PDA

View Full Version : Epson driver hacks...

Millennium
Dec 13, 2001, 12:44 PM
I remember seeing a page out there that explained how to hack Epson printer drivers, to get support for the printers that they're holding back for no good reason whatsoever. Only problem is, it seems to have dropped off the face of the Net, and I can't find it again. Even Google isn't turning up anything.

Anyone else remember this page, by any chance?

xdck
Dec 13, 2001, 04:58 PM
epson solutions (http://www.xdck.com/ss2500.html)

if it's not online, please email - I have some views to xchange with my internet provider

DZinfo
Dec 13, 2001, 10:19 PM
Just wanted to say thank you for the info I have a Epson Photo Stylus 1200 that I have been trying to make work in OS X. I'm not a programmer and never worked with HexEdit or BBEdit before. If you can give me any additional info or lead me to a site that has a step by step list it would be much appreciated. This is a great printer , has amazing color, but I just don't want to fork out another 500 bucks for another printer to work in OS X.

Thanks Again

mrchin
Dec 14, 2001, 03:12 AM
OK, I did this Epson Solutions Hack on my Photo 1200. I used both a 1270 and 1280 driver plugin. I edited, and deleted and moved everything properly within the packages of the EPSON Printers Library files.

The good: The printer did finally show up as supported and either the 1270 or 80. It just won't print. I tried the different settings and using 1440 dpi or 360. Anything. But after a job spools, I hear the printer hesitate then Epson Queue comes up with a Communication error with the printer. Not working! I can go through every step of setup. But the printing and even checking any diagnostics or ink levels gives me this same error. What's gotta be corrected to get this to work?????

Help!

Dec 14, 2001, 04:00 AM
i followed the directions on the page listed for my 1200, and it works - at 1440 DPI (as the page mentions in the red text).