Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > Powerbook or iBook?

View Poll Results: Powerbook or iBook
Poll Options:
Powerbook 23 votes (92.00%)
iBook 2 votes (8.00%)
Voters: 25. You may not vote on this poll
Powerbook or iBook?
killer_735
Mac Enthusiast
Apr 19, 2003, 07:47 PM

Hey...I'm a communication/design student working in Ithaca, NY, and I'm about to buy my first Mac.(What finally made me switch? The first time I had to call Microsoft and read off a 98-digit number to register XP. And seeing os X didn't hurt.)
So anyway, I'm trying to deecide between a 14.1", 800Mhz iBook and a 12.1" Powerbook 867Mhz. Through various discounts and freebies, the cost of the Powerbook is only 200$ more.Here's the clincher; I do some design work, which wouldn't be great on a 12.1" screen, but I have an external monitor, so not too big a deal. I read recently that Apple will stop supporting G3 procecessors in the summer of '04, so the iBook may become obselete after that...which would suck.

My question to you; which do you think is the better idea?
A slightly cheaper ibook with a bigger screen, or a Powerbook with a small screen that will stay current for longer? Especially if you have a 12.1" Powerbook; just how much can you see on a single screen?

I humble myself before the collective experience of this group....let your wisdom go to work...mwa ha ha.
"Leave it. Leave it, it's fine. It's fine. I WILL DESTROY YOU!" -Morbo

Taloston Man
Forum Regular
Apr 19, 2003, 08:09 PM

Not exactly in the right place, if you're looking for a large response for this, but....