Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > Mac mini upgrades

Mac mini upgrades
Thread Tools
Tuishimi
Forum Regular
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Arizona
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 4, 2006, 09:53 AM
 
...not sure if this belongs here or not, but I thought I would share. So I've mentioned I think that I upgraded my HD to a 7200 100GB Hitachi. I also ordered 2 GB of RAM recently and won a 2.0 ghz cpu on eBay. Fun!

I got my memory last week, installed it, booted and DOH! Found out I was not paying attention when I ordered and clicked on the PC4200 not the PC5300. Soooooo... got an RMA and also ordered the correct RAM. I'll be swapping it out this week. Still works! There is just (and this could be all in my head) the slightest hesitation when displaying new windows (be it Finder or application).

Not sure when my CPU will get here. I think the seller is off on a 4th of July vacation.

Having 2 GB of ram is a blast tho'. I used to max it out at 1 GB. It is such a free feeling.
24 inch iMac 2.4, 320GB HD, 4 GB RAM
500 GB Ext FW Drv, 120 GB Ext FW Drv
     
imitchellg5
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington + Colorado
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 4, 2006, 08:59 PM
 
RAM is good. I want RAM.
     
Gordio
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 7, 2006, 02:48 AM
 
I got lucky i posted a question how to get ram. i almost got PC2-5300 for desktops, when i actually needed PC2-5300 SODIMMS

ram is great. i never knew this till i tried it on this computer, but having more ram makes boot times much faster. I have 1.25GB
     
Tuishimi  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Arizona
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 10, 2006, 07:43 PM
 
My CPU should be arriving this week. Very exciting!
24 inch iMac 2.4, 320GB HD, 4 GB RAM
500 GB Ext FW Drv, 120 GB Ext FW Drv
     
HisDudeness
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: May 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 11, 2006, 07:08 PM
 
any advice on some good, relatively cheap ram for a solo mac mini?
     
Tuishimi  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Arizona
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 11, 2006, 11:09 PM
 
G.SKILL or JetRam from Egghead... errr... newegg I mean.
24 inch iMac 2.4, 320GB HD, 4 GB RAM
500 GB Ext FW Drv, 120 GB Ext FW Drv
     
Tuishimi  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Arizona
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 12, 2006, 12:10 AM
 
Btw... I posted this in another forum but...

--------
Short review on Civ IV...

I just received it today! I was very excited. HOWEVER... on my Core duo mini (2 gb ram) performance is dismal. Let me correct that, the graphical performance is miserable... the move time is pretty quick. I am upgrading to a 2.0 core duo CPU soon, but still, I expect it won't change things much, the Intel chip with the limited 64 mb of vram is the problem I am guessing. (GUESSING being the keyword).

On my 2.0ghz G5 with 128 mb vram and 1 gb ram performance started out much better, graphically speaking, but degraded overall somewhat quickly (maybe 150 moves into the game) as my and the other civs grew.

So... unless you have a higher-end mac, I would steer clear of Civ. IV. Too bad too, because even on low-end graphic settings it looks pretty nice. I suspect if you could turn on all the cool stuff the game would seriously rock.
24 inch iMac 2.4, 320GB HD, 4 GB RAM
500 GB Ext FW Drv, 120 GB Ext FW Drv
     
HisDudeness
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: May 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 14, 2006, 12:15 AM
 
Thanks! I just ordered 1gb (512 x 2) of the JetRam. Now I just have to figure out how to take this thing apart.
     
stefanicotine
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 14, 2006, 10:42 AM
 
RAM makes me all giggly inside. I wish I could stick like 6 gigs in my iMac
 Certified AppleCare Technician
     
Dillon-K
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 14, 2006, 05:33 PM
 
hey, could you take pictures as you put the new CPU in your mini? I think that would be really interesting to see a little tutorial... I've currently got my eyes on the MacBook, and I'm pretty sure that financially the only Mac I could get for a while after that would be a solo mini and have to upgrade the CPU later... how much do you guys think the prices of core duos are gonna come down after the Core *2* Duos hit the market big??
Black MacBook 2.0GHz Core Duo, 1GB RAM.
Logitech V270 Bluetooth mouse, Brenthaven Metro (black).
     
Tuishimi  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Arizona
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 16, 2006, 06:35 PM
 
There are a few picture tutorials out there. No doubt WAY better than any pictures I could take. But I will try.
24 inch iMac 2.4, 320GB HD, 4 GB RAM
500 GB Ext FW Drv, 120 GB Ext FW Drv
     
HisDudeness
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: May 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 18, 2006, 11:15 PM
 
I just got my ram today and had no problems installing it. However, I did have troubles putting the top back on, and now the back of the case isn't flush. Has anyone else had this problem? The mini runs fine and you can't see it because it's on the back, but it's bugging the hell out of me.
     
brokenjago
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 21, 2006, 10:55 PM
 
Originally Posted by stefanicotine
RAM makes me all giggly inside. I wish I could stick like 6 gigs in my iMac
Well, you can get to 4GB, if you're willing to pay about $600/stick...

and if it's an Intel iMac.
Linkinus is king.
     
stefanicotine
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 22, 2006, 07:03 AM
 
Originally Posted by brokenjago
Well, you can get to 4GB, if you're willing to pay about $600/stick...

and if it's an Intel iMac.
Sounds like a waste of money. I could sell my Intel and buy a better Mac for near the same price when mine gets a little out of date

Thanks for the info though. I didn't know 4gb was attainable in an iMac yet
 Certified AppleCare Technician
     
Dillon-K
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Jul 2006
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 22, 2006, 11:24 AM
 
So has that rumor been considered true then? The ability to stick 4 gigs in an iMac...?
Black MacBook 2.0GHz Core Duo, 1GB RAM.
Logitech V270 Bluetooth mouse, Brenthaven Metro (black).
     
digiology2
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jul 27, 2006, 10:17 AM
 
i thought that 32 bit machines have a limit of 2GB?
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:10 PM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,