Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > Team MacNN > Where to find up-to-date files

Where to find up-to-date files
sly
May 27, 2006, 09:04 AM

I am looking for the most up-to-date files for distributed computing on this site. When I look in the files area of the various projects, the latest update is 2003 and the files are old. Where can I find the latest files here? Yes, I am a noob.

reader50
Administrator
May 27, 2006, 12:44 PM

Yes, our old files pages need a complete rewrite. At the moment, the only current files we host are our BOINC optimized builds. Regular and Beta.

sly  (op)
Jun 6, 2006, 09:49 PM

Originally Posted by reader50
Yes, our old files pages need a complete rewrite. At the moment, the only current files we host are our BOINC optimized builds. Regular and Beta.
I see that the files for OSX Core Duo are CLI. I downloaded them. Now what? I am coming from 10 years on a Starmax with upgrades to OS9. I have no experience on OSX and need hand-holding for the Terminal.

beadman
Dedicated MacNNer
Jun 6, 2006, 10:00 PM

Billy:
Tell us what computer you have: make, model, amount of RAM, etc. Are you already running BOINC? If so, how: BOINC Manager, BOINC Menubar, or CLI? Which projects do you want to run: SETI, Einstein, or??? (there are a bunch of them) The list is at http://distributedcomputing.info/projects.html. The more info you give us, the easier it will be to help you.

beadman

arkayn
Dedicated MacNNer
Jun 6, 2006, 10:03 PM

For SETI I would just download the standard 5.4.9 boinc app and then download Alexkan's optimized client and work from that.

The standard app gives you a GUI to set up everything that you want and allow you to see what it going on.