PDA

View Full Version : Real Newbie Question about servers

ProfDave
Dec 6, 1999, 11:03 PM
Okay, I am completely new to server stuff. Let me get that out of the way. I also have been told that setting up a server is not for the faint of heart. I know.

But suppose I wanted to set up a server; I have a cable connection so always connected. I have a couple of spare Macs (Powermacs and G3) which I could use. What would I really need to get a server up? (I want more than Apple's Peronal Web Sharing). How much cost am I looking at (for a simple server)? I guess server software and otjher things would be needed. I just want to know what the bare essentials are, and I can work up from there.

Also, if any of you can recommend books to help me get going just learning about setting up a server, that would be appreciated. Ultimately want to host my own (somewhat large) web site instead of doing it remotely, so I am looking down the road at cgi, perl and so on.

No, I cannot buy an Apple Server. We just got a new iMac, will getting a G4, and hope to get a new PowerBook when they come out. This is where our money is gong for hardware right now.

be gentle with me!......

fleshhorn
Dec 7, 1999, 05:21 PM
Alright, first of all I highly do not recommend serving any high traffic site from a cable connection. Access and latency times will be severely bogged down as readers anlarge and data flow is increased. It will save you time and headaches to pay an ISP 20-40 $ a month and have them host your high volume site on some high powered OC network.
If you so choose to do it yourself, you're looking at two options. MacOS X Server now on the G3, Mac OS X Server in the near future on the G4, or WebTen from Tenon Intersystems on any PPC running OS 8 or 9. WebStar is an options but performs far below the Apache derived Webten. Depending on your current G3's hardware, you might have to jack it up to run OS X efficiently.