Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Applications > Safari Isn't letting me copy internet pictures

Safari Isn't letting me copy internet pictures
Thread Tools
Reggie Fowler
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 10, 2005, 09:23 PM
 
I am unable to drag and drop 'some' internet pictures onto the desktop (using Safari). I always was able to in the past, but recently i can't save internet pictures to the desktop.

This link is a perfect example.
http://www.macdesktops.com/images/12...l1280x1024.jpg

Does anyone know a solution to this problem?
( Last edited by Reggie Fowler; Mar 10, 2005 at 09:32 PM. )
     
chabig
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Las Vegas, NV, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 10, 2005, 09:49 PM
 
Check the permissions on your Desktop folder. Maybe you don't have write privileges.

Chris
     
Randman
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 10, 2005, 09:57 PM
 
Worked fine for me. Can you use control-click and see what happpens?

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
Reggie Fowler  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 10, 2005, 10:29 PM
 
When i do a control-click, nothing happens. When i drag and drop nothing happens.

It has nothing to do with the Desktop.

Normally when you drag a picture, a little image is created (of the item to be copied). That doesn't happen. Nothing happens.

But i can take the MacNN icon on the top of this page and drag that perfectly fine.
So it's only 'some' images.

Know any workarounds?
     
mitchell_pgh
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Washington, DC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 10, 2005, 10:55 PM
 
did you try save as?
     
Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 10, 2005, 11:14 PM
 
Do you have any haxies or extensions installed?
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
chabig
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Las Vegas, NV, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 10, 2005, 11:16 PM
 
The example you offered worked perfectly for me. I'd be tempted to restart the machine and see what happens. If that doesn't work I'd delete com.apple.Safari.plist from your Library.

Chris
     
Gavin
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Seattle
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 11, 2005, 06:16 AM
 
It could be a background image. It's a trick some web designers use to keep people from easily snarfing the pix.

When you right click on it does it give you the image options?

You can open the activity window. It lists all the items on a page, double click the pic to open it in it's own window. Or you can do it manually, view the page source and get the picture's url that way.

Or use firefox or OmniWeb, they have easier ways of listing and manipulating the elements of a page.
     
Reggie Fowler  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 11, 2005, 09:11 AM
 
I deleted the plist. Still nothing.
I can't do a Save-As. No boxes appear when i control-click.

i may have installed an extension along the way, but i'm not sure which one would be causing this problem.
     
cambro
Senior User
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Laurentia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 11, 2005, 11:23 AM
 
If you are unable to copy only some pictures, then it is something about the "some" pictures and the way they are served to your browser, not some fault on your machine.

I've seen this before, but I can't remember right off hand why this happens.

EDIT::
But now I see your link works fine in Safari for me!!! Oops.
     
Finrock
Forum Regular
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Tampa, Florida
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 11, 2005, 12:04 PM
 
I had a similar problem that I believe was resolved by one of the following things:

1. Repairing permissions
2. Making sure there is enough available disk space
3. Cleaning out the /tmp directory - this seems to solve a lot of problems
Two atoms were talking one day. One atom said to the other "you know, I think I've lost some electrons." The other atom said "are you sure?" The atom said "yeah, I'm positive." www.thisoldpodcast.com
     
Reggie Fowler  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Mar 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 12, 2005, 11:29 AM
 
how do i clean out the /tmp directory?
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:11 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,