Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > 10.3 and dual monitor

10.3 and dual monitor
Thread Tools
addiecool
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Front of my Intel iMac 20"
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2003, 12:44 PM
 
Hi! I just upgraded to 10.3 and also got my new 17" monitor in addition to my 21" philips. I have 1600x1200 on my philips and 1024x768 on the 17".

Everything is fine but the mouse cursor does not move to the 17" have way side the screen.

What I mean is that when i try to move the cursor to the 17" monitor i cannot go there below half the screen. if i reduce the resolution on the philips 21" to the same as on the 17? then it is fine. Seems that some kind of bug.

Please help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
iMac Intel Core Duo 2.0 Ghz 20", 1.5 GB RAM, 250GB
iMac G5 2.0 Ghz 17", 512 MB RAM, 160GB
iPod Video 5G 60GB White
Mighty Mouse sucks - "Bought the Logitech 518 Gaming mouse"
USB 2.0 Hard Drive Sucked - "Bought a Firewire Hard Disk"
     
addiecool  (op)
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Front of my Intel iMac 20"
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2003, 12:46 PM
 
Ok I tried playing with the arrangement but that helps a little bit, but the problem is still there. Kinda annoying.

I have a radeon 8500 card with dual display output.
iMac Intel Core Duo 2.0 Ghz 20", 1.5 GB RAM, 250GB
iMac G5 2.0 Ghz 17", 512 MB RAM, 160GB
iPod Video 5G 60GB White
Mighty Mouse sucks - "Bought the Logitech 518 Gaming mouse"
USB 2.0 Hard Drive Sucked - "Bought a Firewire Hard Disk"
     
darkhawk64
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2003, 01:14 PM
 
This is not a bug, simply the result of the cursor not being able to automatically "step up" to the smaller display.

Think of it like this. You have two boxes, one is really big and one is really small. You place the top of the small box in alignment with the top of the bigger box, with an opening where the two meet, and send a mouse (or other rodent) through the bottom of the big box. It's going to hit the wall below the opening because it would have to jump up to the smaller one. This is just like the cursor. You have to move your cursor so that it hits your second display, otherwise it will just hit the edge of your larger monitor because it has more pixels.

Hope this helps.
jared
"You don't cuddle up to Max Power. You just strap yourself on and feel the Gs."
-Homer Simpson from "The Simpsons"
     
addiecool  (op)
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Front of my Intel iMac 20"
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2003, 01:36 PM
 
Hmmmmmmm. Thanks for the nice reply. But the thing is that my windows XP box is kinda the same setup and has no such problem. It manages it somehow......

Hope that this happens on the mac also.
iMac Intel Core Duo 2.0 Ghz 20", 1.5 GB RAM, 250GB
iMac G5 2.0 Ghz 17", 512 MB RAM, 160GB
iPod Video 5G 60GB White
Mighty Mouse sucks - "Bought the Logitech 518 Gaming mouse"
USB 2.0 Hard Drive Sucked - "Bought a Firewire Hard Disk"
     
jasong
Mac Elite
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Allston, MA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2003, 02:42 PM
 
Definitely not a bug, the Mac has worked this way since you could hook up a second monitor. I can see why you would want it otherwise, but the idea is to match the physical orientations of the monitors.

-- Jason
     
Mithras
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: :ИOITAↃO⅃
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 30, 2003, 03:05 PM
 
Originally posted by addiecool:
Hmmmmmmm. Thanks for the nice reply. But the thing is that my windows XP box is kinda the same setup and has no such problem. It manages it somehow......

Hope that this happens on the mac also.
In XP, does the cursor immediately jump from one monitor to the next? Or does it get 'lost' somewhere in that empty space where there is no monitor?
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:23 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,