MacNN Forums (
-   Tech News (
-   -   MySpace destroys existing blogs during mandatory user migration (

NewsPoster Jun 13, 2013 08:19 PM
MySpace destroys existing blogs during mandatory user migration
In the midst of the <a href="" rel='nofollow'>MySpace</a> reboot promoted and driven by Justin Timberlake, users have been forced into an update to its music discovery service. In the process, the company deleted existing blogs in an old format, and is forcing users to vote on the idea of getting deleted content back, with no guarantees or promises made by the company.<br />
<br />
The deletion was made with no warning by the company, and serves to alienate the few remaining fans it had before the rebirth of the service in January. Complaints to the company in comments on content speak to lost writing (presumably unretained by the author), loss of Internet history, deletion of photos and other scrubbing of content.<br />
<br />
MySpace says of the migration that the company is "focused on building the best MySpace possible. And to us, that means helping you discover connect and share with others using the best tools available. Going forward, we're concentrating on building and maintaining the features that make those experience better. That means you won't see a few products on the new site..." The company then lists blogs, private messages, videos, comments or posts, custom background design, and games as casualties of the migration.
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:20 PM.

Copyright © 2005-2007 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2