Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > How are you using spaces?

How are you using spaces?
Thread Tools
kelchm
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2008
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 12, 2008, 12:28 AM
 
Hey guys.

I've been playing with spaces lately, and got curious as to how others are using it. Right now I'm using the standard configuration of 4 spaces with my two screens (MacBook screen and 22" monitor).

The way I have it set up right now the applications on the MacBook screen are static. In other words, both Adium and iTunes are on that screen and are set to show on 'Every Space'.

So, the 22" Monitor is where all the cool spaces action happens...

Space 1: Main Safari window(s) + Finder
Space 2: iCal, Mail, Address Book
Space 3: Photoshop or Light Room
Space 4: Any other separate project

I've started to get pretty comfortable with the idea of having a few separate work environments and I have found that less on screen clutter lets me stay more focused on the task at hand. My one complaint was that moving an application (say an extra Safari window) from one space to another was a bit of an inconvenience. This has been solved by Warp for me. Simply click and drag to a screen edge... It is both intuitive and practical. About the only other issue I can come up with now is I wish there was an option to only show my primary screen when hitting F8.

So, back to my primary question... How are you using Spaces?
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 12, 2008, 12:40 AM
 
Space 1: main space, everything not covered by other Spaces
Space 2: Communication (Mail, iChat, Skype)
Space 3: Fusion
Space 4: various projects

-t
     
Randman
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MacNN database error. Please refresh your browser.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 12, 2008, 04:14 AM
 
I don't.

This is a computer-generated message and needs no signature.
     
moep
Senior User
Join Date: Nov 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 12, 2008, 04:37 AM
 
Funny, I just wanted to open a thread about this yesterday as I've never seen a Leopard user "in the wild" use Spaces.

The only thing I am using it for is for Vmware Fusion in fullscreen mode. For everything else Exposé is plenty.
"The road to success is dotted with the most tempting parking spaces."
     
macmad
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 12, 2008, 05:21 AM
 
I don't use spaces either. Exposé is excellent though.
     
Azzgunther
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 12, 2008, 12:01 PM
 
I've been using the Spaces function for years via Desktop Manager. Leopard actually broke a lot of the features that I loved in that app (it instantly switched to next space instead of animating it, didn't require dragging of windows between spaces to switch, and had text labels for each individual space). On the 17" monitor:

1. Safari, main
2. Mail, Yahoo Widgets
3. iTunes, downloads
"The best part about breaking up with someone is moving all your porn from C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2\lib\zi\Pacific to C:\Porn."
     
Arkham_c
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 12, 2008, 12:34 PM
 
I use it to hide games when I am supposed to be working. I don't have anything practical to use it for.
Mac Pro 2x 2.66 GHz Dual core, Apple TV 160GB, two Windows XP PCs
     
maltacourte
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jul 2008
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 13, 2008, 09:34 PM
 
Hi

I use spaces quite a bit. I have Logic open in one window, i tunes in another, Firefox in another, etc...

I was wondering if there is a way that I can boot into that each time, like a sticky window set, that remembers what I had open last time and what space it was in. Can I use automator for that? or maybe a script that when I start the mac (I go back and forth from windows bootcamp) into OSX, it will let me run a script that auto places each app into a space for me. That would be great...anyone know if this is possible?
     
idykenano
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: surrounded by dogs
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 13, 2008, 09:44 PM
 
I use spaces during the school terms to help me concentrate on what I need to be doing when there are many more fun things to do. Especially in class, it helps to have Word quarantined away from iChat and so forth. I know several other students take advantage of Spaces for this reason.
     
chris v
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Sar Chasm
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 13, 2008, 10:50 PM
 
space 1: Spreadsheets, to-do lists, iTunes
Space 2: The internets -- both of them. Browser on left display, Mail on rt. display, + Finder window for dragging files from Mail
Space 3: Art production apps, Finder window of current projects, printer proxies.
Space 4: Production schedule & Sales order priority list (pulled down from the servers via PHP script)

Address book and iCal & calculator tend to bounce around. I like that you can grab a window by the title bar & switch spaces, & it comes with you.

When a true genius appears in the world you may know him by this sign, that the dunces are all in confederacy against him. -- Jonathan Swift.
     
lpkmckenna
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toronto
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 13, 2008, 10:55 PM
 
Space 1: Safari + two Finder window(s)
Space 2: iCal, Mail, Address Book
Space 3: iTunes, Logic
Space 4: Any other separate project
     
Simon
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: in front of my Mac
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 14, 2008, 03:53 AM
 
I don't.

Even though I use them a lot on my Linux boxes, on OS X I use only Exposé.
     
Parvez
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York City
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 14, 2008, 05:11 AM
 
It's pretty neat. I just started using it tonight.

1: Safari, main
2: iChat, Adium
3: iTunes
4: Mail
     
Atheist
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Back in the Good Ole US of A
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 14, 2008, 07:57 AM
 
I have two monitors:

Monitor 1:
1: Adium, Skype, etc
2: Mail, Safari
3: Fusion
4: RDC

Monitor 2:
1: iTunes
2: iTunes
3: iTunes
4: iTunes
(My music is important to me)

I really wish that they would allow you to exempt a monitor from Spaces. (Yes I get the same result by showing iTunes in all spaces... it's just not as "clean").

I NEVER use Expose. I have this weird thing about overlapping windows. I need to be able to visualize my entire workspace in my brain. Thus Spaces works better for me.
     
andreas_g4
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: adequate, thanks.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 15, 2008, 03:24 PM
 
Originally Posted by macmad View Post
I don't use spaces either. Exposé is excellent though.
yup.
     
TheoCryst
Mac Elite
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 16, 2008, 01:08 PM
 
1: Safari, other interwebs-related apps, Office
2: Terminal, Xcode, Eclipse, other dev apps

That's true for my home laptop and my work computer. At work I also have a second monitor, which is devoted full-time to VMWare (and usually Outlook). Oh how I wish Entourage didn't blow...

Any ramblings are entirely my own, and do not represent those of my employers, coworkers, friends, or species
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:27 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,