Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Laminar's Mac Pro Funtimes

Laminar's Mac Pro Funtimes
Thread Tools
Laminar
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Iowa, how long can this be? Does it really ruin the left column spacing?
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 3, 2018, 11:22 AM
 
I did some binging over Thanksgiving and ended up ordering six Mac Pros. My end goal is to build one killer Mac Pro and sell the rest to cover my costs, giving me a free Mac Pro. Yesterday's technology, today!

One has arrived so far. Legit 2010 model (Mac Pro 5,1) with an eight core 2.4GHz, 4GB 1066MHz RAM, a couple small hard drives, and the Radeon 5870. It was damaged during shipping. Looks like it took a hit on the rear handle, it popped out and is now blocking the door slightly. I can pull the handle up and still get the door off.



Also the graphics card got knocked loose and its retaining tab was broken off.







Fortunately when I put everything back together it booted right up. I'm working with the eBay seller now to get some dollars back. Side note - the power supply is no joke and dims my lamps when it first powers on.



Fortunately I had expert help.



It came with Yosemite installed, so I went ahead and upgraded it to High Sierra, including the firmware upgrade that HS installs.

Upgrading a MP to Mojave requires having a Metal-compatible graphics card installed. Fortunately, I picked up an RX 580 on Black Friday for $190. I had to get a dual-mini-6-pin-to-8-pin adapter to power the card. I threw that in and everything worked great minus the lack of a boot screen that comes with using a non-Apple card.





I bought an LG ultrawide screen when it was on sale at B&H photo. I had to use SwitchResX to get my iMac to support it through a mini-DP to HDMI adapter. I used the same adapter on the MP's stock Radeon card and just dealt with a stretched screen. But with the new RX580, the ultrawide resolution was natively supported through HDMI.

Next up, Mojave! It had its own firmware upgrade and then installed without issue.



I ran a couple of benchmarks in GeekBench and Cinebench. Single core operations show this MP about on par with my 2.93 i7 iMac. Obviously multicore operations are much better. I loaded up Bioshock: Infinite and it looked great at max everything in ultrawide:



The last thing to do was pull the RX580 and reinstall the 5870. Fortunately, my Amazon mini-DP to DP cable showed up earlier in the day - it specifically called out support for 2K/4K resolutions, and magically OS X began supporting the ultrawide 2560x1080 resolution natively.

Another round of MPs should show up today along with a pair of X5680 six-core 3.33GHz processors, we'll see what those look like when they get here.
( Last edited by Laminar; Dec 3, 2018 at 04:18 PM. )
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 3, 2018, 02:03 PM
 
Do you have a C clamp with an 8.5" opening or bigger? You can probably fix the MacPro handle by clamping across the width of the MP. With padded spacers of course, to protect the finish. Slim wood spacers would do.

Aluminum has little spring to it, it will bend back in fairly well from small distortions.

The 5870 is capable, beyond it's official specs. It officially goes to 2560x1600, but I successfully used mine for 3840x2160, though at only 30Hz. However, the drivers are not graceful with Retina. And it's not Metal-compatible, so expect visual glitches in Mojave. Dark Mode reportedly reduces the visual glitches.

If you want boot screens, a Radeon HD 7970 is about the best option. A Mac-firmware GF 780 is better, but quite expensive.

Better nVidia cards are available with custom Mac firmware (still more expensive) up to a 1080 Ti or Titan, but the macOS driver support is lacking. These cards require driver updates from nVidia before every OS point update, or the drivers stop working. Apple and nVidia have been feuding for a few years now.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 3, 2018, 02:45 PM
 
I bought an LG ultrawide screen when it was on sale at B&H photo. I had to use SwitchResX to get my iMac to support it through a mini-DP to HDMI adapter. I used the same adapter on the MP's stock Radeon card and just dealt with a stretched screen. But with the new RX580, the ultrawide resolution was natively supported through HDMI.
This is because HDMI sucks. When dealing with anything over 1080p, avoid HDMI. You don’t mention exactly what iMac it is, but it may be that it doesn’t support HDMI 2.0, and SwitchResX only got it to work by overclocking the pixelclock of the HDMI signal.

The 5870 is capable, beyond it's official specs. It officially goes to 2560x1600, but I successfully used mine for 3840x2160, though at only 30Hz.
This is because it only supports DisplayPort 1.1, which doesn’t support 4K at 60Hz. It was a great card, but it is very old now.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
Laminar  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Iowa, how long can this be? Does it really ruin the left column spacing?
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 3, 2018, 04:03 PM
 
Originally Posted by reader50 View Post
Do you have a C clamp with an 8.5" opening or bigger? You can probably fix the MacPro handle by clamping across the width of the MP. With padded spacers of course, to protect the finish. Slim wood spacers would do.
That's the plan - some gentle persuasion with a wood block, mallet, and clamps should at least get the door free to open and close.

If you want boot screens, a Radeon HD 7970 is about the best option. A Mac-firmware GF 780 is better, but quite expensive.
Right now the plan is to put the RX 580 in my gaming PC to replace its R7-265 once I'm done fiddling with the Mac Pros. The MP will be for web browsing and FCP work, so the 5870 is more than enough.

Originally Posted by P View Post
This is because HDMI sucks. When dealing with anything over 1080p, avoid HDMI. You don’t mention exactly what iMac it is, but it may be that it doesn’t support HDMI 2.0, and SwitchResX only got it to work by overclocking the pixelclock of the HDMI signal.
2010 i7-870 2.93GHz. I haven't tried my new mini-DP to DP cable straight from the iMac to see if it would work yet, but it doesn't really matter as once the MP is finalized, the iMac is out the door.

Number two came today via FedEx, checked it out over lunch. Eight core 2.26GHz, 300GB SSD + 2TB HD, 24GB RAM, Radeon 5770. This one also has a bent handle, but it was advertised that way so I was expecting it.





It's a bit more severe than the first one, but I can make it a better better/less noticeable. This one is a 2009 model (Mac Pro 4,1) and I was able to flash it to the 5,1 firmware. I started High Sierra installing before I left. I'll probably steal the memory and SSD sled out of this guy for my final build. The 24GB of RAM is in three 8GB sticks, so the first three slots are filled, and the others are empty. I think that means it can't do real triple channel since I don't have 6 slots filled, but I doubt I'd notice a difference outside of benchmarking.

Once I upgrade processors, the new unit will support 1333MHz RAM vs. the existing 1066. I can get 24GB (6x4GB) of 1333MHz memory for under $50, so that may be an option as well.

( Last edited by Laminar; Dec 3, 2018 at 04:19 PM. )
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 3, 2018, 04:12 PM
 
Can't people pack things properly for shipping? I bought my 2009 MacPro used off eBay. It came in original box, with no case damage.

My only problem was they hadn't tightened one of the PCI cover locks, it came loose. But caused no damage.
     
Laminar  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Iowa, how long can this be? Does it really ruin the left column spacing?
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 3, 2018, 05:51 PM
 
Oops, just bought something else. A seller popped up with matched pairs of X5690s for $130/pair. They're usually $150/pair from China with forever shipping. I had $100 in Paypal from selling some car parts so that was an easy grab.

The X5680s I ordered from a "US based seller" didn't get dropped off at the post office for six days and then it turned out they were in Hawaii. Yeah, those were definitely coming from China, too.

I'll throw the X5680s in one of the units I'm flipping, upgraded 12-core units seem to go for $550+, so those should actually pay off well.
     
OreoCookie
Moderator
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hilbert space
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 3, 2018, 07:44 PM
 
Until later this year I had a 12-core Mac Pro from the same vintage, an absolute beast of a machine — especially after I put in an SSD. I wanted to be daring and get a PCIe-based SSD to work, but that was too much of a hassle and I ended up getting a Samsung SATA-based SSD. Plus, this machine was a nice foot heater

A former colleague who left our group bequeathed me a 2013 Mac Pro with 8 cores. I can use the higher single-core performance and don't mind having four less cores.
I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy every minute of it.
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 3, 2018, 09:32 PM
 
My PCIe slots are too precious. When I get an SSD, it will be a SATA drive.

My slots are occupied by:
Main GPU (7970, driver support from 10.7 - 10.14)
Old GPU (GT-120), driver support from 10.5 - 10.13
eSATA card
USB3 card

The GT-120 is mostly for old games in 10.5 - 10.6. And accessing AppleWorks files, though SheepShaver helps. I didn't want to swap main graphics cards every time I wanted to run something in the Leopards. Not sure how many insertions PCIe slots are good for either.

My boot drive is partitioned for every OS version 10.5 - 10.14, which took awhile to set up. I've been hoping 4TB SSDs will plunge dramatically in price.
     
Laminar  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Iowa, how long can this be? Does it really ruin the left column spacing?
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 4, 2018, 09:49 AM
 
The last four machines are supposed to arrive today. These were a bit of a gamble as they only showed full specs for one of them (an 8-core 3,1), which should sell for ~$200. The only specifications offered for the other three were "A1289" which means they could be 4,1 or 5,1. From the pictures, one of them is a single processor and the other two were dual processor machines. I'm hoping one of the DP machines is a 5,1 with a decent case so I can make that my permanent machine. Otherwise I'm going to have to pick the least bent/least scratched case and transfer the 5,1 goodies into it.
     
Laminar  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Iowa, how long can this be? Does it really ruin the left column spacing?
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 4, 2018, 01:00 PM
 
Well apparently they required a signature? I didn't see that on the tracking info. And the post office is closed tomorrow for HW, so I can't get these boxes until Thursday. Cool.
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Online
Reply With Quote
Dec 4, 2018, 02:44 PM
 
Originally Posted by Laminar View Post
And the post office is closed tomorrow for HW
“Read my lips. No new Pros.”
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 4, 2018, 06:21 PM
 
If you could hit the post office right before closing today, the failed deliveries should be back from their runs. I think I picked up a parcel that way once, though it's been a very long time.
     
Laminar  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Iowa, how long can this be? Does it really ruin the left column spacing?
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 5, 2018, 03:22 PM
 
I wasn't off work until well after 5 so no chance of trying that. Wife was out of town last night and I was hoping to spend some quality time with some computers but no luck.

Turns out my 6" bar clamps weren't wide enough to go around the MP case, so I grabbed a couple of 12" clamps over lunch break today and started on the worst case, this is the one that was advertised as bent. I could get it back inline with the clamps, but the handle is pretty badly deformed and the springback was quite large - it's not even close.





If I wanted to get this one right, I'd have to disassemble the case, remove that entire top piece, and spend some time beating it all back into shape. There's nothing more I can do with it in place.

The other unit, the one that got slightly bent in shipping, I was able to do more with. I worked on it with a mallet yesterday and then used the bar clamps and some JB Weld to put everything back in place. I'll let it set up for a day or two and then after that it should be completely unnoticeable.



     
Laminar  (op)
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Iowa, how long can this be? Does it really ruin the left column spacing?
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 6, 2018, 04:25 PM
 
Picked up the last shipment today. One 3,1, two 4,1s, and one 5,1. Three of the four were damaged in shipment ranging from a little to a lot.











They've been mixed and matched a bit - a DP machine has a single processor tray and vice versa. They were advertised as having no HD, but between the four units there are at least six hard drives plus one SSD taped to the outside of one case.

I'll have to check them out tonight and see what works and doesn't.
     
reader50
Administrator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 6, 2018, 08:52 PM
 
It's like an evil department that ruins high-powered Macs. Those pics are painful.

Were they all from the same seller, or have most sellers blown their shipping skills?

I'd give them complaints. That's real shipping damage, from incompetent packing.
     
P
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 7, 2018, 07:06 AM
 
This thread, along with the release of lovely new case, is inspiring me to build something again. It has been years, but once Zen 2 is out, maybe.
The new Mac Pro has up to 30 MB of cache inside the processor itself. That's more than the HD in my first Mac. Somehow I'm still running out of space.
     
subego
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, Bang! Bang!
Status: Online
Reply With Quote
Dec 7, 2018, 07:46 AM
 
Originally Posted by Laminar View Post
Three of the four were damaged in shipment ranging from a little to a lot.
That’s just ****ing ridiculous.

Not a deep insight on my part, but the compulsion to say it anyway is too strong.
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:30 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,