Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Apple's limited hardware choices

Apple's limited hardware choices
Scotttheking
Moderator Emeritus
Apr 23, 2006, 02:39 PM

I've been using 15" PBs for the last 4-5 years, starting with a 500MHz and now up to a 1.5Ghz model.
When I first bought the 500, battery life was realistically 5 hours, the weight wasn't bad, and the size wasn't bad. Moving to the Al model, the size went up (every dimension), the weight went up, and the battery life went down.
As I look at my changing needs, I realize that I am best suited by either a desktop and subnotebook or a full laptop with an external monitor at home.
However, I still want the laptop to be easily portable. Even the aluminum 15" Powerbook can get annoyingly heavy.

With that in mind I wandered over to Apple's site.
Choices:
subnotebook class:
12" ibook
Pros: Nothing special
Cons: It is a bit thick and heavy. It also looks more like a toy than a professional machine. Does not support monitor spanning, at least out of the box.

12" powerbook
Pros: Could be used as a single machine
Cons: Again, a little thick. Low screen resolution for a pro class machine.

Single machine:
MBP:
Pros: Plenty of power to be a desktop.
Cons: Big!, battery life poor enough to not even be listed, can get hot, and did I mention it is even bigger than my current PB?

Ideally I'd like to see a few more lines. The current notebook line that I'm most attracted to is the X series. Starts at 2.7 pounds, subnotebook, modular, etc. Me likes.