Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Alternative Operating Systems > Linux on MacPro

Linux on MacPro
cgc
Professional Poster
Jun 13, 2013, 07:59 AM

I have a 2006 1,1 MacPro and am feeling left behind regarding OSX. I've been using Linux in one form or another since 2004 but would like to clone my current OSX onto a spare drive and stick it in the closet. I then want to just boot into Linux somehow. I've seen articles online explaining this but I'm curious if anyone's done this and if they've experienced any problems which makes them regret the switch.

Also, if I'm booting into Linux can I simply buy any Linux-supported GPU and plug it in (so long as I have the right power cable)?

If I do a dual boot config via rEFIt is it easy to convert that to single boot without reinstalling Linux? Thanks.
"Like a midget at a urinal, I was going to have to stay on my toes." Frank Drebin, Naked Gun 33 1/3: The Final Insult

angelmb
Addicted to MacNN
Jun 13, 2013, 08:56 AM

It doesn't look very promising…

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/MacPro

besson3c
Clinically Insane
Jun 13, 2013, 12:31 PM

As long as you have rEFIt installed I see no problem.

angelmb
Addicted to MacNN
Jun 14, 2013, 08:41 AM

I am not informed enough to make a well-grounded statement about this but, wouldn't it be cooler
to get OS X Mavericks running on the 2006 Mac Pro.?