Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Software - Troubleshooting and Discussion > Applications > iChat Won't Launch

iChat Won't Launch
Thread Tools
zacharydz
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: LV
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 3, 2004, 03:50 PM
 
When I click on iChat, the triangle appears below the icon, it bounces a couple of times, and then quits. I have tried having the console running when I do this, and it doesnt report anything. I repaired permissions. No success.

I've completely trashed all iChat preferences, program, etc. I then used Pacifist and reinstalled iChat (2.0). I repaired permissions again. Still doesn't work.

I dont know when this problem started, since I mainly use Adium. It's weird, since AIM and Adium work fine. I'm using 10.3.6 BTW.

It's not really a critical problem, but a little annoying.

Thanks in advance.
Macbook 1.83 Ghz CD, 2 GB RAM, 320 GB HD, OS 10.6.2
     
zacharydz  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: LV
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 3, 2004, 07:00 PM
 
Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that I updated the reinstalled iChat to 2.1

I also created a new OS X user account, and logout of my current user and logged into the new account, and iChat won't launch there either.

I have 10.3.5 installed on my firewire drive; i booted into that, and iChat doesnt work there either.
Macbook 1.83 Ghz CD, 2 GB RAM, 320 GB HD, OS 10.6.2
     
Apfhex
Mac Elite
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Northern California
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 3, 2004, 10:20 PM
 
Do you get a "broken pipe" error in the Console? Or really nothing?

Try a search for "ichat won't launch", as this has been discussed before (unfortunately I don't have any solution, as it fixed itself for me). Your problem may be different.
     
zacharydz  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: LV
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 4, 2004, 03:40 PM
 
When I try to launch ichat with the terminal, i do get a broken pipe error. I did find a temprary solution though.

If I unplug my ethernet cable, then launch iChat, then plug in the ethernet cable and then connect; all seems to work fine. Kinda a pain, but it works.
Macbook 1.83 Ghz CD, 2 GB RAM, 320 GB HD, OS 10.6.2
     
zacharydz  (op)
Forum Regular
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: LV
Status: Offline
Reply With Quote
Dec 17, 2004, 12:22 PM
 
OS 10.3.7 combo update fixed it
Macbook 1.83 Ghz CD, 2 GB RAM, 320 GB HD, OS 10.6.2
     
   
Thread Tools
 
Forum Links
Forum Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Top
Privacy Policy
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:12 AM.
All contents of these forums © 1995-2017 MacNN. All rights reserved.
Branding + Design: www.gesamtbild.com
vBulletin v.3.8.8 © 2000-2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.,