Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > iPhone, iPad & iPod > Ok... So I'm a bit confused about Facetime

Ok... So I'm a bit confused about Facetime
Thread Tools
josephsalsbury
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2010
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 17, 2010, 05:33 AM
 
Just got an iPhone 4 yesterday, and I love it. However I can't really get my head around how facetime works. Does it only work on wifi, or can you use it on 3G? What about 'facetimeing' with a friend in the States (I'm in the UK), is it going to cost alot, or will it be free on wifi? Does it count as a call, or is it just data like skype would do?

Hopefully someone can answer my question
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 17, 2010, 06:28 AM
 
Wifi only, and it doesn't cost anything (since you are on wifi).
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
Phileas
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 17, 2010, 10:28 AM
 
3G is possible if you jailbreak your phone, but if you do that you'll be eating into your data plan.
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 17, 2010, 10:33 AM
 
Also, the quality apparently sucks complete ass over 3G - which is why it's not enabled in the first place.
     
philm
Mac Elite
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Manchester, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 17, 2010, 05:25 PM
 
Originally Posted by Spheric Harlot View Post
Also, the quality apparently sucks complete ass over 3G - which is why it's not enabled in the first place.
Everything's bottoms with you people, isn't it?
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:11 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,