Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Laserdisc

Laserdisc
Goldfinger
Professional Poster
Dec 6, 2004, 10:29 AM

Hello there, I have this weird obsession with old (and new) A/V equipment. But the thing is that I'm an 18 year old student so I don't have a lot of money to blow so I haven't really got to buying more than an LP. I wan't to buy a high end cassette deck (I've been cassette-less for years), a DAT-deck, maybe a DCC-deck, a CD-R deck, A high end VCR, Betamax deck and ultimately a DV-deck (but they are still lot's of ���). Now I recently went to babysit my little nephews and nieces at my uncles place and they still had a Sony Laserdisc player with some Laserdiscs. Something really special over here in Europe since LD never catched on here. Now would it be worth it to spend some money on LD ? Are there a lot of titles available on LD that aren't available on DVD ? My main purpose for LD would be just for fun, I love those big discs
I'm going to have start thinking about a way to add more inputs to my amp tough since my 6 inputs are all used (Tuner, DVD, MiniDisc, CD, Computer, Phono).

iMac 20" C2D 2.16 | Acer Aspire One | Flickr

macroy
Mac Elite
Dec 6, 2004, 10:37 AM

We used to have a LD player. I actually still have all the LD's from back then. Been looking for a player.. but at $500+ each..not sure its worth it. The only collection I have that I like to see is the Ultimate Collection for Star Wars.

Now that you reminded me, I may have to hit my parents up and see if they till have their player.

Goldfinger  (op)
Professional Poster
Dec 6, 2004, 10:51 AM

Yeah well, you can get the players for less than �100 on ebay..

starman
Clinically Insane