Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > iPhone, iPad & iPod > The Official OS 3.0 Thread

The Official OS 3.0 Thread
Thread Tools
ctt1wbw
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Suffolk, VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 01:15 PM
 
Got it already here in Virginia. Backing up my iPhone as we speak!
     
davecom
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 01:16 PM
 
Just got it here in New York, it's downloading.
     
varcos
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 01:17 PM
 
Downloading in Atlanta
     
ctt1wbw  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Suffolk, VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 01:18 PM
 
Updating...
     
Lint Police
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: May 2008
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 01:19 PM
 
No app updates yet. I need my push.

cause we're not quite "the fuzz"
     
N228UA
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Japan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 01:20 PM
 
Downloading in Tokyo. Can't believe I actually stayed up until 2:00am local time for this.
MacBook C2D, PowerMac G4, PowerBook G4, Mini G4
     
ctt1wbw  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Suffolk, VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 01:25 PM
 
Restarting!
     
richwig83
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 01:29 PM
 
WOW its really snappy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ill get my coat!
MacBook Pro 2.2 i7 | 4GB | 128GB SSD ~ 500GB+2TB Externals ~ iPhone 4 32GB
Canon 5DII | EF 24-105mm IS USM | EF 100-400mm L IS USM | 50mm 1.8mkII
iMac | Mac Mini | 42" Panasonic LED HDTV | PS3
     
ctt1wbw  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Suffolk, VA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 01:31 PM
 
Search works great!
     
Sijmen
Dedicated MacNNer
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 01:32 PM
 
Wow! 60kb/s! A New World Record!

I'll give myself 30 minutes :|
Apple Powerbook 17" 1,67 GHz, 2 gig RAM, 100 gig HDD, ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 128MB, Superdrive 8X
     
fanchee
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: May 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 01:42 PM
 
Grabbed it in 4 minutes and installing now.....
     
cbk1994
Forum Regular
Join Date: Dec 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 01:45 PM
 
Anyone else using the developer pre-release having problems updating (says that 3.0 is the current release)?
15" MacBook Pro (unibody), 4 GB RAM, 2.53 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, Mac OS X 10.6.2
     
Krusty
Professional Poster
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Always within bluetooth range
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 01:47 PM
 
Search is great. Cut/Copy/Paste is very nice and works everywhere (I can even copy the numbers in Calculator). Find my iPhone works as well as can be expected on an original iphone with no GPS. The biggest bummer for me is that Skype appears to be broken. I got a warning on first launch and subsequent launches the dialer acts like its working but I have absolutely no audio. All in all, worth every (free) penny. Worth the $9.95 for iPod touch users as well I would say.
     
ibook_steve
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Jose, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:03 PM
 
The Home button setting doesn't seem to work. I set it to go to search when I double-click the home button, but it always goes to the music playback controls. This is on my iPod Touch. Hmmm...

Steve
Celebrating 10 years and 4000 posts on MacNN!
     
bloodline
Forum Regular
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Not far from a shop that sells Logic Pro
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:04 PM
 
My iPhone is just stuck in the backup part... I don't care about a backup... why won't it just update?
2.8 Ghz Unibody MacBook Pro 15" - 4GB Ram - Logic Pro 8.0
2.33 Ghz C2D MacBook Pro 15" - 3GB Ram - Logic Pro 7.2
1.5 Ghz G4 PowerBook 12" - 1.25GB Ram
     
tonewheel
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Chicago (where we vote early, and often)
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:06 PM
 
Everything works as advertised.

Everything.
     
richwig83
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:11 PM
 
Im not keen on what they have done to some of the icons!
MacBook Pro 2.2 i7 | 4GB | 128GB SSD ~ 500GB+2TB Externals ~ iPhone 4 32GB
Canon 5DII | EF 24-105mm IS USM | EF 100-400mm L IS USM | 50mm 1.8mkII
iMac | Mac Mini | 42" Panasonic LED HDTV | PS3
     
MacinTommy
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:11 PM
 
Originally Posted by tonewheel View Post
Everything works as advertised.

Everything.
Except MMS.... yet...
     
Stogieman
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:14 PM
 
Originally Posted by richwig83 View Post
Im not keen on what they have done to some of the icons!
Examples please. I haven't updated yet (still at work).

Slick shoes?! Are you crazy?!
     
slugslugslug
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:16 PM
 
Urgh, why didn't I bring my MacBook to work today. Can somebody check for me if the keyboard has an ellipsis character yet? I heard (via Gruber's twitter, I think) that they added en and em dashes if you hold down the hyphen key. If they'd put ellipsis on the period or colon, I'd be strangely thrilled.
     
richwig83
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:20 PM
 


That diagonal pattern looks messy IMO
MacBook Pro 2.2 i7 | 4GB | 128GB SSD ~ 500GB+2TB Externals ~ iPhone 4 32GB
Canon 5DII | EF 24-105mm IS USM | EF 100-400mm L IS USM | 50mm 1.8mkII
iMac | Mac Mini | 42" Panasonic LED HDTV | PS3
     
Simon
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: in front of my Mac
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:22 PM
 
What exactly made this thread official?
     
JKT
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:24 PM
 
… confirmed. — confirmed.
     
JKT
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:25 PM
 
Ellipsis is on the full stop key.
     
I'mDaMac
Senior User
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Southern CA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:27 PM
 
What is the version (build) number please?
Who'sDaMac?
     
slugslugslug
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:30 PM
 
Originally Posted by JKT View Post
Ellipsis is on the full stop key.
Sweet!
     
Simon
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: in front of my Mac
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:31 PM
 
Wow. Just downloaded it at 30 Mbps. And I always thought my cap was 20 Mbps. I gave my ISP a call and they confimed. Thanks to this update I now know my ISP stealth-bumped me to 50 Mbps.
     
JKT
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:31 PM
 
Build is 7A341
     
richwig83
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:31 PM
 
Originally Posted by i'mdamac View Post
what is the version (build) number please?
3.0 (7a341)
MacBook Pro 2.2 i7 | 4GB | 128GB SSD ~ 500GB+2TB Externals ~ iPhone 4 32GB
Canon 5DII | EF 24-105mm IS USM | EF 100-400mm L IS USM | 50mm 1.8mkII
iMac | Mac Mini | 42" Panasonic LED HDTV | PS3
     
JKT
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:34 PM
 
Ugh, clicking a news link in the Stocks app closes the app and launches Safari... what a waste of resources and time. Why not just build in a WebKit view into the app?
     
JKT
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:42 PM
 
An unannounced feature for MobileMe users:

Your iDisk goes wherever you go. (Coming Soon)
A new iDisk app for iPhone and iPod touch makes the files on your iDisk available for viewing and sharing anytime, anywhere.

Not in the App store in the UK yet, but it will be free when it is. Cool.
     
sartor
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2008
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:45 PM
 
Puzzled,

I downloaded the OS, and paid the $$$ to Apple (got a receipt), and the 2G ipod touch went through the update procedure etc... but STILL says 2.2.1 version.. I powered it down, and also powered down iTUnes, restarted both, and still saying 2.2.1..... so I'll try downloading and installing again! ??? I hope they don't charge me twice!
(It did time out during the very first download of the OS, but I restarted it then, and it seemed to go OK.. and did the install etc.. so far, no extra receipt from Apple.)
I'm running latest OS on G4 Powerbook...
( Last edited by sartor; Jun 17, 2009 at 03:01 PM. Reason: hardware info...)
     
ajprice
Professional Poster
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:49 PM
 
I'm nearly there, the phone is backed up, 3.0 is downloaded and installed, the phone restarted went to the iTunes and USB plug screen, iTunes is trying to connect to the store then coming up with an error box saying -

"We could not complete your iTunes Store request.
An unknown error has occurred (-4).

There was an error in the iTunes Store. Please try again later."

Do I just keep trying on this? grrr!

It'll be much easier if you just comply.
     
eimeria
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Fly over country
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:53 PM
 
Originally Posted by ajprice View Post
I'm nearly there, the phone is backed up, 3.0 is downloaded and installed, the phone restarted went to the iTunes and USB plug screen, iTunes is trying to connect to the store then coming up with an error box saying -

"We could not complete your iTunes Store request.
An unknown error has occurred (-4).

There was an error in the iTunes Store. Please try again later."

Do I just keep trying on this? grrr!

I get the same error. I'm hoping the iTunes store is just getting hammered by all the requests for updates and it is not a serious problem. I"m not all that happy about having a non-functional phone.
     
ajprice
Professional Poster
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:55 PM
 
Thats what I'm hoping too, iTunes store won't come up either, the progress bar in the 'LCD' at the top is stopped just short of 100% and the store window is white with iTunes Store in the centre. Must be just the store getting hammered at the moment.

It'll be much easier if you just comply.
     
richwig83
Mac Elite
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 02:58 PM
 
WOW... the find me function in MobileMe is pretty cool!!
MacBook Pro 2.2 i7 | 4GB | 128GB SSD ~ 500GB+2TB Externals ~ iPhone 4 32GB
Canon 5DII | EF 24-105mm IS USM | EF 100-400mm L IS USM | 50mm 1.8mkII
iMac | Mac Mini | 42" Panasonic LED HDTV | PS3
     
osiris
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Isle of Manhattan
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 03:05 PM
 
No updates yet... kinda excited though.
"Faster, faster! 'Till the thrill of speed overcomes the fear of death." - HST
     
eimeria
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Fly over country
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 03:08 PM
 
I finally got through to the iTunes store and got the phone activated.

Let the exploration begin!!!
     
Judge_Fire
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 03:18 PM
 
No search within Messages yet, probably didn't make the cut. Hopefully soon.

Hitting the Home button in the first page of the Home screen takes you to Search and from there, back to Home - nice.
     
pete.z
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Rotterdam,Holland.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 03:24 PM
 
Can't update, keep getting a message that activationserver is down.
Looks like Apple didn't expect people to actually start updating all at the same time.....smart.
MOSTLY HARMLESS

http://www.macfreak.nl
     
sartor
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2008
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 03:27 PM
 
OK, it looks like it downloaded and properly updated the OS on my iPod Touch.. Now performing a sync to get a few pics on the Touch I need... :-)

--- Update,
OK, it seems the second time I downloaded it, it worked. And no extra charge from Apple..
( Last edited by sartor; Jun 17, 2009 at 04:26 PM. Reason: It worked... Finally!)
     
abbaZaba
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 03:27 PM
 
"iTunes cannot connect to the iPhone because it is passcode locked. Please enter your passcode so that iTunes can connect to your iPhone."

is this new? I never encountered this before. I got this when I installed iTunes 8.2
     
Judge_Fire
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 03:28 PM
 


For an added typing challenge, Apple fit in more keys for us Nordics by squeezing the keys tighter, let's see how this works
     
Andrew Stephens
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2004
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 03:33 PM
 
Cannot update your phone as the Apple activation server is not responding.

Go away rest of the world I'm trying to update my bleedin' phone!!
     
JKT
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 03:33 PM
 
Another new feature - when editing your icons, dragging to the edge of the screen now flips through them all rather than getting stuck at the first one. Which is a huge improvement because it means that you no longer inadvertently knock an icon onto the next page if it was full.
     
ajprice
Professional Poster
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 03:35 PM
 
Gave it a break for a while and all is good now. Time to play .

It'll be much easier if you just comply.
     
fisherKing
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: brooklyn ny
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 03:36 PM
 
cut& paste! autofill in safari! spotlight...

already, tho, first annoyance. any way to turn off the search window in the calendar? waste of space...

but so far, so good. am pleased overall...
"At first, there was Nothing. Then Nothing inverted itself and became Something.
And that is what you all are: inverted Nothings...with potential" (Sun Ra)
     
abbaZaba
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 03:38 PM
 
Originally Posted by JKT View Post
Another new feature - when editing your icons, dragging to the edge of the screen now flips through them all rather than getting stuck at the first one. Which is a huge improvement because it means that you no longer inadvertently knock an icon onto the next page if it was full.
this pissed me off in 2.x. good to hear it's changed.

edIt: it's taking forever to backup my iphone and it's been stuck in the same spot for awhile
     
JKT
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 03:42 PM
 
Fwiw, while this is indeed a welcome change, app management is still abysmal. Nothing new (other than that) to report. Sigh.

Edit: I wonder if you can still knock app icons completely off the springboard like you could in OS 2.x (that is, if they were on the very last page and you added another icon to that page, they would disappear completely when knocked off, until the next reboot). There seems to be an extra page now so I don't have enough apps to test (or the inclination for that matter!).

Edit 2: I don't know if it did this in OS 2 or not, but if you remove all apps from one page which is located between two other pages, the gap will collapse so that you don't get a blank page when flipping through them.
     
JKT
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London, UK
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Jun 17, 2009, 03:43 PM
 
Originally Posted by fisherKing View Post
already, tho, first annoyance. any way to turn off the search window in the calendar? waste of space....
It only appears in list view, so changing the view is the only way I have found to do that so far.
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:49 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,