Welcome to the MacNN Forums.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

You are here: MacNN Forums > Community > MacNN Lounge > Johnny Cash: Walk the Line (Movie)

Johnny Cash: Walk the Line (Movie)
Apple Pro Underwear
Addicted to MacNN
Nov 30, 2005, 11:59 PM

I thought it was great. It focused on the important parts of his life rather than his career and I thought Phoenix did a great job. I am no Cash expert but as far as I was concerned, he transformed into him for the 2 and a half hours I was in the theater. I thought Reese Witherspoon did a good job as well. She was not annoying like in her "ditzy blond" roles.

The movie doesn't not take you through his entire life, just to a certain time and I think that was a good idea. The guest appearances by other "stars" of his time were nice too. Orbison, Jerry Lee and the rest were cool. I would have liked to see a Buddy Holly but I think he was a different time frame.

The movie does not make Johnny Cash look like some sort of angel or anything either. He is what he is and they did not hide it. I also want to mention there are several nice scenes that capture this too.

I am positive Phoenix and Reese sung those songs because I know the real Johnny Cash and June Carter sung them better. Can somebody confirm if it was indeed them or voice overs?

hickey
Mac Elite
Dec 1, 2005, 12:01 AM

my dad is kind of a cash expert, like most men in their 50's and such. He really enjoyed, aside for the little romance part of the script, but overall a top knotch film in his regards.

Mac Elite
Dec 1, 2005, 12:30 AM

***'s

Ham Sandwich
Dec 1, 2005, 07:26 AM