Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > MBP

MBP
Thread Tools
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 23, 2017, 07:43 PM
 
After 6 years with old faithful, splurged on a shiny new 15" MacBook Pro for an upcoming project.

Initial observations...

It's skinny.
I like the glowy thing.
Is that a trackpad in your pocket? Jesus Christ.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 24, 2017, 05:24 AM
 
The trackpad is almost too big...
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
subego  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 25, 2017, 04:42 AM
 
It certainly looks too big, but I'm definitely not minding so far use-wise.

TouchID doesn't work well with my sweaty digits, so I didn't have high hopes. With two attempts, it's batting .500.
     
OreoCookie
Moderator
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hilbert space
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 25, 2017, 07:12 PM
 
Originally Posted by P View Post
The trackpad is almost too big...
Yeah, I never thought my 2015's trackpad was too small and the Magic Trackpad 2 seems too big — I don't use the whole surface.

@subego
How do you like the keyboard?
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
     
subego  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 26, 2017, 01:26 AM
 
I'm shocked how much I like it for how little travel it has.
     
subego  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 27, 2017, 06:22 AM
 
As annoying as it was to buy Tbolt adapters, the packaging is nifty.
     
subego  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 3, 2017, 01:40 PM
 
I know they're overpriced, but Apple really does put screamers in these things.

     
And.reg
The Mighty
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Well the sports issue was within arm's reach but they closed up shop and kicked me out. And I'm out of toilet paper.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 4, 2017, 04:28 PM
 
Lately Samsung's SSDs have been world class.

How are you adapting to the computer basically turning itself on when you open the lid?
This one time, at Boot Camp, I stuck a flute up my PC.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 4, 2017, 04:56 PM
 
Not sure who makes the flash in Apple's drives, but the controllers are Apple's own, and they test a hair better than Samsung's. It doesn't matter much, though - on high queue depths they're limited by PCIe 3.0 x4, and on lower depths you're likely not loading the drive enough notice when it is bottlenecking you.

The laptop indeed turns itself on when you open the lid, but it is only because I know that from reviews that it is something I've noticed. I never turn off my laptop otherwise, so "open lid" just means "wake from sleep" to me. I guess it is probably more logical this way, that the computer turns itself on when you open the lid no matter the previous state.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 4, 2017, 06:20 PM
 
Yep. No real difference between waking from deep sleep, booting after a power-nap-installed update, or just plain waking. The only thing that irritates me is when it requires me to enter my password, rather than unlocking via Touch ID or the Apple Watch.
     
subego  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 4, 2017, 06:58 PM
 
Originally Posted by P View Post
The laptop indeed turns itself on when you open the lid, but it is only because I know that from reviews that it is something I've noticed.
Yeah... mine's been on since I got it, so I wasn't sure what he meant.
     
subego  (op)
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 4, 2017, 09:58 PM
 
@And.reg

Sorry... that unintentionally came off as a weird snub.
     
And.reg
The Mighty
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Well the sports issue was within arm's reach but they closed up shop and kicked me out. And I'm out of toilet paper.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 18, 2017, 04:23 PM
 
So, how is the discrete GPU working for you? For instance, if you're watching a bunch of videos in Safari or zooming around in 3D in Apple Maps or Chrome, does your laptop use the dGPU, and does it get real hot? Do the fans get loud as well? What if you're using an external monitor? The other thing is for apps that use the dGPU, does the dGPU always stay used even if you're not doing any intensive editing while the app is open?
This one time, at Boot Camp, I stuck a flute up my PC.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 19, 2017, 05:19 AM
 
There are indications that the 15" will throttle when both CPU and GPU are loaded down. The 15" has essentially the same cooling capacity as the 13" with Touchbar (two fans, two radiators on two heatsinks. The 15" fans are 4 mm bigger, that's all) despite having three times the TDP to handle. The only way that works is if Apple calculated the cooling system based on not both the CPU and the GPU hitting peak at the same time.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:46 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2015 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,