Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > macOS > Ram and Speed doubler working or not?

Ram and Speed doubler working or not?
Thread Tools
The Yorkshire Rapper
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 14, 2012, 09:24 PM
 
I bought connecix Ram and Speed doubler as a combined set from ebay.
I thought it would be a good way to double the speed of my IMAC up.

The cd's only show two folders speed doubler and ram doubler with question marks.

I have dragged them into the applications folder, but they won't run.
I have checked the ram and it still at 4, the speed is definite faster but not near double.

Any ideas how I can get it to work as promised or is this as good as it gets?

Thank you in advance.
     
mduell
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 14, 2012, 09:52 PM
 
I hope this is a joke.
     
olePigeon
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 1999
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 14, 2012, 10:09 PM
 
RAM Doubler and Speed Doubler are old programs intended to use with an older Mac, or a Mac with an older system. Your iMac is more than likely running OS X, which is incompatible with RAM Doubler and Speed Doubler.

The programs were created back with System 7 because, at the time, Apple did not have a good Virtual Memory implementation.
"…I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than
you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods,
you will understand why I dismiss yours." - Stephen F. Roberts
     
The Yorkshire Rapper  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 14, 2012, 10:24 PM
 
No offense, but I think thats its highly unlikely that an older computer can double its speed and a new computer is stuck on a single speed / half RAM.

Does anyone else have any ideas, is it possible I bought a dud?
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 14, 2012, 10:36 PM
 
As olePigeon pointed out you bought 20 year old software. Unless its an original iMac they definitely won't work. Not that speed doubler worked anyways.
     
The Yorkshire Rapper  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 14, 2012, 11:03 PM
 
Excuse me, my computer easily meets the minimum requirements required.

If it really doesn't work then its pretty criminal to make such ludicrous claims on its ability.

Is anyone aware of upgrades or 'patches' to restore functionality?
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2012, 12:00 AM
 
LULZ, best troll evar.

-t
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2012, 12:31 AM
 
Originally Posted by The Yorkshire Rapper View Post
Excuse me, my computer easily meets the minimum requirements required.
What model is your computer specifically.
     
The Yorkshire Rapper  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Feb 2007
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2012, 01:03 AM
 
Originally Posted by BLAZE_MkIV View Post
What model is your computer specifically.
Without speed doubler and ram doubler its a IMAC, 2.66 ghz code 2 duo + 4 gigabytes (gigs) ram + superdrive and 3 USBs.

If speed doubler and ram doubler is working those specs should change - which is what I can't determine.
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2012, 01:33 AM
 
If you PayPal me $50, I will send you a secret code that will triple your RAM and GHz.

-t
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2012, 02:26 AM
 
Burn them on a CD - they will fix your infected Sony CD player.
     
angelmb
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Automatic
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2012, 05:22 AM
 
The thing is that years ago, CPUs were expensive and hard to replace, so it was RAM, not hard really but still expensive. Nowadays RAM is dirty cheap albeit CPUs are kind of expensive and hard to replace. So your best bet is to upgrade the RAM on your iMac (which I presume is the early 2009 model) to 8 GB giving it a real, effective 2x increase far from old software tricks which anyway wouldn't work on your Mac as Ram Doubler and Speed Doubler were coded with old 68K Macs on mind, the reason why you are getting those question marks icons.
     
angelmb
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Automatic
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2012, 05:39 AM
 
Hit reply to soon…

Since upgrading the RAM got you covered from the need of RAM Doubler, when it comes to "Speed Doubler" most people here would advice you to replace the hard disk inside your Mac with a SSD (solid state drive) model since these are much faster. In fact, if I recall right, giving you a faster access (and copy-write operations) to files was what Speed Doubler used to do back in the day, 68K emulation aside but that's not longer an issue with today's OS X scenario.
     
Spheric Harlot
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: 888500128, C3, 2nd soft.
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2012, 06:14 AM
 
Angel, this guy is a joke account.

Check his posting history.
     
BLAZE_MkIV
Professional Poster
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Nashua NH, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2012, 09:54 AM
 
Originally Posted by The Yorkshire Rapper View Post
Without speed doubler and ram doubler its a IMAC, 2.66 ghz code 2 duo + 4 gigabytes (gigs) ram + superdrive and 3 USBs.

If speed doubler and ram doubler is working those specs should change - which is what I can't determine.
Really? I'm interested in knowing how you got OS 8 running on that iMac?
     
mduell
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2012, 01:42 PM
 
Too aggressive in the replies, should have been more subtle for better trolling.
     
angelmb
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Automatic
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 15, 2012, 03:46 PM
 
Originally Posted by Spheric Harlot View Post
Angel, this guy is a joke account.

Check his posting history.
I wanted to give him the benefict of doubt, he might be someone who is a computer illiterate, so I didn't check older posts. Oh man, the guy who thought iTunes ruined his Sony Discman !!

Thanks for the laugh.
     
hyteckit
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Apr 16, 2012, 04:19 PM
 
Get some viagra. It doubles your manhood and your stamina.

Get some double mint gum. It doubles your pleasure and doubles your fun.
Bush Tax Cuts == Job Killer
June 2001: 132,047,000 employed
June 2003: 129,839,000 employed
2.21 million jobs were LOST after 2 years of Bush Tax Cuts.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:45 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,