Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > mac mini vs. existing dual G4 450

mac mini vs. existing dual G4 450
Thade
Dedicated MacNNer
Jan 17, 2005, 11:04 AM

Hi all. Can I expect a decnt speed bump going from a G4 dual 450, Radeon 8500 64MB, 80 gig 7200 RPM, 512 RAM to a mac mini? My main machine has been a pretty beefy PC. I bought the G4 to learn OSX. Until recently it's been in the basement as an iTunes machine but upon the announcement of the mini, I pulled it upstairs as my main surfing machine. I would probably use the mini for surfing, iphoto & iMovie. I'm still a mac newb in a lot of ways so I'm not sure how the mini would stack up in terms of performance. I ran Xbench and my overall score was about 1/2 of the score I saw posted for the mini.... somewhere in the 70s but the min i had a gig of ram. Will I appreciate the difference running basic X and iApps? Is it worth it to upgrade the old G4? If so, what to add??

TIA

Jeff
( Last edited by Thade; Jan 17, 2005 at 11:19 AM. )

bartman00
Dedicated MacNNer
Jan 17, 2005, 04:50 PM

From personal experiance.. I'd say no. I have a AGP graphics Powermac like yours. It used to be a single 450 upgraded to a dual 500 then upgraded to a single 1.3

I'd say the cost of buying the single 1.3 over the dual 500 was not worth it. The cash would have been better spent waiting for a faster machine or buying some icecream. Also the mini has a slow laptop hard drive at 4200rpm, it'll make things feel really slow. Your 8500 is also much faster.

Bart
Powermac Sawtooth w/ 1.3ghz overclocked GigaDesigns 1ghz cpu
iBook G3-900

larkost
Mac Elite
Jan 17, 2005, 05:27 PM