Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Hardware - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Consumer Hardware & Components > Monitor setup recommandation for rMBP

Monitor setup recommandation for rMBP
FireWire
Mac Elite
Nov 16, 2013, 04:05 AM

Hi! I'm on the brink of replacing my aging 20" mid-2007 iMac with a 15" 2013 rMBP. I'll use it mostly as a desktop and so it will be connected to an external monitor most of the time. I was wondering what route should I go in regard to my monitor setup. I'm currently a computer science student so I spend a lot of time in front of my computer. I use iMovie weekly, Photoshop frequently (for very small projects) and InDesign once in a while. I don't need exceptionnal color fidelity (gamut) since I'm not doing any design work professionally. I still want a good quality display which won't cause eyes fatigue. I also want good reliability since I tend to keep my goods a very long time and ideally, my monitor would last through a couple computers (about 10 years).

I'm currently happy with my 20" iMac but the trend seems to favor much larger screen (27") or dual-screen setup. I've never really tried working with either so I'm not really sure I'd really need it but people working with large and/or dual screens swears their work is easier and that it's really worth it. What would you suggest? My first idea was to buy a 27" monitor, like the iMac. Would I be better with two smaller screens? Would my computer suffer loss of perfomance while driving such a big display? I tried exporting a video on the MBP in an Apple Store and liked the performance. Would it take longer to render the file while driving the monitor? (I'd buy the one with the dedicated video card)