Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Networking > Accessing networkshares

Accessing networkshares
Thread Tools
Alpha-sphere
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands (The Hague)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 17, 2003, 10:54 AM
 
I just got a 15" powerbook yesterday and i've been toying around with panther for a day now. I've been able to find the place for networkshares but the problem is that it takes forever for it to refresh. I just booted my Win machine to back some Anime up but when i look at the networkshares there's nothing. How can i make it refresh or search for networkshares?
Powered by a 15" alu powerbook superdrive
     
aaanorton
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 17, 2003, 01:06 PM
 
I got tired of all that refresh nonsense too. Sometimes I would get full lists of incorrect servers for a second, only to be replaced with the proper servers.
Now I just type in the IP I want in the Connect To Server box and add each as a Favorite Server (the little + button next to the IP field). This approach will also mount the server on your desktop and sidebar. Once there, you can make aliases and put then in the Finder's button bar or whatever. Of course, you'll need to have IPs assigned manually for this to stick, but that's not a big issue.
     
Alpha-sphere  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands (The Hague)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 17, 2003, 06:16 PM
 
Can you tell me where this "Connect To Server box" is located? Cause i've been going to my networkshares this way:
1. open finder window
2. click on Network icon above the HDD icon
3. Pray that'll show up

I remember reading somewhere that there's a little bug or something like it with something that concerns panthers network capabilities. Can't this be the little bug?
Powered by a 15" alu powerbook superdrive
     
chabig
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Las Vegas, NV, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 17, 2003, 06:21 PM
 
Go -> Connect to Server (or cmd-K)

Chris
     
aaanorton
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 17, 2003, 10:25 PM
 
Originally posted by chabig:
Go -> Connect to Server (or cmd-K)
...from the Finder.
But ya, what he said.
     
si_lance
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: SoCal
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 18, 2003, 12:37 AM
 
did you guys try giving the 'other" machine a static IP and put it in /etc/hosts? at worst at least you can put a friendly name in there instead of the IP. just a thought.
     
Alpha-sphere  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands (The Hague)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 2, 2004, 06:42 PM
 
Finder -> go -> connect to server doesn't work. When i enter the IP of my windows machine it says "no response from server"

And when i go to network in a finder window i can't see my windows pc anymore
I need to send some files over to my powerbook....
Powered by a 15" alu powerbook superdrive
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:46 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,