Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Consumer Hardware & Components > Keyboard 'command' 'c' no longer works

Keyboard 'command' 'c' no longer works
Thread Tools
rotuts
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 8, 2015, 01:59 PM
 
I just cleaned off my keyboard w a damp cloth not soaking wet

Im on a MacPro OS 10.6.xxx usb apple keyboard

the command - c does not 'copy'

" C " key works, as does Command 'v' and command 'b'

any ideas why that combo no longer works ? its a vital one

hate to have to buy a brand new keyboard for doing someting

stupid and not raeloizing it



may thanks
MacPro 2.66 dual 3GB RAM 1.5 TB HD's
24" + 21" Samsung flat panels
Miglia mini HD (Great!)
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 8, 2015, 11:03 PM
 
If "c" works (when typing), and the command key works, then it can't be an issue with the physical keyboard.

Is it possible that by accident, the combination CMD + C was assigned to do something else ?
Check in System Preferences - Keyboard - Shortcuts

You might wanna do "Restore Defaults" to rule out it's that issue.

-t
     
rotuts  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2015, 10:57 AM
 
this gets much stranger.

the L shift key works to make caps, but not a capital 'e'

the R shift key can make a capital 'e'

how might I restore defaults Ive forgotten about that

also the R command does not work w the command-c
MacPro 2.66 dual 3GB RAM 1.5 TB HD's
24" + 21" Samsung flat panels
Miglia mini HD (Great!)
     
turtle777
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: planning a comeback !
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2015, 11:19 AM
 
I'd try one more thing. Create a new user account, and see if the problem persists. Might be a corrupted plist file somewhere.

-t
     
rotuts  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2015, 11:38 AM
 
thank you

I did restore defaults and there was no command-c in that list

Ill get to the new user account in a bit.

I do have an older USB mac keyboard : the kind w the black keys

plugged that in and it works fine on the two items mentiond

on re plugging in the white flat keyboard, the one in question, I get an

automatic continuous

.................................................. .............

until I hit a key or the space bar.

.................................................. ...................

this ............. is reproducible, each time I unplug and re-plug in the keyboard

so maybe the cleaning damaged the keyboard in some way ?
MacPro 2.66 dual 3GB RAM 1.5 TB HD's
24" + 21" Samsung flat panels
Miglia mini HD (Great!)
     
rotuts  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2015, 11:46 AM
 
created a new account and the same things happen

Sooooooooooo

do I need to buy a new keyboard ?

assuming it stops snowing in my Lifetime.
MacPro 2.66 dual 3GB RAM 1.5 TB HD's
24" + 21" Samsung flat panels
Miglia mini HD (Great!)
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2015, 02:00 PM
 
A bit of water must have gotten into the old keyboard somehow. Compressed air and/or time may dry it out fully inside. I'd set the keyboard aside for a week.
     
rotuts  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 9, 2015, 06:17 PM
 
thank you

Ill give that a try

I do have some C.A some where

thanks !
MacPro 2.66 dual 3GB RAM 1.5 TB HD's
24" + 21" Samsung flat panels
Miglia mini HD (Great!)
     
rotuts  (op)
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2001
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Feb 11, 2015, 12:03 PM
 
I took my old keyboard to the Apple store near by and plugged it into an

iMac running the current OS

it worked fine. they told me to buy and new keyboard and it the new one did the same

to return it for a refund

oddly when I got home, the new keyboard works fine

and so does the older one.

go figure.

thanks for every ones suggestions

MacPro 2.66 dual 3GB RAM 1.5 TB HD's
24" + 21" Samsung flat panels
Miglia mini HD (Great!)
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:48 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,