Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Alternative Operating Systems > Noob looking for help securing Windows

Noob looking for help securing Windows
maximusbibicus
Forum Regular
May 30, 2006, 11:23 AM

Howdy!

I am a total windows noob, I've owned nothing but Macs since the early 90's. I've used Windows at work over the last 6 years, but never had to set a system up. I am just an end user, IT takes care of all that.

I just installed XP last night and I was hoping people could give me tips on how to keep my system clear of spyware, pop-ups and viruses. I already shelled out money for XP so i don't really want to have to pay for all that.

Basically I just want to run a clean, secure, stable machine, stay away from viruses and not have a total meltdown in 3 weeks. I am thinking there are people in here very knowledgeble with Windows, and they might know how to tweak a system just right.

This might also be useful for other Windows noobs playing around with Boot Camp.

Any input is appreciated.

Peter

aha8
May 30, 2006, 12:11 PM

return said copy of xp and stick to the mac os?

outside of that, dont use IE, try another browser, run a antivirus and adware/spyware remover, run a firewall, stay away from P2P services like kazaa and limewire

TheoCryst
Mac Elite
May 30, 2006, 12:21 PM

Some advice:
- Use a non-IE browser. I personally suggest Mozilla Firefox, though some may also vote for Opera.
- Check for adware on a regular basis. Lavasoft's Ad-Aware SE is good, as is Spybot. Run them both every few weeks to keep your system spyware-free.