Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Networking > server connection dropping AEBS

server connection dropping AEBS
Thread Tools
TankCdr
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Where Ordered
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 27, 2007, 09:35 PM
 
Since upgrading my base station to an Extreme, I am having problems maintaining server connections with a variety of websites (MSNBC, AMEX, Home Depot, AKO, etc. etc.) I can often get the initial page to load but when I click deeper (secure and unsecure alike), the page attempts to load for a few minutes and I get the following message, "The server timed out while waiting for the browser's request. Reference #2.e24f648.1183338160.0"

All three Macs on my home wireless network share the same problem. If I connect a mac directly to my DSL modem via an ethernet cable, everything works as it should. I never had this problem using my old graphite basestation. Any suggestions?
VJT

Primary Machine: Powerbook G4 15in/
1.5ghz/1gig RAM/80 GBHD/OS X Panther
     
TankCdr  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Where Ordered
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 29, 2007, 05:49 PM
 
Some additional info... the problem is absolutely isolated to the Extreme Base Station. I cannot reproduce the problem using my Graphite Base Station, my Airport Express, or direct ethernet connection to my DSL modem.

I've done all the obvious things, all system software and device firmware are up to date and I've reinstalled the Airport software that came with the Extreme Base Station.

Still hoping for some good ideas...
VJT

Primary Machine: Powerbook G4 15in/
1.5ghz/1gig RAM/80 GBHD/OS X Panther
     
ghporter
Administrator
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 29, 2007, 09:08 PM
 
Tried a hard reset of the Base Station? You'll have to configure it again, but you're already having to mess with it.

Glenn -----OTR/L, MOT, Tx
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:42 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,