Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Enthusiast Zone > Networking > Clear instructions for creating a virtual-host name?

Clear instructions for creating a virtual-host name?
olePigeon
Clinically Insane
Dec 6, 2011, 01:29 PM

I have three websites and only 1 server with 1 static IP. I'd like to have all three websites hosted on the server.

I was looking into it, and apparently I can set up some virtual-host names for different websites so they can use the same IP address. I've never done this before. Does anyone have clear instructions or a tutorial on how to set up a Snow Leopard Server so I can host 3 different websites with the same IP?

Thanks.
"…I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than
you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods,
you will understand why I dismiss yours." - Stephen F. Roberts

ibook_steve
Dec 6, 2011, 03:01 PM

I used to do this for a living when I worked for an ISP way back when, but I had completely forgotten.

You need to use CNAMEs to make the aliases once you've assigned a main name to the IP address.

This page looks like a good little tutorial:

Set Up a DNS Name Server | Webmonkey�| Wired.com

Steve
Celebrating 10 years and 4000 posts on MacNN!

olePigeon  (op)
Clinically Insane
Dec 6, 2011, 03:22 PM

I don't think that's quite what I'm looking for. I'm aware of CNAMEs, but isn't that for aliases for the same domain? Like www.whatever.com or mail.whatever.com.

I wanted to set up 3 completely different websites, i.e. www.whatever.com www.something.com and www.meaningless.com
( Last edited by olePigeon; Dec 6, 2011 at 03:45 PM. )