Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Gaming > Minecraft

Minecraft (Page 91)
Thread Tools
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 7, 2015, 08:33 PM
 
Originally Posted by sek929 View Post
Holy christ I finally got it working.

So even after installing the JRE and JDK my system was still defaulting to a version 6 executable file when trying to run forge, instead of installing the new JDK 7 over the previous version, it installed it in another location entirely. Original was system/library/etc.. new version was just /library/etc... So I changed the executable file path in the launcher (vanilla launcher) and BAM, she loaded.

That was a pain in the ass of epic proportions. There's a way to use the terminal to set the default JDK version, but that has no bearing on what the Minecraft launcher remembers apparently.
same issue here, although I can get attack of the bteam to run.
     
cycl0pse
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 9, 2015, 11:56 AM
 
Unfortunately I'm not sure how to troubleshoot the Java side of this. If you want to try sek's solution I do provide a link to a zip file containing the mods we're using. You just need to load forge yourself, add the mods, and go.
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 9, 2015, 10:37 PM
 
Originally Posted by andi*pandi View Post
same issue here, although I can get attack of the bteam to run.
Using the Terminal.app run
java -version
so see what the default is if it's not 1.7.
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 11, 2015, 05:55 PM
 
terminal sez:

java version "1.6.0_65"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_65-b14-462-11M4609)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.65-b04-462, mixed mode)

system preferences sez I have 1.8 installed v 40
(build 1.8.0_40-b27)
but it seems to be only a web plugin? nothing in the settings seems to allow for non internet java apps.

going to install the sdk, it says 10.8 required, only have 10.7.5. Hmm.

I prob have to do what sek did and repoint something in the something something.
( Last edited by andi*pandi; Apr 11, 2015 at 06:16 PM. )
     
sek929
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 11, 2015, 07:36 PM
 
Use the vanilla launcher.

Just download the link CY posted, copy the contents of the "mods" folder into the mods folder for the vanilla launcher (library/application support/minecraft). Locate where the newer version of java resides on your machine and change the file path under "edit profile" in the launcher.

For example my 1.7 Java is at /Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/jdk1.7.0_80.jdk/Contents/Home/bin/java

Launch the game and everything should work.

Classist bigot and incurable ideologue
     
cycl0pse
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 13, 2015, 12:06 AM
 
To add to what SEK said above, I've noticed the latest Technic launcher has caused a lot of client-side memory issues. The vanilla launcher setup for Forge does much better in that regard.

I'll keep posting it both ways when I make updates, but I endorse the vanilla launcher more than technic at this point.

cycl0pse

PS: if you haven't tinkered with Pistronics II you really need to
     
cycl0pse
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 20, 2015, 02:00 PM
 
For those on the server....
There's now a 'water tower' structure between Blaze's and Sek's that I've created as a mob grinder. Currently it grinds skeletons and zombies. I'm still tinkering with the design to improve efficiency (and some aesthetics are causing more harm than good, but such is life) but for now it does put out a decent amount of mobs to slaughter. It's a basic fall grinder that drops the HP to about 3-6 left per mob.

cycl0pse
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 20, 2015, 07:39 PM
 
Originally Posted by cycl0pse View Post
For those on the server....
There's now a 'water tower' structure between Blaze's and Sek's that I've created as a mob grinder. Currently it grinds skeletons and zombies. I'm still tinkering with the design to improve efficiency (and some aesthetics are causing more harm than good, but such is life) but for now it does put out a decent amount of mobs to slaughter. It's a basic fall grinder that drops the HP to about 3-6 left per mob.

cycl0pse
Are you taking donations? I know of a few spawners to add. There's a dungeon in the water to the east of you're starter base that has a few more skeleton spawners. I have a scythe to donate too.
     
cycl0pse
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 20, 2015, 08:34 PM
 
just give me long enough to make a fancy ladder to get in and yes, I'm accepting donation. I have two of each right now.
     
cycl0pse
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 26, 2015, 12:00 AM
 
FYI: I've started working on high speed rail lines in the tunnels. No signaling is in place to prevent collisions so use caution, but it does cut down on the travel time for those of us who don't fly...

cycl0pse
     
cycl0pse
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 11, 2015, 10:01 PM
 
NOTICE
Thunderstorm took out the power tonight. Server is down. It should have powered back up automatically, but didn't. I'm not home (got an e-mail about it from the router) so it's probably down for the night. I'll let everyone know what happened.

(note to self: replace UPS)

cycl0pse
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 13, 2015, 04:37 PM
 
In Vanilla, all the nether portals except Blaze's are turned off. Will it mess anything up if I turn some back on? not sure how to get other places without em!
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 14, 2015, 05:30 PM
 
As long as you manually light both portals then they will go were they are supposed to. Otherwise the game searches for the closest or creates one.

I lit most of the portals in the nether.
( Last edited by BLAZE_MkIV; May 15, 2015 at 12:30 AM. )
     
cycl0pse
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 17, 2015, 11:27 AM
 
SERVER GOING DOWN

I have to do some electrical work and need to cut power. Should be back on if a few hours.

<edit>
SERVER BACK ONLINE

electrical work is all done. (grumble stupid GFI)
( Last edited by cycl0pse; May 17, 2015 at 02:10 PM. )
     
cycl0pse
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 16, 2015, 05:21 PM
 
For those that may not have seen this yet:
Meet Microsoft HoloLens' killer app: Minecraft - CNET
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 16, 2015, 05:34 PM
 
whoa.
     
cycl0pse
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 19, 2015, 05:36 PM
 
just in case anyone tried to get on lately, I had some serious flooding in the basement in June. Since then I've had all kinds of issues with the server. Once I deal with all the damage I'll get things squared away on it, but for now it may be up or down randomly.

cycl0pse
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 3, 2016, 05:03 PM
 
Kids purchased Minecraft Story Mode for PS4. Interesting, like a choose your own adventure/movie, with a little fighting/crafting in. I thought it would be more of an adventure map, but they are enjoying it.

I pop into the old world here and there just to play with new ores.
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 4, 2016, 03:39 PM
 
I watched someone stream that for a bit and stopped.

I may have to give the old server some TLC then. Maybe look into updating it to the newer version. I guess it's a good thing we never went to the end with the recent changes they made.
I must confess I have been mostly playing an FTB Infinity Expert single player world. That seems like the pack dejour.
     
cycl0pse
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 4, 2016, 09:55 PM
 
(looks around)
Not dead, really busy but not dead.

Blaze, is the old server still up? On a lark I tried to get on it today and the host name isn't resolving.

cycl0pse
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 5, 2016, 04:30 PM
 
Its back up, still on 1.8.4

BLAZE
( Last edited by BLAZE_MkIV; Feb 6, 2016 at 01:36 PM. )
     
cycl0pse
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 6, 2016, 02:38 PM
 
hmmm... still can't resolve the hostname. can't even ping it. I'm still using blazemkiv.dyndns.org. Has it changed?
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 2, 2016, 11:56 AM
 
1.9 is out, and it's weird. Both left AND right hands? CRAZY. I dislike the cooldown on attacks, takes too long to kill a monster.

I was excited about wings, but a) sounds like they are so rare that why bother, b) they are really just gliders not for flying.

The new end world looks suspiciously like a Twilight Forest Liche Tower.

Anyone want to respawn the dragon in Blaze's world and check out the new end world?
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 9, 2016, 11:34 PM
 
I updated the server to 1.9. No one probably remembers but we never went to The End on the server. I built a ruined tower as an entrance to The End though. I did get an extra 10 fps.
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 10, 2016, 03:25 PM
 
that's right! We went to the end on Cyclopse's server. There were colorful portals there and back to save on hiking.
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 17, 2016, 10:54 PM
 
So I found this

While looking for this

Came back with a few of these
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 22, 2016, 05:14 PM
 
Cool. Which direction did you go? I tried heading south, wayy south, but died before I got anywhere too interesting... Had a miserable time getting back home. Going to head out again, maybe northeast, with a full stock of armor and arrows. New skelly AI is vicous.
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 22, 2016, 09:01 PM
 
Originally Posted by andi*pandi View Post
Cool. Which direction did you go? I tried heading south, wayy south, but died before I got anywhere too interesting... Had a miserable time getting back home. Going to head out again, maybe northeast, with a full stock of armor and arrows. New skelly AI is vicous.
NE-ish. I made a nether portal to the packed ice biome. Starting from my portal in the nether you go left across the bridge and up onto the nether fortress. Go all the way to the other side of the fortress and turn right. Thirty or so blocks back I placed some packed ice down at the fork in the torch trail.
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 23, 2016, 01:10 AM
 
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 26, 2016, 11:38 PM
 
Spent a few says trading and feeding the villagers near spawn. Then spent all my emeralds.

     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Mar 28, 2016, 07:04 PM
 
that. is. awesome.
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 7, 2016, 12:06 AM
 
Another in progress shot. Had to fisheye the "camera" a bit.
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 16, 2016, 12:31 PM
 
any thoughts on new update? polar bears are cool. Had mixed thoughts on new "autojump" feature:

+ less carpal tunnel from mashing the space bar all the time
+ less wear and tear on actual space bar
+ easier

- seems lazy
- super lazy
- seems like you could accidently run yourself into some lava
     
sek929
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 5, 2016, 01:21 PM
 
So I randomly felt the Minecraft itch again.

Any word on the newest Polyphemus server status? Even if cy can't host it anymore I would really appreciate a world download just to tinker around in.

Classist bigot and incurable ideologue
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 6, 2016, 09:27 AM
 
I'm still working my way thru an FTB infinity sky block on expert. I'm dreading replacing all my logistics pipes with AE. Kind of need to for the higher crafting speed though.
     
sek929
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 6, 2016, 06:16 PM
 
Unfortunately the only new-er mod pack I could run at a decent FPS/draw distance is FTB Lite 3. Everything in the Tekkit launcher runs with horrendous input lag and awful FPS for some reason.

Classist bigot and incurable ideologue
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 25, 2016, 04:38 PM
 
I would love to play in a world together again. I am suffering from "restart boredom" however, as the last few worlds I've been on with kids and local friends, just as I build up enough of an ore to build something magnificent, they get bored and start over.

So I would suggest in any new world having a few goody chests as a treasure hunt, or outright "you've logged in, here have 4 stacks of marble and iron armor."

Maybe I'll get around to setting up my new-old machine for less lag.
     
sek929
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 28, 2016, 10:35 PM
 
I'm always up for some NN server action.

Problem is I have no idea what modpacks my aging iMac can even run at this point. Vanilla still seems to run pretty well for me.

Classist bigot and incurable ideologue
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 6, 2016, 02:15 PM
 
Even playing a map could be fun.

Captive Minecraft I — The Farlanders
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 18, 2017, 05:03 PM
 
Did I hear someone say minecraft? Apparently there's Llamas now. And creepy forest villagers.
     
sek929
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 18, 2017, 06:09 PM
 
Originally Posted by andi*pandi View Post
Did I hear someone say minecraft?


We talkin' bout MInecraft now?

Classist bigot and incurable ideologue
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 18, 2017, 07:43 PM
 
I've actually taken the step to download mods.
     
andi*pandi
Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: inside 128, north of 90
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 19, 2017, 04:29 PM
 
excellent. I still think that best minecraft is modded minecraft. NEI mod especially.
     
cycl0pse
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 19, 2017, 09:18 PM
 
I started playing again, too. Don't have a server anymore but playing...

might be time to look into off-site hosting. Or realms.
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 21, 2017, 09:16 AM
 
I'm playing Age Of Engineering at the moment.
     
cycl0pse
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 22, 2017, 12:04 AM
 
Originally Posted by BLAZE_MkIV View Post
I'm playing Age Of Engineering at the moment.
I just took a look at that. Seems like it's pretty intense on the tech tree but the reward system makes it more suitable for solo play than group play.

I did some poking around and it looks like shared server space is relatively cheap. Something on the order of $5 a month for a 12 user instance. That's less than the electric bill hit I'd take if I fired up either of my servers, and I don't have to worry about pesky things like backups and power outages.

The question is, what pack would we want to play? Most of the servers are compatible out of the box with just about any technic pack. Haven't done a deep dive into it yet but pretty sure we could get something working if there is interest.
     
Jawbone54
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Louisiana
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 24, 2017, 04:40 PM
 
I'll pay for half of the bill (PayPal?) if you decide to go that route, just to give folks even less of an excuse to not hop on.

I love solo Minecraft, but there's nothing like walking around and seeing what others have been up to.
     
The Final Dakar
Games Meister
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eternity
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 24, 2017, 04:55 PM
 
Yeah showing off is where it's at. I'll probably post some pics soonish
     
cycl0pse
Senior User
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western Pennsylvania
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 25, 2017, 07:46 PM
 
Before anyone else talks money: not really worried about that.

I'm past the "do I want to do this" phase and into the "how and with what pack" phase. I miss having the server but I don't miss having one at the house so hosted it is. The big deal is the more mods we want the more memory we'll need. So we need to come up rather quickly with what we want. I'd prefer using a pre-built pack so it's easy for everyone to get the mods on their computers and onto the server. I tend to be a builder/ explorer so as long as we have some cool blocks I'm happy. I do know from experience that some mods (I"m looking at you, Twilight Forest) are more intensive than others.

So what suggestions does everyone have so I can play-test it to see memory requirements? I do know the server will have a few ground rules:

1- We don't to PvP unless it's accidental (or we decide to setup a gladiator ring) and we never Grief unless you count the occasional Christmas tree
2- We have to limit the speed of loading chunks, so flying might be disabled.
3- Family friendly tone, if we can manage it.

With those in mind, thoughts?

-cycl0pse
     
Jawbone54
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Louisiana
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 26, 2017, 12:03 AM
 
Originally Posted by cycl0pse View Post
1- We don't to PvP unless it's accidental (or we decide to setup a gladiator ring) and we never Grief unless you count the occasional Christmas tree


2- We have to limit the speed of loading chunks, so flying might be disabled.
Also

3- Family friendly tone, if we can manage it.
Well, there goes that fortress design...

But yeah, fine with me. I'm the man of the cloth around here, so my response is predictable.

With those in mind, thoughts?
You already said it:

I'd prefer using a pre-built pack so it's easy for everyone to get the mods on their computers and onto the server. I tend to be a builder/ explorer so as long as we have some cool blocks I'm happy.
Does anyone else want to use a custom texture pack so that viewing each others' creations results in a consistent experience, or would y'all prefer to leave that open-ended? I can't remember the last time I used the default skin, but I'm not opposed to it.
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:09 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,