Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Mac Desktops > PowerMac G5 1.8Ghz Single (late 2004, 600Mhz FSB) - The Freeze Bug

PowerMac G5 1.8Ghz Single (late 2004, 600Mhz FSB) - The Freeze Bug
Thread Tools
Thorne^
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 7, 2005, 04:43 AM
 



Hello

Do you own an PowerMac G5 1.8Ghz Single (late 2004, 600Mhz FSB), and he freezes often after a uptime of 2 hours and more, if you play a Video with Quicktime in full-screen mode, a photo slideshow with Preview or iPhoto, since you run Mac OS X Tiger on it? Then read the following informations:

The affected users of the PowerMac G5 1.8Ghz Single in Germany have a Website for it. We explain in english the Freeze-Bug and the other known bugs of the PowerMac G5 1.8Ghz Single (late 2004, 600Mhz FSB).

We made also a list with Names and Serial-Numbers of affected users, and we would like to offer all of you to participate, and if you like, we add also your names and serial numbers to the list. It will show, that cannot be some individual cases only.

We plan also a special Fax Event, we send all a Fax with same Texts to Apple Ireland in Cork (for american citizens to Apple in Cupertino), with all the informations about the Freezing and the other bugs, with all Names and Serial Numbers. We would like to offer all of you, to participate the Fax Event too.

With this fax, we want to make Apple know, we will not hesitate to inform the public, the press and the consumer protection, if Apple does not offer an bugfix or an exchange of the bad Mac 1.8 SP to the concerned customers (for example a G5 dual processor Mac ).

Please have no fear, nobody except Apple, can assign the Names and Serial Numbers addresses to the real postal addresses of everyone, so your privacy is always secure. We in Germany think, we should use any useful chance, you too?

A few germans reported: Level2 Supporters said to them a few days ago, Apple works on a bugfix solution, which could be a Firmware Update or a Tiger bugfix, or combined. A possible release was assumed for the next 7-14 days, means middle of August. If the date is not kept, we plan the fax Event.

We will inform you about the special day!



The current List of affected Users with the Serial Numbers: http://www.g5freeze.com/page4/page4.html

The main Index: http://www.g5freeze.com


If you know other large french Mac Communities who might be intrested to participate, or large Mac Communities in other Countries (for example the USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Brasil, UK, Ireland, Scotland, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Italy, Greece, Austria, Switzerland, Netherlands, Belgium, etc.) don't hestitate to name them.

Contact for questions and your suggestions (in english please): "tomvos @ macnews.de" (without the spaces between the @ char)



PS: Don't post this informations on Apple Discussions, they would remove them or close the thread. We want to suprise Apple and hope they have enough paper in the Fax Machine on the Fax Event Day.
( Last edited by Thorne^; Aug 8, 2005 at 02:46 PM. )
     
Don Pickett
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 7, 2005, 03:32 PM
 
I'm waiting on the appearance of the promised bugfix before I get really pissed.
The era of anthropomorphizing hardware is over.
     
Todd Madson
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 8, 2005, 03:55 PM
 
So explain this:
-the machine is up and running.
-running certain applications (or combination thereof) causes:
-sleep?
-an actual hard lock (i.e. screen and mouse stay stationary, reboot allows it to work again)?
-kernel panic?

-Any particular combination of said symptoms seem to make it happen more often than not?
-What is your energy saver control panel setting?
-If Chud tools is installed, is nap disabled?

-Any particularly high temperatures noted when this happens?
-Was this noted in Tiger or did it occur in Panther?
-Have any of the updates recently lessened or worsened the behavior?

-Describe your configurations (ram, drives, video card, etc.)

You have to describe every detail before it can be assumed I suspect.
     
Todd Madson
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 8, 2005, 04:02 PM
 
Hm.
I read this:
http://www.g5freeze.com/page2/page2.html

I wonder if after the "quicktime freeze" the machine can still be SSH'ed into from a remote
machine. It almost sounds like some video card or OS integration problem. If not then it
is a true hang. If it still can be accessed then....it brings some interesting possibilities to mind.
     
Thorne^  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 8, 2005, 05:58 PM
 
Originally Posted by Todd Madson
Hm.
I read this:
http://www.g5freeze.com/page2/page2.html

I wonder if after the "quicktime freeze" the machine can still be SSH'ed into from a remote
machine. It almost sounds like some video card or OS integration problem. If not then it
is a true hang. If it still can be accessed then....it brings some interesting possibilities to mind.
Hello Todd

Yes a SSH remote connection is possible while the GUI is frozen. If you read everything on G5freeze, you will see it freezes with all video cards.


If you have the late 2004 Modell with Mac OS X 10.4.x, take a look at http://www.g5freeze.com/page10/page10.html and follow the instructions. Then you will see it freezes.
     
Agent69
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2000
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 9, 2005, 02:13 PM
 
That is a really odd problem.
Agent69
     
Thorne^  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 10, 2005, 04:17 AM
 
Hello

Macnn reports about the problems in his news:

http://www.macnn.com/articles/05/08/...roc.g5.issues/

Thank you MacNN!
     
polendo
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Monterrey, Mexico
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 10, 2005, 11:06 PM
 
In all sincerity ...Good luck Thorne.. I do hope you guys get fixed those problems. You guys deserve a quality product.
     
discotronic
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richmond,Va
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 11, 2005, 12:01 AM
 
Well, it is official, my PowerMac is one of the unlucky ones. I have been trouble shooting this thing for way to long. This really pisses me off. I have been having trouble with it from day one. This thing was a replacement for a piece of sh*t iMac G5. Now I have a piece of sh*t PowerMac G5.

I have been trying to play Star Wars: Battlefront and it freezes every time I open the app. I have been trying to play X2: The Threat and the machine freezes every single time I try to launch the game. It has done this with other games also but I can't think of which ones at this point. I try to eject my iPod from iTunes and the machines freezes. I go to the Quicktime site (which come to find out is one way to test the machine) and the thing freezes.

I'm calling Apple tomorrow. I am getting sick of paying high dollar for a computer and having to deal with bad QC. Apple used to be about quality but that era seems to have passed.

If I want to get any real work done I have to use my iBook 300MHz or my PC. What a waste of money.
     
voltaje
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Mar 2003
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 11, 2005, 01:04 PM
 
Hi,

I have the same problem.

It will not be a problem of the Firmware?

PowerBok Al 17". PowerMac G5 x2
     
Todd Madson
Mac Elite
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 11, 2005, 01:17 PM
 
I mentioned this in one of the other threads but the fact that the interface freezes
but the machine can be remoted into via ssh means it hasn't hung, but the interface
crashed.

Some user here ended up going remoting into the machine and running console
and found a repeating error message regarding the System Management Unit
which could be the problem.
     
Thorne^  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 11, 2005, 04:57 PM
 
Originally Posted by polendo
In all sincerity ...Good luck Thorne.. I do hope you guys get fixed those problems. You guys deserve a quality product.
Thank you polendo, we can need it
     
Thorne^  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 11, 2005, 05:10 PM
 
Originally Posted by Todd Madson
I mentioned this in one of the other threads but the fact that the interface freezes
but the machine can be remoted into via ssh means it hasn't hung, but the interface
crashed.

Some user here ended up going remoting into the machine and running console
and found a repeating error message regarding the System Management Unit
which could be the problem.
Well me and many others looked in every log file, we never saw such smu entries while the GUI was frozen or after it.
If we waited up to 2 hrs, did the frozen Program and GUI work again, we found then a entry in the windowserver.log file:

kCGErrorFailure: CGXDisableUpdate: UI updates were forcibly disabled by application "Safari" for over 1 second. Server has re-enabled them.

or

kCGErrorFailure: CGXDisableUpdate: UI updates were forcibly disabled by application "Quicktime" for over 1 second. Server has re-enabled them.

Similar entries are visible from time to time, even without freezing.

Personally i think, its a Hardware related problem or the firmware of the Mac isnt compatible with Tiger. All errors except the freeze problem, are also there with Panther installed.
     
G0Ducks
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 12, 2005, 07:40 PM
 
I went back t Panther because of this problem. I am also going to tell my University about this issue and insist of signage regarding Tiger icompatablilities with G5 1.8 machines.

I have a single processor 1.8 and a 128 9600 video card. Bought the machine this feb... so mad.

Freezes on:
SlideShow in Finder
SlideShow in iPhoto
Playing Quicktime movies in Safari
Presenting movies "on screen." When the movie resizes... FREEZE
When a game loads... Or when a game quits. Simply, when the compute is making a resolution / mode change.

Bummed,

R
     
spacefreak
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 13, 2005, 11:57 PM
 
My friend's SP1.8 has this bug. Totally sucks, especially when he and his wife finally gave in after years of my repeated recommendations that they switch to Apple. If Apple was cool about it, I'm sure they would be satisfied. But Apple support personnel acted as if there was no problem, even when threads are burning up the Apple discussion forums.

So the SP1.8 G5 sits in a corner now while their 3.5-year-old Dell powers their Apple 20" flat screen. It's not that they don't want it to be fixed... it's just that they don't have the time to be running through all these hoops to get Apple to acknowledge a problem and produce a solution. They just want a computer that works. And their being Mac newbies was frustrating to them when they called Apple support, because they couldn't properly describe the freeze causes other than "sometimes when it goes to sleep."

At least now, there's a rally by other owners who experience the same exact thing. And there is that flowchart on g5freeze.com that diagrams exactly how to produce the freeze(s). So it looks like, when they get some time (they just had a baby), they plan to backup their files from their Apple and send it in for repair.
     
Thorne^  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 19, 2005, 06:24 AM
 
Reminder

Don't forget to add yourself to the list of the flawed G5 1.8 SP owners, it will show, we are many affected users.
     
Thorne^  (op)
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Aug 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Aug 21, 2005, 09:49 AM
 
I forgot the URL: http://www.g5freeze.com/page4/page4.html

Klick on contact and email your name and serialnumber, let the list of flawed g5 1.8 owners grow, to show Apple we are many concerned users.
     
SunSeeker
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 7, 2005, 12:36 PM
 
I too have this problem and have sent in my details to G5freeze.
Has anyone noticed System Update triggering the fault?
If I leave the computer to go to sleep for a short period of time while updates are being downloaded the computer will be frozen when I return.
I am not sure I didn't have this problem under Panther too?

Did the fax event day go ahead?
     
G0Ducks
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 16, 2005, 03:11 PM
 
Just an update:
I have contacted apple. They ARE aware of the problem. After I called, the tech said that he has "accelerated" the issue to the developers (Or something like that...) Basically, there are a significant number of people now that have this problem who have taken the time to call apple and fully describe their issue.
I also pointed out the www.g5freeze.com site to the tech I spoke to. He was amazed that he had never heard of the site before and was very glad to see it now.

I have been given a case number, AND the personal email of the tech so that I can bug him about it every now and then...

He said that he doesn't have a time frame for a fix...He said that if turned out that there wasn't a solution, that the people who have contacted apple regarding this would be contacted and transfered to the customer relations dept. to make arrangements that would be "reasonable for both sides."

He had said something the effect that some people would have different needs as some people call in calm while some people call in irate...
That said... I called in without apple care and got all the way to a specialist without paying. I was totally calm the entire way. So, when and if you call, have a detailed record of your issues and present them in a way that is approachable.

The last thing is that the tech specialist said that apple feels that fixing this issue is in apples best interests. This could either mean that: 1. they want to make sure we got what we paid for by making a fix, or 2. that they know that they will lose money if they have to give us all new machines... or, 3. Both 1 and 2.

Anyway... there is a bit of hope

R
     
Don Pickett
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 16, 2005, 03:31 PM
 
Originally Posted by G0Ducks
Just an update:
I have contacted apple. They ARE aware of the problem. After I called, the tech said that he has "accelerated" the issue to the developers (Or something like that...) Basically, there are a significant number of people now that have this problem who have taken the time to call apple and fully describe their issue.
I also pointed out the www.g5freeze.com site to the tech I spoke to. He was amazed that he had never heard of the site before and was very glad to see it now.

I have been given a case number, AND the personal email of the tech so that I can bug him about it every now and then...

He said that he doesn't have a time frame for a fix...He said that if turned out that there wasn't a solution, that the people who have contacted apple regarding this would be contacted and transfered to the customer relations dept. to make arrangements that would be "reasonable for both sides."

He had said something the effect that some people would have different needs as some people call in calm while some people call in irate...
That said... I called in without apple care and got all the way to a specialist without paying. I was totally calm the entire way. So, when and if you call, have a detailed record of your issues and present them in a way that is approachable.

The last thing is that the tech specialist said that apple feels that fixing this issue is in apples best interests. This could either mean that: 1. they want to make sure we got what we paid for by making a fix, or 2. that they know that they will lose money if they have to give us all new machines... or, 3. Both 1 and 2.

Anyway... there is a bit of hope

R
Thanx for the update. If 10.4.3 doesn't fix the problem I am starting the process of getting Apple to replace my machine.
The era of anthropomorphizing hardware is over.
     
G0Ducks
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 16, 2005, 08:41 PM
 
Yep... Thats the plan for me too. I am starting to build my argument right now. I am going to ask for a machine that supports all the features of Tiger (like my machine now does) with stability(which my machine now does not), and then let THEM figure out which to give me.
I will also be expressing that I really Don't have the time to be doing this...Student / Freelance Designer, and that their speedy response to this issue is of utmost importance.

I think that most of all, one needs to remain calm when requesting / demanding a replacement. Remember, all the techs there are people too, and they really can respond to this however they want.

Anyway... Let's hope that there is indeed a fix in 10.4.3 so that we don't get anymore gray hairs

- Ryan Clark
www.ryanclarkdesign.com
     
Don Pickett
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 16, 2005, 09:18 PM
 
Originally Posted by G0Ducks
Yep... Thats the plan for me too. I am starting to build my argument right now. I am going to ask for a machine that supports all the features of Tiger (like my machine now does) with stability(which my machine now does not), and then let THEM figure out which to give me.
I will also be expressing that I really Don't have the time to be doing this...Student / Freelance Designer, and that their speedy response to this issue is of utmost importance.

I think that most of all, one needs to remain calm when requesting / demanding a replacement. Remember, all the techs there are people too, and they really can respond to this however they want.

Anyway... Let's hope that there is indeed a fix in 10.4.3 so that we don't get anymore gray hairs

- Ryan Clark
www.ryanclarkdesign.com
If you look at the thread about this in discussions.info.apple.com/powermacg5, some people are getting new DP 2.0s.
The era of anthropomorphizing hardware is over.
     
OogaBooga
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jul 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 16, 2005, 10:12 PM
 
The MOST important thing to remember is to be polite, calm, and VERY patient. Trust me, when a customer calls in cussing and yelling about something it makes the techs and geniuses not want to help them.
     
G0Ducks
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 16, 2005, 11:52 PM
 
Oh, for sure
Empathy... thats the key (really for everyone.)

R
     
ulenz
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 24, 2005, 06:11 AM
 
I own that baby too using Panther 10.3.9. If you disable the complete power management including monitor and harddisk and set cpu-power to "maximum" the malfunctions should disappear. You can use the idle running cpu power for distributed computing projects like [email protected] or climateprediction.net.
     
TETENAL
Addicted to MacNN
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: FFM
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 28, 2005, 09:08 PM
 
Originally Posted by Thorne^
Apple is not going to repair your PowerMac. They are developing a software update to avoid the problems with it.

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=302212
     
OogaBooga
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Jul 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 28, 2005, 09:37 PM
 
Good find.
     
G0Ducks
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 28, 2005, 10:14 PM
 
Hehe, beat me to it! Yah... Im really happy about this.

I actually got my RAM today too witch I am also happy about (I got some free RAM for my unhappiness with this situation and the overall inconvenience.)

Anyway. At least we have a public acceptance from apple regarding this issue now. Lets hope that this gets fixed in the next Tiger update. Actually, if you check the rumor sites, they are all saying that T.4.3 would be released save for some major issues to be fixed.

R
     
discotronic
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richmond,Va
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 29, 2005, 09:08 AM
 
Originally Posted by TETENAL
Apple is not going to repair your PowerMac. They are developing a software update to avoid the problems with it.

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=302212
Great info. I am glad that they are at least telling the public that there is a problem. Denial of a real problem is more serious than the problem itself in my mind.

I don't want to go through the "try to get another computer" game again. I just want what I have to be fixed. As long as that happens I will be a happy camper. Good thing I haven't had much of a chance to use it here lately. I think if I had to deal with the problems more than I do now I could end up very upset.
     
zerostar
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jan 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 29, 2005, 10:24 AM
 
Glad to hear!
     
polendo
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Monterrey, Mexico
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 29, 2005, 10:56 AM
 
Looks like the problem is on route on getting fixed. Congrats guys, you deserve nothing less.. even an apology from Apple for taking too long on fixing this.
     
SunSeeker
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 29, 2005, 06:14 PM
 
Check the date on the document. This is now over a month old.
A hidden document is hardly a public acknowledgment.
Thanks Tetenal for bringing it to our attention.
Now we should all use the comments field on the page to thank Apple but also express concern for the time taken and request some form of compensation.
I would settle for a year of .mac free at no cost to Apple
     
G0Ducks
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Sep 29, 2005, 06:22 PM
 
Wow... I guess I didn't notice this.
I have been compensated I guess, they sent me some free RAM (witch I received yesterday.) However, RAM in the long run is not going to do it for me. I really want my machine to run correctly. Im pretty sure, however, that this will all go away come T.4.3.

Heres for hoping!

R
     
TailsToo
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Westside Island
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 1, 2005, 07:25 PM
 
I just got a great deal on one, now I'm worried that I might be stuck with a lemon.... :/
     
G0Ducks
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 2, 2005, 12:43 PM
 
After the fix comes out... I am really considering selling my G5 to get an iBook... I will really miss the coreimage stuff, and my sexy aluminum box

R
     
polendo
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Monterrey, Mexico
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 2, 2005, 10:13 PM
 
Why would you sell the G5 if the fix is underway?
     
G0Ducks
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 2, 2005, 10:23 PM
 
Firstly, I wouldn't want to pass the machine off with the bug...

Secondly, because I could get an iBook or the new mac mini and a 17" Dell flat-screen for the same price.

Though... I really do like my machine. Bah... I'll keep it... I love this thing! I just want it to work darn it!

R
     
polendo
Mac Enthusiast
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Monterrey, Mexico
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 2, 2005, 11:17 PM
 
I know the feeling about passing on a lemon (had the same issue with my iBook G3). Hands off that G5 would sweep the floor with any iBook or Mini... I'm glad you will keep it.

regards
     
G0Ducks
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 12, 2005, 11:16 AM
 
Lets hope that there will be some kind of announcement about 10.4.3 at this meeting today... I'm relly getting tired of waiting, even with the free RAM they game me

Maybe I'll call today...
     
TailsToo
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Westside Island
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 15, 2005, 12:06 PM
 
Originally Posted by G0Ducks
Lets hope that there will be some kind of announcement about 10.4.3 at this meeting today... I'm relly getting tired of waiting, even with the free RAM they game me

Maybe I'll call today...

So did you ever call?

Mine doesn't seem to be too bad = it does freeze every once in a while, but it would be nice to know that I could count on it if I had to.
     
discotronic
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richmond,Va
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 27, 2005, 03:19 PM
 
I was told today that 10.4.3 will be released tonight and it is supposed to fix these problems. Hopefully this will mean the end to almost 6 months of BS.
     
G0Ducks
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 27, 2005, 03:23 PM
 
However, I was told today that T.4.3 will be released sometime this week and that after installing said update, the G5 1.8 fix will be available through the software update app.

R

Here's to hoping!
     
discotronic
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richmond,Va
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 27, 2005, 04:15 PM
 
However it does go one thing is for certain. If it doesn't fix the problem Apple will be replacing this machine with another (different) machine or by giving me a refund. The iPod Company, errr Apple seems to be going down the crapper lately.
     
TailsToo
Mac Elite
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Westside Island
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 27, 2005, 10:07 PM
 
Yeah, there are a lot of of quality issues lately... Apple can afford to make good stuff now. I hope the fix comes out soon... I am finding my 1.8 to be more and more problimatic lately...
     
Don Pickett
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2005, 12:53 AM
 
Originally Posted by G0Ducks
However, I was told today that T.4.3 will be released sometime this week and that after installing said update, the G5 1.8 fix will be available through the software update app.

R

Here's to hoping!
Oh, Jebus, let it be!
The era of anthropomorphizing hardware is over.
     
G0Ducks
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2005, 01:34 AM
 
Originally Posted by Don Pickett
Oh, Jebus, let it be!

Yeah.. I been praibing to jebus all day...

R
     
MacSweden
Fresh-Faced Recruit
Join Date: Oct 2005
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2005, 08:10 AM
 


Looks as though we will have to wait for a Firmware Update instead?

Saw this article yesterday on MacFixit.

http://www.macfixit.com/article.php?...51026074015157

Saw another one at http://www.macosxrumors.com




"God grant me Patience, and I need it RIGHT NOW!!!"
     
discotronic
Mac Elite
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richmond,Va
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2005, 09:03 AM
 
Screw this. It was Apple that told me the "without a doubt, it will be released tonight" crap. Time to call and get a new machine. This thing is costing me money.
     
G0Ducks
Grizzled Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Springfield, Oregon
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2005, 11:39 AM
 
Originally Posted by discotronic
Screw this. It was Apple that told me the "without a doubt, it will be released tonight" crap. Time to call and get a new machine. This thing is costing me money.
The tech that I spoke to said that the update would be released very soon. Within the week he expected. He then told me that 10.4.3 was required for the fix as it would be released via the software update. I asked him if this were a firmware update and he said that that's what it seemed like to him.
There was a minor amount of "seems" and "most-likelies" in there... Im going to call if the update is not released today.

I did however, express my utter disappointment with apple with this issue. Making us all hang in the dark, giving us "soon" for months... I told him that I may not consider a mac in the future.

R
     
Don Pickett
Professional Poster
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: New York, NY, USA
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Oct 28, 2005, 07:44 PM
 
Originally Posted by discotronic
Screw this. It was Apple that told me the "without a doubt, it will be released tonight" crap. Time to call and get a new machine. This thing is costing me money.
10.4.3 is Apple's last chance with me. If that does not fix it, I will get on the phone to them and raise hell until I get a new machine.
The era of anthropomorphizing hardware is over.
     
 
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:22 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,