Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Applications > questions about bbedit for new switcher

questions about bbedit for new switcher
schk
Dedicated MacNNer
Jan 15, 2003, 11:48 AM

I just recieved my new 1ghz TiBook w/ SD yesterday, and it is my first Mac. I've been using PCs all my life and I'm quite accustomed and depend on some apps to do most of my work. One of those apps is Homesite, which is basically a beefed up text editor for web development. Anyways, my friends said the Mac equivalent of homesite is bbedit. Please bear with me if any of these questions are extremely stupid as I am total newbie when it comes to macs.

The reason I liked homesite was mostly because of it's auto tag completion, after you type a starting tag like <table> for example it will close it automatically with a </table>. Is the only similar feature is the close current tag button? It would seem quite tedious to have to click a button to close the current tag or hit a shortcut key (i think i'm just too accustomed to the auto-complete function). Or is this something that just needs getting used to?

I'm always used to a file pane open that would lists all the files in the current directory, which I mostly used to drag and drop images to auto create img tags or just browse around and open and close files which i would want to edit. How would I accomplish this with bbedit?

Also, with homesite there were simple shortcuts to create <p>, <br>, tags etc. Just using the bbedit shortcut to insert a break results in an added pop up window and then having to click ok or hit enter, which seems awkward.