Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > Yosemite as a server

Yosemite as a server
TimmyDee51
Mac Elite
Sep 4, 2004, 02:39 AM

I'm working on setting up an old B&W G3 350 MHz I have as a simple server -- maybe some web, definitely some WebDAV, and maybe some FTP along with firewall and DHCP for my house. I have OS X Server for it, so a lot of this will be pretty straight forward (I have some experience in the Xserve field). Pretty much all I'm missing is a second ethernet card so I can handle the DHCP and firewall side of things. I know there was a list of B&W compatible (or friendly) NICs, but I can't seem to find it. Any suggestions?

Oh, and I realize there are probably going to be quips about this being overkill, which I fully realize. That's the point.
Per Square Mile | A blog about density

OreoCookie
Sep 4, 2004, 11:14 AM

From the OpenDarwin site:

Intel 8255x 10/100 ethernet controllers are supported.
3Com 905cXXX based ethernet controllers are supported.
Tulip based ethernet controllers are supported.
Possibly others are supported as well, but these should work in any case since Darwin is the OS foundation of OS X.
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.

bighead
Senior User
Sep 4, 2004, 11:25 AM

I have several of the ZX345 cards that I bought from WeirdStuff.com a while back. I've used them in everything from 9500s to my Dual 500 and now I have one in my Dual 1.25 tower. The information page is here:

http://www.znyx.com/support/legacy/zx340.htm