift-at-the-worst-moment issues.
Haven't ads always taken forever to load?
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 28, 2015, 08:03 PM
 
Not as bad as now. The top banner has been slow at times, but it's been a lot better than it's been lately.

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
subego  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 29, 2015, 01:02 PM
 
Maybe this is the result of the lazy loading I kept stumping for.

Cure is almost worse than the disease.
     
cgc
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Down by the river
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 4, 2015, 01:43 PM
 
Originally Posted by msuper69 View Post
Or how Safari continually asks for login credentials for a website you've already logged into in another tab. Seems it wouldn't be that difficult to check if you've already logged in.
If you log in on another tab all you have to do is reload the page in the tab you didn't log in to yet and the cookie should be read, thus causing that tab to be logged in as well. It's annoying, but it's Apple so you gotta expect quirks.
"Like a midget at a urinal, I was going to have to stay on my toes." Frank Drebin, Naked Gun 33 1/3: The Final Insult
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,