Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Gaming > Need help running .bat file through Terminal

Need help running .bat file through Terminal
Thread Tools
Rockdude1337
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2009
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 8, 2009, 04:08 PM
 
i forgot how to run .bat files through terminal and i need help with one for gaming. the download is from rsbot.org and when you download and open the file, the one i need to run is play.bat i've done this before so i know it works, but i havent tried for a while

thanks - Rockdude1337
     
Rockdude1337  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2009
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 8, 2009, 04:10 PM
 
it says:
@ECHO OFF

IF NOT EXIST out CALL Compile.bat /Q

IF DEFINED RSBOT_MODE (
mode=%RSBOT_MODE%
) ELSE (
SET mode=member
)

IF "%1"=="/F" SET mode=nonmember

START /BELOWNORMAL javaw -Djava.util.logging.config.file=Bot\logging.propert ies -cp out;rs.jar -Xmx256m com.speljohan.rsbot.Application %mode%



when i open with text edit
     
Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 8, 2009, 04:57 PM
 
That's a DOS file. It won't run on a Unix OS like OS X.
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
Rockdude1337  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2009
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 8, 2009, 05:06 PM
 
thats weird... because i've done this before i just forgot the code in Terminal.
     
Rockdude1337  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2009
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 8, 2009, 10:00 PM
 
anyone else able to help?
     
Chuckit
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 8, 2009, 10:42 PM
 
I'm sorry, but you're mistaken. Looking at the file's contents that you posted, that is very clearly a DOS file. If you've successfully run a file with .bat as the extension before on Mac OS X, it was mislabeled. You'd be better off trying to find correct instructions to run whatever this is on a Linux/Unix system.
Chuck
___
"Instead of either 'multi-talented' or 'multitalented' use 'bisexual'."
     
Rockdude1337  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2009
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 9, 2009, 04:13 AM
 
well i was able to run
start javaw -cp Bot;rs.jar;svnkit.jar -Xmx256m
com.speljohan.rsbot.Application GUIController member

which did the exact same task on the oudated version of this
     
mduell
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 9, 2009, 05:50 PM
 
What's with the wave of "I want to run java apps from batch files" lately? A bunch of people in the same CS class?
     
shifuimam
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The deep backwoods of the PNW
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 10, 2009, 10:41 AM
 
i would imagine because it's faster to have a one-click script rather than typing out your java commands by hand every time.
Sell or send me your vintage Mac things if you don't want them.
     
Rockdude1337  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2009
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 10, 2009, 11:42 AM
 
ok it just got updated at rsbot.org
but i opened it with text edit and it looks like this now:
@CALL Play.bat /F

and thats all it says.. can u help with this?
     
msuper69
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Columbus, OH
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 10, 2009, 04:48 PM
 
Originally Posted by Rockdude1337 View Post
ok it just got updated at rsbot.org
but i opened it with text edit and it looks like this now:
@CALL Play.bat /F

and thats all it says.. can u help with this?
Sigh.

It's another DOS batch file that calls another batch file.

Try posting your inquiries in the Alternative Operating System forum or better yet on a Windows help forum.

     
Rockdude1337  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2009
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 11, 2009, 01:44 AM
 
is:
start javaw -cp Bot;rs.jar;svnkit.jar -Xmx256m com.speljohan.rsbot.Application GUIController nonmembers

any different?
     
shifuimam
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The deep backwoods of the PNW
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 11, 2009, 07:51 AM
 
This is what you ran before:

Code:
start javaw -cp Bot;rs.jar;svnkit.jar -Xmx256m com.speljohan.rsbot.Application GUIController member
This is what you just posted:

Code:
start javaw -cp Bot;rs.jar;svnkit.jar -Xmx256m com.speljohan.rsbot.Application GUIController nonmembers
They are not identical. Look at the end.

A batch file is a DOS/Windows-compatible file that allows you to script and run commands that you would normally run from a command prompt (aka DOS prompt).

You cannot run batch files in OS X. Period.

The "start javaw" stuff you've been pasting are commands to run various Java files through the JVM installed on your machine. These commands are platform-independent.

You're not going to get the help you need on this forum. Have you tried asking on rsbot's own official forum?
Sell or send me your vintage Mac things if you don't want them.
     
Rockdude1337  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2009
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 11, 2009, 03:53 PM
 
both:
tart javaw -cp Bot;rs.jar;svnkit.jar -Xmx256m com.speljohan.rsbot.Application GUIController member
and
start javaw -cp Bot;rs.jar;svnkit.jar -Xmx256m com.speljohan.rsbot.Application GUIController nonmembers

i have ran using terminal i got them to work and launch the program properly, they are just from the oudated version in order to run i would type in Terminal
cd desktop/rsbot(folder name)
*return*
sh Compile.sh
*return*
cd desktop/rsbot
*return*
sh RunMembers.sh

and it would launch
     
warpmoon
Forum Regular
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The dark side of the moon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 13, 2009, 10:50 PM
 
I don't play Runescape much less use a bot for it, but spending a minute looking at rsbot.org I see they have a search function, I suggest you search for "mac" there and perhaps you will find people discussing how to get it to work.
     
   
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:56 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,