Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Can't use any FTP progs :S

Can't use any FTP progs :S
Thread Tools
Alpha-sphere
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands (The Hague)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 6, 2004, 10:12 AM
 
I'm desperate you guys....

If tried Fetch, Rbrowserlite, Transmit and tried Apple+K in finder but nothing works.
The Finder FTP mount doesn't let me do anything.
All the other FTP progs have the same problems. When i try to upload something it stalls. With every program. So i think it's not some bug but it's my machine.
With my PC i can upload just fine so it can't be the ports on my router. I Have no firewall running on my mac so that's not it either. HELP ME
Powered by a 15" alu powerbook superdrive
     
Alpha-sphere  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands (The Hague)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 8, 2004, 02:33 PM
 
Nobody?
Powered by a 15" alu powerbook superdrive
     
fisherKing
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: brooklyn ny
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 8, 2004, 05:14 PM
 
did you turn on ftp in the sharing preference pane??

(try that)
"At first, there was Nothing. Then Nothing inverted itself and became Something.
And that is what you all are: inverted Nothings...with potential" (Sun Ra)
     
bradoesch
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 8, 2004, 05:29 PM
 
Sometimes I have to change the setting for Passive mode with Transmit. I forget whether it's turning it on or off, but it's worth a try.
     
eggman
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 8, 2004, 05:38 PM
 
If you've enabled the firewall in the "Sharing" Systems Preference, it tells you to "enable passive FTP mode using the Proxies tab in Network Preferences". My guess is that your firewall is on, in which case, you should make sure that the passive FTP mode setting is, in fact, enabled.

Then, you should also tell your FTP client to use passive mode (or PASV mode).

If you're still having trouble... well, I got nothing.
     
mitchell_pgh
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Washington, DC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 9, 2004, 11:52 AM
 
try it from the finder

Code:
ftp mysite.com
     
chris v
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Sar Chasm
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 9, 2004, 12:11 PM
 
If you have a router, you probably need to open port 21 on it. The Linksys routers all have a default password and login of "admin" for both fields, (point a browser to 192.168.1) then open the port and point it to your IP address on your mac. (most likely 192.168.1.100, if it's the only machine attached to the router.)

Edit: I re -read your post-- didn't see the bit about the PC at first. Maybe port 21 is only pointing to the PC on the router? Worth checking, anyway.

You could just make your mac a DMZ, then use the OS X software firewall.

CV

When a true genius appears in the world you may know him by this sign, that the dunces are all in confederacy against him. -- Jonathan Swift.
     
Spliff
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Canaduh
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 9, 2004, 06:50 PM
 
Do you have a firewall or router?
     
Alpha-sphere  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands (The Hague)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 9, 2004, 07:05 PM
 
Originally posted by eggman:
If you've enabled the firewall in the "Sharing" Systems Preference, it tells you to "enable passive FTP mode using the Proxies tab in Network Preferences". My guess is that your firewall is on, in which case, you should make sure that the passive FTP mode setting is, in fact, enabled.

Then, you should also tell your FTP client to use passive mode (or PASV mode).

If you're still having trouble... well, I got nothing.
I just tried unchecking it and it the same as before. But the wierd thing now is that i can upload but when i try to remove something it takes forever :S really wierd.

Yes i have a router (linksys) and yes the router is running a firewall but OSX firewall is off.

EDIT: i just turned DMZ and OSX firewall on but it still won't work. Being a PC/Mac user i kinda wanna see if a fresh install would make any differance
( Last edited by Alpha-sphere; May 9, 2004 at 07:15 PM. )
Powered by a 15" alu powerbook superdrive
     
chris v
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Sar Chasm
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 9, 2004, 11:06 PM
 
Originally posted by Alpha-sphere:
I just tried unchecking it and it the same as before. But the wierd thing now is that i can upload but when i try to remove something it takes forever :S really wierd.

Yes i have a router (linksys) and yes the router is running a firewall but OSX firewall is off.

EDIT: i just turned DMZ and OSX firewall on but it still won't work. Being a PC/Mac user i kinda wanna see if a fresh install would make any differance
If yr gonna turn the OS X firewall on, you've got to open port 21 on it, too.

CV

When a true genius appears in the world you may know him by this sign, that the dunces are all in confederacy against him. -- Jonathan Swift.
     
Spliff
Mac Elite
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Canaduh
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 10, 2004, 03:20 AM
 
Originally posted by Alpha-sphere:
EDIT: i just turned DMZ and OSX firewall on but it still won't work. Being a PC/Mac user i kinda wanna see if a fresh install would make any differance
It can, but Mac users generally like to use the reinstall as a last resort. It's best to try to discover what the cause of the problem is.

Have you recently installed the Developer's Tools (Xcode) and then uninstalled it? The Xcode uninstaller has a bug in it: it can delete important system files. On my system, I lost the ability to use Software update or enable the built in FTP server.
     
sanity assassin
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: In a gadda da vida.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 10, 2004, 09:32 AM
 
Turning on the FTP port on Mac OS X's firewall is only really for incoming requests. Having it off shouldn't be blocking FTP uploads.
Rockstar Games - better than reality.
     
Alpha-sphere  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands (The Hague)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 10, 2004, 10:21 AM
 
Originally posted by sanity assassin:
Turning on the FTP port on Mac OS X's firewall is only really for incoming requests. Having it off shouldn't be blocking FTP uploads.
Exactly
Powered by a 15" alu powerbook superdrive
     
sanity assassin
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: In a gadda da vida.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 10, 2004, 10:47 AM
 
I think my setup is similar to yours, Alpha-sphere. I've got the Mac, and PC behind a router, plus, OS X's firewall is enabled. I haven't got FTP turned on in the sgaring prefs panel (OS X), and neither has any port associated with FTP been forwarded on the router.

I've got Transmit installed, and with Passive mode switched on, works fine. Also, Passive mode is selected in the Network prefs panel. Also, FTP'ing from Dreamweaver, and the finder works too.

So, we know that my config above works, but, and you'll hate this bit, I'm not sure what's happening on your end.
Rockstar Games - better than reality.
     
theolein
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: zurich, switzerland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 10, 2004, 11:39 AM
 
Originally posted by Alpha-sphere:
I'm desperate you guys....

If tried Fetch, Rbrowserlite, Transmit and tried Apple+K in finder but nothing works.
The Finder FTP mount doesn't let me do anything.
All the other FTP progs have the same problems. When i try to upload something it stalls. With every program. So i think it's not some bug but it's my machine.
With my PC i can upload just fine so it can't be the ports on my router. I Have no firewall running on my mac so that's not it either. HELP ME
Is the server a windows server? Have you set binary or text mode, since windows servers want these set, IIRC? Do you know how to do that from the commandline? Setting passive ftp should also make a difference.
weird wabbit
     
DannyVTim
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Bayonne, NJ USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 10, 2004, 03:51 PM
 
I have had problems with FTP under Mac OS X. Namely, I start to upload and have had varios problems with the various FTP apps. Transmit messes up the uploaded file's permissions. Dreamweaver always loose the connection before completion. It always seems to be something different with each client.

Try the command line tool "ncftp" It's simple and it has worked correctly for me.

ftp://ftp.ncftp.com/ncftp/binaries/n...cosx10.3.2.dmg
Dan
     
Alpha-sphere  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands (The Hague)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
May 12, 2004, 10:04 AM
 
Originally posted by sanity assassin:
I think my setup is similar to yours, Alpha-sphere. I've got the Mac, and PC behind a router, plus, OS X's firewall is enabled. I haven't got FTP turned on in the sgaring prefs panel (OS X), and neither has any port associated with FTP been forwarded on the router.

I've got Transmit installed, and with Passive mode switched on, works fine. Also, Passive mode is selected in the Network prefs panel. Also, FTP'ing from Dreamweaver, and the finder works too.

So, we know that my config above works, but, and you'll hate this bit, I'm not sure what's happening on your end.
Finder works? I though Finder wasn't supposed to work and that we could only see the files in finder. That's I read on this forum when Panther was just out.
Powered by a 15" alu powerbook superdrive
     
drdocument
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Spokane WA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 23, 2004, 07:46 PM
 
Originally posted by DannyVTim:
I have had problems with FTP under Mac OS X. Namely, I start to upload and have had varios problems with the various FTP apps. Transmit messes up the uploaded file's permissions. Dreamweaver always loose the connection before completion. It always seems to be something different with each client.

Try the command line tool "ncftp" It's simple and it has worked correctly for me.

ftp://ftp.ncftp.com/ncftp/binaries/n...cosx10.3.2.dmg
I'm having a similar problem.
I can connect to web site with FTP and Deamweaver/Contribute from my G5 but not from my TiBook (both with 10.3.5). I can't even download ncftp because it's an ftp download (not even with IE as opposed to Safari).

Any suggestions?
     
besson3c
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: yes
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 23, 2004, 09:30 PM
 
Originally posted by drdocument:
I'm having a similar problem.
I can connect to web site with FTP and Deamweaver/Contribute from my G5 but not from my TiBook (both with 10.3.5). I can't even download ncftp because it's an ftp download (not even with IE as opposed to Safari).

Any suggestions?
Does the command line ftp work? Try

ftp "ftp://ftp.ncftp.com/ncftp/binaries/ncftp-3.1.8-macosx10.3.dmg"

in the Terminal.

try:

telnet ftp.ncftp.com 21

(substituting your server name for the above)

Tell us what error messages you get...

In general, I always recommend using sFTP where possible and in particular where security is useful. FTP is pretty insecure.
( Last edited by besson3c; Aug 23, 2004 at 09:39 PM. )
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:56 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,