Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > PowerMac picture thread

PowerMac picture thread (Page 24)
Thread Tools
BigDaddy
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pflugerville, Tx
Status: Offline
Nov 9, 2003, 07:07 PM
 
Originally posted by dantley:
My set-up.



Dual PowerMac G5 w/ 2 Gigs of Ram
20" Apple Cinema Display
JBL Creature speakers
Logitech MX700 Mouse


15" Titanium Powerbook 1GHZ / 1Gig of Ram
SuperDrive (2x DVD Burning)
15Gig 3G iPod

P4 3.02 / 512mgs of Ram
21" Sony CRT (For the games baby)
Radeon 9800XT 256mg video card
Klipsh Promedia 4.1 Speakers
Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS
Logitech MX700 Mouse

Dell Latitude Centrino Laptop
Yawn...

How do you like the video card in the PC? Is it worth the bucks?
     
dantley
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bay Area, California
Status: Offline
Nov 9, 2003, 07:27 PM
 
Originally posted by BigDaddy:
How do you like the video card in the PC? Is it worth the bucks?
The Radeon 9800XT is fast! Not sure it is worth $500. Since I can't flash the Radeon 9700 Pro (I was going to use this in my mac), I'm going to sell it to a friend... so that makes the price of the 9800XT easier to justify.

... I cleaned my room.

     
BigDaddy
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pflugerville, Tx
Status: Offline
Nov 9, 2003, 07:37 PM
 
Originally posted by dantley:
The Radeon 9800XT is fast! Not sure it is worth $500. Since I can't flash the Radeon 9700 Pro (I was going to use this in my mac), I'm going to sell it to a friend... so that makes the price of the 9800XT easier to justify.

... I cleaned my room.


Very nice. Is your dell the 600m or the D600? And I think you need the bigger Apple monitor.
     
dantley
Forum Regular
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bay Area, California
Status: Offline
Nov 9, 2003, 11:11 PM
 
The Dell is a Latitude D600. This 20" LCD is a monster! The 23" must be insane.
     
BigDaddy
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pflugerville, Tx
Status: Offline
Nov 9, 2003, 11:29 PM
 
Originally posted by dantley:
The Dell is a Latitude D600. This 20" LCD is a monster! The 23" must be insane.

One more question where did you get your desk from. I am looking for something like that.
     
MaxPower2k3
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NYC
Status: Offline
Nov 9, 2003, 11:44 PM
 
Originally posted by BigDaddy:
One more question where did you get your desk from. I am looking for something like that.
looks like an ikea find to me.


i Ikea

"I start fires!"
     
striker100
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jul 2003
Status: Offline
Nov 9, 2003, 11:44 PM
 
BigDaddy:
Where did you buy the 9800XT?
Is it an ATI manufactured one or from a third party?
     
BigDaddy
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pflugerville, Tx
Status: Offline
Nov 10, 2003, 08:14 PM
 
Originally posted by striker100:
BigDaddy:
Where did you buy the 9800XT?
Is it an ATI manufactured one or from a third party?

It is not me that has the card I was just asking about it.
     
Åtomic
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Status: Offline
Nov 13, 2003, 10:28 PM
 
My Studio







     
Lateralus
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arizona
Status: Offline
Nov 13, 2003, 10:55 PM
 
I like chicken
I like liver
Meow Mix, Meow Mix
Please de-liv-er
     
Kenneth
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Bellevue, WA
Status: Offline
Nov 14, 2003, 03:15 AM
 
good, Åtomic... any sample?
     
Eyenovation
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Southern California
Status: Offline
Nov 14, 2003, 03:21 AM
 
Dumb question...
What's the knob or dial you have there by the power switch??
     
Åtomic
Junior Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Status: Offline
Nov 14, 2003, 07:14 AM
 
Originally posted by Eyenovation:
Dumb question...
What's the knob or dial you have there by the power switch??
A fan controller. you can view the mod here

http://forums.macnn.com/showthread.p...hreadid=188573
     
Kleekoh
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2002
Status: Offline
Nov 16, 2003, 04:14 PM
 
My Recording Studio

(The PowerMac G5 is on order, for now, just our eMac placeholder)

More info and pics are at blueroom.ca
     
Lateralus
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arizona
Status: Offline
Nov 19, 2003, 07:18 PM
 
I like chicken
I like liver
Meow Mix, Meow Mix
Please de-liv-er
     
driven
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Status: Offline
Nov 19, 2003, 08:18 PM
 
Originally posted by PowerMacMan:
Behold my awesomeness!
Your awesomeness has exceeded the bandwidth capacity for your website.
     
Lateralus
Moderator Emeritus
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Arizona
Status: Offline
Nov 19, 2003, 08:44 PM
 
Originally posted by driven:
Your awesomeness has exceeded the bandwidth capacity for your website.
Nooooooooo!
I like chicken
I like liver
Meow Mix, Meow Mix
Please de-liv-er
     
C-Eye
Forum Regular
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Earth
Status: Offline
Nov 20, 2003, 10:43 AM
 
Yay, i finally got a new G4 tower to replace my Rev. C iMac so obviously i'm now in Mac heaven. Even if it is only a 1.25 single proc (all i could afford) this baby is plenty fast for me.

My New Setup

BTW the ViewSonic 19" monitor is pretty decent for only about $250. I was pleasently surprised.
     
Eyenovation
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Southern California
Status: Offline
Nov 20, 2003, 02:04 PM
 
Needs a nice 23" Cinemda Display now, don't you think?
     
gto47
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: May 2001
Status: Offline
Dec 2, 2003, 01:18 AM
 




my other setup...
( Last edited by gto47; Dec 2, 2003 at 01:29 AM. )
Mac Pro 8x2.8 | Macbook 2.13 | Saab Trionic 7 (thats right, runs on a 68k!)
     
SSharon
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Teaneck, NJ
Status: Offline
Dec 2, 2003, 04:50 PM
 
Originally posted by C-Eye:
Yay, i finally got a new G4 tower to replace my Rev. C iMac so obviously i'm now in Mac heaven. Even if it is only a 1.25 single proc (all i could afford) this baby is plenty fast for me.

My New Setup

that looks like an epson stylus photo 820 back there, am I right? Does yours cooperate for you because mine sucks.
     
olePigeon
Clinically Insane
Join Date: Dec 1999
Status: Offline
Dec 2, 2003, 05:42 PM
 
Originally posted by Commodus:
Man, if the Cube returned in earnest (preferably with a PPC 970 chip) I would be incredibly tempted to get one. As it stands, I'm not too eager to get one and promptly have to replace half the components (new video card, CPU, hard disk, and so on) just to get a modern machine. If I got the Cube or the replacement components for free, however...
Cube would be awsome if it had:

PPC970
AGP8x
1 open PCI-X

That's all it needs to be successful, an open PCI slot.
"…I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than
you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods,
you will understand why I dismiss yours." - Stephen F. Roberts
     
driven
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Status: Offline
Dec 2, 2003, 10:13 PM
 
Originally posted by olePigeon:
Cube would be awsome if it had:

PPC970
AGP8x
1 open PCI-X

That's all it needs to be successful, an open PCI slot.
I could care less about a PCI slot, but I would like to fit a normal sized video card in it. :-)
     
C-Eye
Forum Regular
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Earth
Status: Offline
Dec 3, 2003, 01:08 AM
 
Originally posted by SSharon:
that looks like an epson stylus photo 820 back there, am I right? Does yours cooperate for you because mine sucks.
Yeah, it's fine, although i don't do a heck of a lot of printing, just regular text and the occasional photo but it does a good job with no problems so far in the 4 months or so I've had it.
     
Leonis
Senior User
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Status: Offline
Dec 3, 2003, 03:13 AM
 
My new, Motorola-less set up.

Still in mess becasue I am still cleaning up my place.



Dual 2.0 GHz G5 with 2.5GB RAM, 160GB + 80GB Seagate SATA HDs, Super Drive, TDK Tremor S80 Speakers (Old), 20" Cinema Display, Wacom 6x8 Intuos SE tablet, Kensington Optical Mouse, 48x CD-RW in a Firewire case, 40GB HD in a USB 2.0 case, SmartDisk USB floppy drive. APC BackUPS XS 1000 UPS system.

iBook G3 900Mhz, 384MB RAM, 40GB HD. No airport yet
MacPro 2.66, 5GB RAM, 250GB + 160GB HDs, 23" Cinema Display
MacBook Pro 1.83GHz, 2GB RAM (from work)
MacBook (White) 1.83GHz, 2GB RAM
     
MindFad
Posting Junkie
Join Date: Sep 2001
Status: Offline
Dec 3, 2003, 04:05 AM
 
Righteous setup, Leonis.
     
Link
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hyrule
Status: Offline
Dec 3, 2003, 05:55 AM
 
Christmasy and clean

Well worth the time to look at (and the time it took me to organize everything so nicely)
     
mousehouse
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: netherlands
Status: Offline
Dec 3, 2003, 05:59 AM
 
Leonis, what's the brand of those external FW/USB cases you have? They look nice with the G5...
MacBook Pro 13"/2.66 (09/2010), Mac Mini c2d/1.83 (01/2008)
     
Leonis
Senior User
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Status: Offline
Dec 3, 2003, 12:34 PM
 
Originally posted by mousehouse:
Leonis, what's the brand of those external FW/USB cases you have? They look nice with the G5...

This is it



I bought the FW case for $70 CDN and the USB 2.0 case for $50 CDN. I actually want to get 2 fw cases but they only have one left so I have to go USB 2 for the hard drive (only use it for temporary file backup)

The CD burner and HD I put in these cases are very old but they still work well. It would be a huge waste if I throw them away (and no one will buy them)
MacPro 2.66, 5GB RAM, 250GB + 160GB HDs, 23" Cinema Display
MacBook Pro 1.83GHz, 2GB RAM (from work)
MacBook (White) 1.83GHz, 2GB RAM
     
bimmerphile
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Boise, ID
Status: Offline
Dec 3, 2003, 10:23 PM
 
Originally posted by Leonis:
This is it



I bought the FW case for $70 CDN and the USB 2.0 case for $50 CDN. I actually want to get 2 fw cases but they only have one left so I have to go USB 2 for the hard drive (only use it for temporary file backup)

The CD burner and HD I put in these cases are very old but they still work well. It would be a huge waste if I throw them away (and no one will buy them)
Amen. I have 2 of those, both FW, one with a 120GB HD, the other witha black face 52x cd burner.

Gotta love the $39 on ebay
-Kris Olson | 12" PBG4 1.5GHz
     
mindwaves
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Irvine, CA
Status: Offline
Dec 4, 2003, 12:03 PM
 
Sorry about the bad lighting. I like it semi-dark.


Dual 867 MDD with Superdrive, 768 MB RAM, ATi 8500
17'' ASD
Apple Pro Speakers
MX 500 Mouse

HP PSC 1210 Printer

     
driven
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Status: Offline
Dec 4, 2003, 12:41 PM
 
Originally posted by mindwaves:
Sorry about the bad lighting. I like it semi-dark.


Dual 867 MDD with Superdrive, 768 MB RAM, ATi 8500
17'' ASD
Apple Pro Speakers
MX 500 Mouse

HP PSC 1210 Printer

I like the lampshade. <GRIN>

Seriously though ... nice system. :-)
     
mousehouse
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: netherlands
Status: Offline
Dec 4, 2003, 02:40 PM
 
Originally posted by Leonis:
This is it



I bought the FW case for $70 CDN and the USB 2.0 case for $50 CDN. I actually want to get 2 fw cases but they only have one left so I have to go USB 2 for the hard drive (only use it for temporary file backup)

The CD burner and HD I put in these cases are very old but they still work well. It would be a huge waste if I throw them away (and no one will buy them)
thanks a lot! now i just need to find that $39 Ebay auction
MacBook Pro 13"/2.66 (09/2010), Mac Mini c2d/1.83 (01/2008)
     
SSharon
Professional Poster
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Teaneck, NJ
Status: Offline
Dec 4, 2003, 04:32 PM
 
this looks very similar but I'm not sure if its the same so don't hold me to it.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=51080
     
Leonis
Senior User
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Status: Offline
Dec 4, 2003, 05:17 PM
 
Originally posted by SSharon:
this looks very similar but I'm not sure if its the same so don't hold me to it.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=51080
NO! Don't go for this one. There is no power switch on this case. The only way to turn it on/off is to plug/unplug the power cord. Very clumsy
MacPro 2.66, 5GB RAM, 250GB + 160GB HDs, 23" Cinema Display
MacBook Pro 1.83GHz, 2GB RAM (from work)
MacBook (White) 1.83GHz, 2GB RAM
     
TheMosco
Mac Elite
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: MA, USA
Status: Offline
Dec 4, 2003, 08:46 PM
 
Originally posted by olePigeon:
Hope someone doesn't try to crash an airplane into your PC.
OK ok ok... I took all your advice. I am in the process of updating my pc(about 500 bucks into it) to make it a home theater/Gaming PC. My mac will be moved to to the desk and the PC will go next to the TV. I also added a 3g ipod to the setup and will add an external firewire hd once i get the new stuff for my pc. I can't open the ipod till christmas though.

I wont have the PC stuff until christmas because i can't spend 500 dollars on my teen budget but "Santa" can.

btw, going to get a sonata case for my PC because of its silence compared to other pcs. I will post a new pick as soon as everything gets in.
     
-Q-
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Status: Offline
Dec 6, 2003, 03:10 AM
 
And one more set-up to keep the thread alive:

Office:



Close ups:



     
Johan_Sjoholm
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2003
Status: Offline
Dec 7, 2003, 10:53 AM
 
     
driven
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Status: Offline
Dec 7, 2003, 11:51 AM
 
Originally posted by Johan_Sjoholm:
Howdy folks,
http://www.phs.se/~johans/b31-031206...6-Images/7.jpg
for more pictures just head over to
http://www.phs.se/~johans/b31-031206/b31-031206.html
comments ?
Cool. What kind of business are you in?
     
Johan_Sjoholm
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Apr 2003
Status: Offline
Dec 7, 2003, 12:20 PM
 
Originally posted by driven:
Cool. What kind of business are you in?
We're developing a linux based transparent clustering software that includes transparent memory, sockets and so forth ; it's a hybrid between software (linux kernel modified heavily by us) and a special hardware interface card+external box that we've developed.
Basically you start your linux application (must be processor intens and SMP capable) on the master node (one master node and up to twenty slave nodes) as usual and it automatically migrates the software on to the other nodes without the application having to be specially written or cluster capable. Any application more or less will work, like for an example a rendering engine for animation or film will automatically take advantage without the actual application being aware of it utilizing twenty+ machine's power and therefor completing its task much faster.

Everything is happening within the kernel space and the hardware space and we never actually migrate / copy the actual application on to the other machines (that would be a license violation in most cases after all, something we don't desire to do even if that would be the "easy" (relative to the task we're doing) way out), it just utlizes the memory and the cpu strenght..

anyway, the place is still under construction so it's a bit of a mess. The network is still being pulled on a few places, and the new server room isn't all set up yet, nor is all of the developers desks / workstations up working yet. That's the curse of moving, and that's the curse of expanding.

Neat place to work at tough!
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:52 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,