Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Notebooks > Just got my PowerBook now what

Just got my PowerBook now what
Thread Tools
BlakIce
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2004, 02:33 AM
 
I picked up my first apple product a 15in Powerbook, but its still a virgin has never had a disk inside her. is there any must have software or must have accessories, i plan on going to get another A/C cord and maybe a bluetooth mouse. what do you suggest
     
KraziKid
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Dec 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2004, 03:07 AM
 
When I was devirginized by getting my 17, this is what else I purchased after my PB came in:
Airport Extreme Base Station
.Mac
Extra AC adapter (one for travel, one for home)
Brenthaven Shoulder Case
Microsoft Office V.x
Virtual PC

When I ordered my powerbook online I got an extra battery, AppleCare.

I may get the Apple BlueTooth mouse, but currently I don't think I can justify 70 bucks for a one button mouse. Although this is the only one I can find that has an on/off switch so I may break down and get it.

All this has covered me well, and I have had no software issues yet. Also, if you are familiar with Linux programs, I would install Fink, because you will gain access to a very large number of Mac OS X ports (whether native of X11) for many Linux programs.

Have fun with your new PowerBook, and congratulations on your purchase.
15 inch MacBook Pro 2.16 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 7200 RPM 100GB HDD.

Dual 2.5 GHz Power Mac G5, 1 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, ATI Radeon X800XT.
     
BlakIce  (op)
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2004, 04:49 AM
 
i was transfering files from my server to my mac wirelessly it was going painfully slow so i turned off airport and plugged in my ethernet cord, not it says the connection to my server cant be found im sure this can be fixed by simply logging in again but i cant find anywhere to do this
     
Ω
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2004, 08:54 AM
 
Go to radtech.us and buy yourself a screensavRz.

Your keyboard will mark the screen over time - I just wish that I had bought mine when I first got my PB.
     
Icekey
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Nov 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2004, 12:35 PM
 
Or how about just using the sheet that came with the powerbook?
I want my mac NOW!
     
Alpha-sphere
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands (The Hague)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2004, 04:45 PM
 
Originally posted by _?_:
Go to radtech.us and buy yourself a screensavRz.

Your keyboard will mark the screen over time - I just wish that I had bought mine when I first got my PB.
Wich Pbook do you have? I though that it was only a problem with the Titanium Pbooks
Powered by a 15" alu powerbook superdrive
     
Judge_Fire
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2004, 06:16 PM
 
Here's a thread on favorite shareware at the Software forum.

Lotsa little gems there

J
     
all2ofme
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2004, 07:57 PM
 
As did I. I've had a 17" and a 12" PB since the 15" Ti I had a while ago and the two aluminium machines were perfect in this area.

Originally posted by Alpha-sphere:
Wich Pbook do you have? I though that it was only a problem with the Titanium Pbooks
     
chillinCHiEF
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Philadelphia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2004, 08:39 PM
 
I just got a 12" today, and this is my first Mac, so I'm in the same boat you are.
---------------------------------
12" Powerbook G4 (1Ghz)
my first mac :)
     
ASIMO
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SoCal
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 17, 2004, 09:19 PM
 
Originally posted by chillinCHiEF:
I just got a 12" today, and this is my first Mac, so I'm in the same boat you are.
Then perhaps a new signature is in order, too?

Welcome to all things Mac. You will likely enjoy your stay. Good choice for a first Mac, too. I have had mine for almost three months. Good 3rd party memory has been a pain, though.
I, ASIMO.
     
typoon
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: The Tollbooth Capital of the US
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jan 19, 2004, 03:43 PM
 
Originally posted by BlakIce:
i was transfering files from my server to my mac wirelessly it was going painfully slow so i turned off airport and plugged in my ethernet cord, not it says the connection to my server cant be found im sure this can be fixed by simply logging in again but i cant find anywhere to do this
Did you check the network settings? Do you have a static IP or is it using DHCP? If it using DHCP make sure the network settings are setup to reflect that and same if you have a static. Then it should take car of your problem
"Evil is Powerless If the Good are Unafraid." -Ronald Reagan

Apple and Intel, the dawning of a NEW era.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:59 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,